RSS

Milongo

05 Dec

I have written about the South American dance called the Milongo before , this is a facinating dance which I was privileged to see in a theatre in Santiago in 2009 It was danced by a female and a male at the time The interesting aspect of this dance is in the leg movements during the dance the partner brings their leg up between their partners legs

The dance is fast and movements very rapid I researched the origins of this dance with the help of my Chilean wife whom I do not contradict in any way shape or form and found the origins of the Milongo is actually a dance that originated in the 1870s from Argentina and Uruguay

The dance was primarily performed in the lower class establishments which were male only venues Today I liken it to a competition between American street corner hip hop or rapper type dances

This video is one of the original dances and is danced by both brothers , notice the footwork and you will appreciate the skill

The Milongo has taken the Tango a step further and is considered a fast Tango and much admired throughout South America

Enjoy the video and let me know your feedback

Have a beaut week

Emu signing off

 
18 Comments

Posted by on December 5, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

18 responses to “Milongo

  1. Sabina Brave

    December 9, 2011 at 6:51 pm

    I like tango a lot. It’s amazing dance :)

     
    • The Emu

      December 10, 2011 at 7:04 am

      Glad you enjoyed that video Princess
      Wishing you much love
      Emu

       
  2. Renee Espriu

    December 9, 2011 at 6:26 pm

    Thanks so much! I love dance as my mother loved it but never followed any fancy footwork such as these brothers are doing. It is awesome!

     
    • The Emu

      December 10, 2011 at 7:03 am

      Hi Renee , glad you enjoyed that Milongo as it was traditionally danced
      I love dancing too Princess and the Tango but nowhere up to these brothers standards
      Keep smiling girl Wishing you much love
      Emu

       
  3. natswans

    December 6, 2011 at 2:02 pm

    Fab what foot work amazing dance just loved the video Emu. Thanks for sharing
    Great
    Sheila :)

     
    • The Emu

      December 8, 2011 at 9:15 pm

      Hi Sheila , glad you enjoyed that footwork
      Hope alls well girl and wishing you a great festive season
      Emu

       
  4. Janae's Fallgirl Shepherd

    December 6, 2011 at 6:14 am

    So wise to go with the better half there Ian! The dance looks like a great cardio workout as whew! it is set at one fast pase. I guess it might not be a white Christmas for y’all there but enjoy the season blessings!

     
    • Janae's Fallgirl Shepherd

      December 6, 2011 at 6:20 am

      Forgot to mention along with some pretty amazing fancy foot work that kick added a bit of humor as well!

       
      • The Emu

        December 6, 2011 at 8:14 am

        I agree the kick was a good bit of humour , this dance is spectacular when seen in real life
        Cheers girl
        Wishing you much love and happiness
        Emu

         
    • The Emu

      December 6, 2011 at 8:13 am

      Glad you enjoyed that video my friend Janae ,prefer a female myself lol
      Wishing you a great festive seasom
      Emu

       
      • Janae's Fallgirl Shepherd

        December 10, 2011 at 10:57 pm

        Aw thank you so much as I can sure use the well wishes Ian, dental apps… enough said. Cheers my friend(“-“)

         
        • The Emu

          December 11, 2011 at 8:41 am

          Greetings my beautiful friend , wishing you much love and happiness for the Christmas festive season
          Cheers
          Emu

           
  5. Rosemary Monteith

    December 5, 2011 at 4:26 pm

    Enjoyed this Emu

     
    • The Emu

      December 5, 2011 at 8:33 pm

      Greetings Rosemary , lovely to hear from you
      Hope all is well in your world and you are happy
      Wishing you a great festive season
      Keep smiling girl
      Emu

       
  6. Sue Dreamwalker

    December 5, 2011 at 12:28 pm

    I loved this type of Dance Emu, being a fan of the Strictly Ballroom Dancing programme here in the UK. The Argentine Tango is one of my favourites and still it amazes me how they dont end up with bruised ankles.. Many thanks for sharing this Emu, my friend,, And for finding the wonderful Video.. :-)

     
    • The Emu

      December 5, 2011 at 8:30 pm

      I would have loved to have learnt this dance in my younger days Sue
      Glad you enjoyed the video , their moves are fantastic , dont know about the bruised ankles though
      Was thinking of something else bruised that makes my male psyche shudder
      Cheers girl
      Emu

       
  7. prenin

    December 5, 2011 at 9:41 am

    Wow!!!

    The footwork is AMAZING!!!

    Nice to see it though – thanks Ian! :)

    God Bless!

    Prenin.

     
    • The Emu

      December 5, 2011 at 8:27 pm

      I envy those dancers and would have loved to have learnt that dance when I was younger
      Cheers
      Emu

       

Leave a Reply

 
Ellie Belfiglio

When I hear this sound that awakens me, intimidating its way into my cloistered night, I write...

When in New Places

embrace the new

LScott Poetry

Writing from the heart...romance, laughter, tears, faith, family, friends....

Eddie Two Hawks

A Jug Fills Drop By Drop

Chronic Conditions & Life Lessons

Unexpected Blessings Along the Way

Sweet Planet Poems

poems about subjects dear to the heart

It Goes On

"In three words I can sum up everything I have learned about life: It goes on" - Robert Frost

Welcome to Mélanie's playground!:-)

"Les adultes qui ne jouent plus ont perdu l'enfant qui vivait en eux et qui leur manquera à jamais..."(Pablo Neruda)

pacificparatrooper

This WordPress.com site is Pacific War era information

^.^

My World Of Australiana, Fun And Adventure

einfachtilda

Viele Bilder, wenig Worte!!

Dinkerson Photo

Traveling Beyond my Bailiwick

Turtle Flight, My Muse & Angels

Featuring ProsePoetry and Short Stories

Clowie's Corner

A Pyrenean Mountain Dog's Perspective

wonkywizard

philosophising on meaning of life

Sweeti's space Nothing Else Matters

Believe nothing, no matter where you read it, or who said it, no matter if I have said it, unless it agrees with your own reason and your own common sense. Buddha.

auntyuta

Just another WordPress.com site

Agnesaki's Blog

Minu uus Maailm

Colline's Blog

A potpourri of thoughts and experiences

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 175 other followers

