RSS

Junk,Fun History and Nudity

08 Jul

I have always been an avid ghost of antique shops and other peoples left over junk. Recently my interest was inspired by a couple of TV shows , one being the well known Antiques Road show and the other, the American pickers show , now I dont aspire to finding some rare antique although I have collected a few little pieces from the days of long ago. But with the Pickers show I went in search of other peoples collectible junk and found a place here in my home town. Now the owner is a typical hoarder who collects things and advertises them for sale, but when you ask his selling price he cant sell it as he is restoring it. Now this Gentleman is well into his 70s and his pickers yard covers many acres, a great old man but just loves his stuff.I spent the morning in his junk repository of bygone days and got lost in his memory, he knew every piece he had and its history. I gave up trying to buy anything and just enjoyed his journey into the past. The first four pics are random shots of some of his goods he treasures that did actually have a past and possibly a future. The next two pics are old family pics , taken before the depression years in Australia and the world in general if I recall correctly, the first one shows my mum holding my eldest sister and brother on her lap, the beauty of this pic is in the dress and hat my mum was wearing and the fact she was sitting on a running board on the first family car, can anyone remember cars with running boards ?,They all had wooden wheels with thin tyres back in those days,the second last pic shows my proud dad checking out the motor in his brand new car, never could understand why my family was poor in those depression years but dad could always afford to buy antique cars.

Apologies for the last pic but I have always wanted to exhibit my naked body to the world for all to see, hehe

Cheers my friends

And wish you much love and happiness

Keep smiling and a sense of humour

Emu

 
19 Comments

Posted by on July 8, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

19 responses to “Junk,Fun History and Nudity

  1. Androgoth

    July 16, 2012 at 9:13 am

    So you were stripping off at an early age were you Ian,
    perhaps you could hjoin in on ‘The Full Monty’, mind you
    they had to wear those tiny thongs and nobody in their
    right mind would consider wearing such a torturous piece
    of kit :(

    A great posting with lashings of nostalgia :)

    Have a wickedly exciting week Ian :)

    Androgoth

     
    • The Emu

      July 17, 2012 at 11:50 pm

      No thongs when I do the full monty Androgoth, but admit I havent done it since in those days,lol
      Cheers Aussie Emu

       
      • Androgoth

        July 18, 2012 at 12:11 am

        No, me neither…
        Well apart from…
        Enough said :) lmao

        Have a great day, or
        should I say a beaut day :)

        Androgoth

         
  2. WordsFallFromMyEyes

    July 14, 2012 at 12:50 pm

    I’ve read your ‘About’, Ian. A Vietnam Veteran. My hat off to you.

    Those koala photos are absolutely gorgeous – especially on the kitchen sink, because you realise how small he is. Oh, so gorgeous! :)

    As for the old b/w photos … I ALWAYS love looking at such old photos. I never tire of it. They just hold “something”.

    Great post!

     
    • The Emu

      July 15, 2012 at 11:10 am

      Thank you for a beautiful comment my friend, and thank you for taking the time to visit and read my post, glad you enjoyed that little insight into one of Australia’s loveable animals,do hope all is well in your life and I wish you much love and happiness.
      Aussie Emu

       
  3. Deb

    July 13, 2012 at 11:44 am

    What a wonderful day you must have had. Thanks for sharing these wonderful photos, Emu! :-)

     
    • The Emu

      July 14, 2012 at 10:00 am

      An interesting day Deb and I never fail to find something to buy
      Cheers
      Ian

       
  4. Sue Dreamwalker

    July 11, 2012 at 6:13 pm

    Loved you sharing these wonderful photos Emu… And yes I remember cars with boards, In fact i remember riding in one all the way to the coast as the only man on our street at the time owned a car and my Dad paid him to take us all to the coast.. We stayed in a small caravan when they were in the days when they were rounded rather than square, and the door had two halves like a stable door.. The fellow then picked us all up one week later.. I remember it well, squashed in the back with my younger bother and sister and Mother, along with all the bags of our weeks groceries as well as our suitcase.. because the boot held the carry-cot come pram.. Arrh those were the days.. No seat belts either.. and a little arrow that popped out to tell other traffic you were turning right or left.. That I remember held my attention!!! .. I am told it was an Austin 7..
    What an adventure..
    Loved your photos Emu, and seeing your family photos.. :-) and what a cutie your were.. ;-)

