RSS

Adelaide Hills Australian Wildlife

06 Oct

Hi friends

Hope you are all well happy and had a great weekend leading up to a beaut week

Today was a great sunny day here in Adelaide Australia so an adventure was in order so we took a trip up through the back hills of Adelaide where we live , the hills and gully’s are quite steep in places but are a source of wonderment for the wildlife that inhabit the hills . The birds are spectacular and of many varieties and colours from the Sulphur crested Cockatoos ,Rosellas , Galahs and various Eagles and

Magpies

We came across Wallabies ,Peacocks Ducks and many more including my favourite bird the Emu

One member of our party learnt quickly that not all Aussie animals will run from you when you approach them , particularly the Emu , this huge bird is naturally curious and attracted to bright colours such as a blue or red shirt , they approach without fear but it must be remembered they are a wild and vicious bird when they want to be

I have always found them intriguing and have no trouble mingling with them as I believe they are my totem sign from some era in the long ago of Australia’s past

I have enclosed a few pictures of our unique beautiful wildlife for you to enjoy

Wishing you all well and have a great week

 Emu

 

 
16 Comments

Posted by on October 6, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

16 responses to “Adelaide Hills Australian Wildlife

  1. WordsFallFromMyEyes

    December 14, 2012 at 9:13 pm

    I was wondering how you started, what your first post was. What great photos. I’d be SCARED of an emu so close. I really haven’t been in the bush much. Wasn’t exposed to a lot when I was a child. Or now!

    Merry Christmas, Ian 🙂

     
    • The Emu

      December 15, 2012 at 2:45 am

      Greetings dear friend and hope you are having a great weekend, cant really recall how I started writing, just remember it was a bad time in my life when I was solving my problems at the bottom of a bottle, didnt even know how to start or use a computer, started writing on myspace and somebody answered and from there it grew, cant even remember what my first post was but am sure it was something very boring and mundane.
      Emu,s are only scary when they lay eggs, they get very cranky, their eggs are half the size of watermelons.
      Hope you are having a calming life and wish you a beautiful Christmas with lots of love, you are special.
      Aussie Emu

       
      • WordsFallFromMyEyes

        December 15, 2012 at 8:17 am

        Thank you so much for your sentiments, Aussie Emu. I absolutely wish you a beautiful Christmas too.

        I didn’t know you related to alcoholism. Wow. Well, just escaping myself and realise how tragically we self-destruct – and it is up to us to stop that.

        I might google emus now as you’ve risen my interest. I wouldn’t know when they are laying eggs, but if it’s a certain time of year, I’m relieved to know & will remember that time of year forever (should ever I come across an emu).

        It is wonderful to think you are beyond destroying yourself now, Ian – I appreciated that throwaway mention the most! 🙂 N. (thank you for saying I’m special. I am very touched at your open heartedness)

         
        • The Emu

          December 15, 2012 at 8:56 am

          Thank you for taking the time to read my writings and comment to you, it was hard not to become involved with alcohol when you are in the army for twenty years, back in the old days it was a form of rite for any soldier, I admit I used it as a form of self treatment for stress and fear when I was in Vietnam and after my army life continued to use it as a form of self medication, eased my sleep and gave me no nightmares, today I still drink a lot and passed the stage of working out if I qualify as an alcoholic although I would be classified as such, I drink each day and maintain a sober life at the same time, I dont get drunk or patronise pubs or clubs but drink at home and enjoy my beer, I wont touch heavy drinks or spirits.
          Have a drivers license but wont touch the car after drinking. Basically at 62 I found an equilibrium that is satisfactory to my life. In my younger army days I was all over the place with drink and the cops.
          I had my first drink after my first ambush in Vietnam and used it as a shield against danger ever since.
          Sorry for the long comment but you bought back memories of days of long ago.
          I sincerely wish you well and can tell you that one of my aids in my life was the ability to put pen to paper.
          Keep writing and smiling my friend.
          Aussie Emu aka Aussie Ian

           
  2. suedreamwalker

    October 7, 2010 at 12:16 pm

    Hello my fine feathered friend… looking good among the Birds as usual lol.. Thanks for the Invite Emu!! Sue Dreamwalker..

     
  3. sunflower

    October 7, 2010 at 10:43 am

    Hi Ian! 😀
    Thank you for the invitation.
    You know I can not say no to your invitation.
    You are a true friend.
    Take care
    Hugs Ann

     
  4. ladyjude

    October 6, 2010 at 9:50 pm

    Thanks for the invite Emu.

     
  5. Aiq

    October 6, 2010 at 8:47 pm

    Hi 😉
    Thank you for the invitation.
    Cool place, I would like to be there 🙂
    Take care and be safe!!!

     
  6. cat

    October 6, 2010 at 7:12 pm

    Wow…I love you new blog here at wordpress, Ian. Thanks for the invite, I gladly accept.
    I myself like blogger the best, I think…have a look around…you are welcome to subscribe.
    The Emu pics are so neat…that long neck and that tiny head on top…I’m talking about the bird here…
    Do people eat Emu meat…or what are they good for?

    Love,
    c.

     
  7. prenin

    October 6, 2010 at 6:25 pm

    Thanks Emu my old friend – always glad to see what you’re up to!!!

    Have a great week my friend – the wildlife of Australia is really something!!!

    God Bless!

    Prenin.

     
  8. Carol

    October 6, 2010 at 5:07 pm

    Hi Ian, this site is very nice and I like the colors that you chose. I am impressed! The photos are also great. Thanks for letting me know, hugs

     
  9. sudiste1359Kikou'net1

    October 6, 2010 at 5:02 pm

    Thanks a lot, how to accept an invitation over here??? lol
    Gros bisous, big hugs to you

     
  10. penpusherpen

    October 6, 2010 at 4:51 pm

    thanks for the link my friend, good to catch up with you again.
    Welcome to WordPress, I’m enjoying setting up my pages… in fact I keep trying out all the different features on the Dashboard.. keeping me occupied for hours on end..lol!!
    I’ve subscribed to your blog, so I should get your updates .. xPenx

     
  11. Beth Marie

    October 6, 2010 at 3:59 pm

    Great pictures Emu. I have always wanted to visit Australia.

     
  12. Doris

    October 6, 2010 at 3:04 pm

    Thank you Aussie emu, Great site

     
    • Marjoerie

      October 6, 2010 at 11:00 pm

      Hi my dear friend
      Just saying hello and telling you that I love the colourful birds you have there. If it happens that you go there again. Could you take more photos of all those birds and animals you have there?
      Nice photos .
      Regards to you and Anna

       

Leave a Reply

 
Peppermint

Wicked Commentary

Prenin's little page

Just another WordPress.com site

Dreamwalker's Sanctuary

A Sanctuary for Enlightenment and Peace through Poetry and Inspirational Thoughts as we go through Life

Blog Kunterbund von G.B.

http://zitroneblog.wordpress.com

Welcome to Sheila's Space

Just another WordPress.com site

wonkywizard

philosophising on meaning of life via poetry and prose

Pacific Paratrooper

This WordPress.com site is Pacific War era information

witlessdatingafterfifty

Relationships reveal our hearts.

Dreamwalker's Garden

Growing Your Own Produce and Remedies

