RSS

Emu Confusion Or Lost In Space

30 Oct

Greetings my friends this Saturday afternoon

Emu here looking for some advice and assistance

to stop him from pulling his feathers out

Well this Word press has many intricate twists and turns

I am getting through them slowly but need some advice from

my friends who are up to pace with Word press

So if anyone has any advice on the following queries

it will be much appreciated by myself

and I think others of our friends

1

Is there anyway in Word press to add a widget

or some other gadget

that will show all friends in our space

much along the line as we had in Windows live

as it appears to me now

that the only way we know who we have

is by going back to our old Windows live friends list

or our contact list

The only other way I see

is by my friends who leave comments

2

Now as my friend Jacquie has observed as well as myself

We don’t seem to have a place for inviting people

or accepting friends into our space

unless again we run back to our Windows live

or contacts

Bearing in mind that Windows live will finally go

The only way I see

is to try and get my contacts into Word press

before I lose them in my contacts

The only other place I have them is in messenger

and between messenger , contacts , windows live

and Word press it has become confusing

at least to this bloody Emu

3

Finally regarding music on spaces in Word press

I tried to add music to my space

that automatically plays

when someone visits my space

Now that may have been boring to some

but to me every time I heard it

It made me feel good

Word press advise that we can have music in our space

in our headers but it will only activate by the viewer

All other music such as You tube is no problem

But now header music has to be viewer activated

Finally

That’s my request for any input from my friends

who are skipping through the minefield

of Word press

Emu off ta have a beer with the Mushy bloke

Seems he’s having the same problems

Cheers guys

Catch ya’s around tha traps

Emu

 
10 Comments

Posted by on October 30, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

10 responses to “Emu Confusion Or Lost In Space

  1. Androgoth

    July 5, 2011 at 12:33 pm

    With some bactracking through your posts I have found this gem,
    isn’t it amazing how we have fully adapted from our Windows Live
    Spaces and connected with WordPress? I think that WordPress is
    definitely a wicked and wonderful new habitat, worthy of all of our
    friends to visit and enjoy each and every one of our new Spaces…

    I hope you like it here as much as I do Ian…

    Androgoth

     
    • aussie emu

      July 5, 2011 at 2:06 pm

      Can’t believe the lengths I went through to stay on the net , remember the half a dozen changes on Myspace we went through and had to learn , then the move to wordpress , I wrote that back when I was definitely losing the plot
      Emu

       
  2. Jacquie

    November 5, 2010 at 5:43 pm

    That’s it…clear as MUD! I still can’t make heads or tails of WordPress. Blogger does seem to be more user friendly…just don’t know anymore. Wish us luck…we’re gonna need it!
    ‘ave a good one Emu…

     
  3. Beth Marie

    October 31, 2010 at 11:18 pm

    I will be interested to hear if you receive answers to these questions as I have been wondering about the same things.

     
  4. prenin

    October 30, 2010 at 5:31 pm

    Hi Ian!

    Yes, I’m as lost as you seem to be, but I’m getting there!!! 🙂

    Glad you are where I can find you – I now have BOTH your blogs on subscription – and I hope we don’t have to start paying to use this blessed thing, but I guess that’s life…

    God Bless!

    Prenin.

     
  5. cat

    October 30, 2010 at 2:41 pm

    I’m with Beth Marie…Ian…give Blogger a try…you’ll find it the best thing since Windows…be patient…experiemend…and then pretty soon, you’ll feel like converting.

    WordPress is alright, but a bit on the boring side,,,Blogger is versitaile and and possibilities to become creatives to your heart’s content…just be patient…like with most good things, mmmh? Love, good luck,,,cat.

     
  6. Beth Marie

    October 30, 2010 at 1:57 pm

    Most of our space friends have moved to blogger. Why don’t you try that. Much nicer blogs as I thing wordpress is really blah!
    Beth http://bmariede.blogspot.com/

     
  7. penpusherpen

    October 30, 2010 at 11:50 am

    I’m much the same as suedreamwalker, Ian /Emu. It seems there’s no easy answer, it’s a case of subscribing, and checking ‘my subsriptions, or adding a page much like I did . > http://penpusherpen.wordpress.com/blogs-i-follow/
    where you can add any Http address one by one, and keep checking peoples different blogs.., no updates on here are shown unless they’re WordPress.. and friends are not a thing they seem to accommodate for… Nothing is ever perfick!! bye for now, my friend.. xPenx

     
  8. suedreamwalker

    October 30, 2010 at 11:35 am

    Hi Ian, yes its a pain to say the least, I have been going into my friends profiles and if they have converted to wordpress I have subscribed to their blogs…. but for those who haven’t converted yet there in is the problem.. I am looking into a Widget which is called Blog Roll… I have seen it in force on professional sites and they add the blog site name linked to the Url of the site, so I may try that.. so it appears on my Home page.. ( I will add a WL space url to see if it works and let you know)
    Other than that, Its a matter of going to your Dashborad and Clicking subscriptions your subscribed to sites… I have joined 25 so far, but I think I read somewhere when I enrolled on WordPress your allowed 35 and after that we have to pay? May have read that wrong ?? … It took me a while for me to realise I could unsubscribe from the comments section I’d made on various sites too so as to stop the influx of emails after your comment was posted and replied too..
    Clear as MUD!…. but I’m getting there slowly..

     

Leave a Reply

 
Peppermint

Wicked Commentary

Prenin's little page

Just another WordPress.com site

Dreamwalker's Sanctuary

A Sanctuary for Enlightenment and Peace through Poetry and Inspirational Thoughts as we go through Life

Blog Kunterbund von G.B.

http://zitroneblog.wordpress.com

Welcome to Sheila's Space

Just another WordPress.com site

wonkywizard

philosophising on meaning of life via poetry and prose

Pacific Paratrooper

This WordPress.com site is Pacific War era information

witlessdatingafterfifty

Relationships reveal our hearts.

Dreamwalker's Garden

Growing Your Own Produce and Remedies