     
    • The Emu

      July 12, 2012 at 8:47 am

      Sounds we have the same memories and recollections Sue,unusual today to see rounded caravans Sue.
      Bought a car once like you described and pretty sure it was an Austin, never forget the little lever that made the little arrow pop out of the side to show you were turning, I think it was a modern one as the arrow pointed to the direction you were turning but also pointed straight up if you were coming to a halt.
      Wow haven’t we come a long way since, we are a dying breed of historians Sue
      Cheers
      Emu

       
  5. Angelwings6

    July 9, 2012 at 5:05 am

    You’ve made me blush Ian,

     
    • The Emu

      July 9, 2012 at 8:19 am

      Lady Jude , my little tush has never made anyone blush, lol
      Lovely to hear from you and hope you are well,dont know what your weather is like over there
      but its bloody cold here, bring on summer and our heatwaves
      Keep smiling girl
      Emu

       
  6. prenin

    July 8, 2012 at 8:35 pm

    Lots of good memories there Ian! :)

    God bless my friend – may you always be an unrepentant little nudist in your heart!!! :)

    Prenin.

     
    • The Emu

      July 9, 2012 at 8:17 am

      Thanks for the comment, always did love being naked when I was a kid,lol, now does that pic make me a celebrity ?, lol
      Cheers
      Emu

       
  7. rosemarymonteith

    July 8, 2012 at 11:48 am

    Loved the post and the Photos Ian, nice to see you have achieved your ambition lol

     
    • The Emu

      July 9, 2012 at 8:13 am

      Hi Rosemary, great to hear from you, do hope all is well, dont see you writing anymore and always enjoyed following you
      Glad you liked this post, dont know if I achieved my dream Rosemary but at least I can say I was a little nude model , lol
      Cheers girl and keep smiling
      Emu

       
  8. natswans

    July 8, 2012 at 11:04 am

    Interesting Post Emu I bet he loves his junk , every piece of junk tell’s a story. Love your family photo’s , what a cute baby you were . You look as though you knew you where you were going in life.
    Have a great Day
    Sheila

     
    • The Emu

      July 8, 2012 at 11:34 am

      Hi Sheila , thanks for visiting and looking at that weird little blog of mine
      Cant believe that was me over 60 years ago,If I only knew then what I know now,
      would have stayed a baby , hehe
      Cheers Princess
      Emu

       
  9. Sabina Brave

    July 8, 2012 at 10:26 am

    Thank you for sharing a piece of history. I like old pictures. Kids all over the world like nudity ;) :)
    Wish you much love and happiness :)
    Cheers!

     
    • The Emu

      July 8, 2012 at 11:30 am

      Thanks Sabina , glad you enjoyed that weird little blog I put together,
      Found that old pic and cant believe it was me over 60 years ago, was fat then by the look of it hehe
      Cheers Princess
      Emu

       

Leave a Reply

 
When in New Places

embrace the new

LScott Poetry

Writing from the heart...romance, laughter, tears, faith, family, friends....

Eddie Two Hawks

A Jug Fills Drop By Drop

Chronic Conditions & Life Lessons

Unexpected Blessings Along the Way

Sweet Planet Poems

poems about subjects dear to the heart

It Goes On

"In three words I can sum up everything I have learned about life: It goes on" - Robert Frost

Mélanie's crossroads...

from West to East and from dawn to dusk...:-)

pacificparatrooper

This WordPress.com site is Pacific War era information

^.^

My World Of Australiana, Fun And Adventure

einfachtilda

Viele Bilder, wenig Worte!!

Dinkerson Photo

Traveling Beyond my Bailiwick

Turtle Flight, My Muse & Angels

Featuring ProsePoetry and Short Stories

Clowie's Corner

A Pyrenean Mountain Dog's Perspective

wonkywizard

philosophising on meaning of life

Sweeti's space Nothing Else Matters

Believe nothing, no matter where you read it, or who said it, no matter if I have said it, unless it agrees with your own reason and your own common sense. Buddha.

auntyuta

Just another WordPress.com site

Agnesaki's Blog

Minu uus Maailm

Colline's Blog

A potpourri of thoughts and experiences

Welcome to Sheila's Space

Just another WordPress.com site

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 174 other followers

