RSS

Circumstances Of War

31 Oct

Greetings to my friends

I was going through some old photographs today and came across three pictures that on their own tell a story so I decided to share the story behind them for you; also my children want me to record memories and experiences before I decide to move on into the next world and next life of adventures

The background to the story being that aged twenty I was serving in the army in South Vietnam where I was located in Phuoc Tuy province and in many areas over a period of time with the Australian Army Training Team

 The pictures record one time I was serving on Lon Son Island a small island off South Vietnam

I and a few of the Vietnamese soldiers were given the task of

Radio and visual surveillance from the highest point on the island

Our job being to keep coastal watch around the island for enemy activity this included on the island itself as we had all round vision

Now the first picture I want to share is the small home I built to work from during my stay there, you will see it’s nothing like the modern day tents that today’s soldiers quite rightly enjoy

My home was built of rocks and tin with more rocks to keep the roof on and keep me dry from the daily monsoon rain

The second picture is taken from the top of the mountain showing me dining with the local soldiers

There is a further story behind that picture and that being the unit I was serving with paid us an allowance to buy local food to supplement our rations

Well sometimes the food ran short and the inevitable hunger would take over our senses

This was one such time where I had no choice but to accept the local’s invitation to dinner

Since that day I have often looked back and now understand that hunger can drive a person to extremes in what they eat to survive

In my case it was dog

 

A necessity at the time and one I have not indulged in since

Now to leave you with a picture that shows some of the beauty I experienced in Vietnam is this last one showing the wedding of my interpreter to his beautiful bride

 

A wedding I was proud to be a part off

I believe she was a Princess descendant from an old Vietnamese regime

Well that’s all from the Emus blog today

Keep smiling my friends

As it’s contagious

Emu

 
22 Comments

Posted by on October 31, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

22 responses to “Circumstances Of War

  1. Sue Dreamwalker

    March 3, 2015 at 2:44 pm

    Ian I enjoyed re-reading this again.. And its good you are writing things for your children Ian.. So many things are lost we do not pass on verbally about our history etc..
    Sending more Hugs your way x
    Sue

     
    • The Emu

      March 4, 2015 at 6:35 am

      Thanks Sue, going through all my old posts trying to find something interesting that I haven’t re posted before, soon as Ana is okay I think its time to start travelling again, and finding good material to write about and record.
      Cheers.

       
      • Sue Dreamwalker

        March 4, 2015 at 4:40 pm

        Good idea, and while i have been busy I have been using old posts some of the time too 🙂 Hugs to Ana.. xx

         
        • The Emu

          March 5, 2015 at 9:15 am

          Don’t know whats happening Sue, I noticed you posted a topic about being hacked which I haven’t commented on yet, but now find two of your comments in my Aussie Emu spam list.

           
          • Sue Dreamwalker

            March 6, 2015 at 2:43 pm

            Well thank you for fishing me out Emu.. I am pleased to at last be visible again 🙂 The good thing is others found me in their spam box and discovered other WP friends comments within their spam too.. All going to Pot.

             
          • The Emu

            March 7, 2015 at 10:08 pm

            Was after reading your post that I decided to check out my spams, found Prenin in there a couple of times too.
            Regards.

             
          • Sue Dreamwalker

            March 8, 2015 at 4:57 pm

            Every cloud has a silver lining Ian Glad he got pulled out too xx

             
          • prenin

            March 8, 2015 at 11:28 am

            Thanks for digging me out Ian – I wondered why I didn’t get a reply!!! LoL!!! 🙂

            God Bless! 🙂

            Prenin.

             
  2. gpcox

    March 3, 2015 at 11:24 am

    More than one kind of memory, eh?

     
    • The Emu

      March 4, 2015 at 5:53 am

      I was fortunate gp that I savored every great moment.
      Good to recall good moments,takes the sting out of bad memory’s.
      Cheers

       
  3. prenin

    March 3, 2015 at 10:45 am

    Fascinating as always my friend!!! 🙂

    God Bless!

    Prenin.

     
    • The Emu

      March 3, 2015 at 10:50 am

      Thanks mate, all the best.
      Cheers.

       
  4. suchled

    March 3, 2015 at 9:43 am

    I love the wedding. she really did lookquite regal.

     
    • The Emu

      March 3, 2015 at 10:49 am

      She was actually a Princess, but from the French/Vietnamese background, damn she was gorgeous up close, but then again I can say that, as I was 20 at the time of their wedding.
      Regards.

       
  5. The Emu

    March 3, 2015 at 3:48 am

    Reblogged this on Welcome To Aussie Emus World.

     
  6. Carol

    November 5, 2010 at 12:22 pm

    Nice entry Ian and the photos are gorgeous. Have a wonderful weekend, Hugs

     
  7. Beth Marie

    October 31, 2010 at 11:14 pm

    Thank you so much for sharing this with us. Very interesting life you have led.

     
  8. cat

    October 31, 2010 at 10:30 pm

    This is heavy duty infomation, Ian…wow…thanks…and thanks for you being you…Love,c.

     
  9. prenin

    October 31, 2010 at 7:22 pm

    Hard for people to understand just what you have to do when in the Armed Forces!!!

    I’m glad you got out in one piece my friend – and you are right, the bride is beautiful!!!

    God Bless my friend – and thanks for your efforts to keep the world safe…

    Prenin.

     
  10. suedreamwalker

    October 31, 2010 at 1:16 pm

    Here’s to Hammer and Nails!… and a claw Hammer is waiting only when you are ready! :-)x

     
  11. aussie emu

    October 31, 2010 at 11:08 am

    Thank you my dear friend Sue , you are always perseptive on my writings and hit the nail on the head every time , maybe one day I will feel comfortable in writing the truth instead of hiding behind words of Love and Romance , much love Princess and a squishy hug
    Ian aka Emu

     
  12. suedreamwalker

    October 31, 2010 at 10:45 am

    Hi Emu… I loved reading your stories behind the photo’s.. I can only half imagine what life as soldier was like in those terrible days…. Thank fully you came home, and even though your path has seen its twists and turns and ups and downs.. Life now is I hope much sweeter as you now hold your very own Princess within your long awaited arms..
    Many thanks for sharing those memories, for even though you share the good, I know you keep many others hidden from view… so a double thank you for what you and your fellow comrades went through in such a terrible war.. To keep our freedoms, and our way of life we take so for granted today… and a Dreamwalker Hug is sent,. 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
Prenin's little page

Just another WordPress.com site

Dreamwalker's Sanctuary

A Sanctuary for Enlightenment and Peace through Poetry and Inspirational Thoughts as we go through Life

Blog Kunterbund von G.B.

http://zitroneblog.wordpress.com

Welcome to Sheila's Space

Just another WordPress.com site

Colline's Blog

A potpourri of thoughts and experiences

wonkywizard

philosophising on meaning of life

Pacific Paratrooper

This WordPress.com site is Pacific War era information

witlessdatingafterfifty

Relationships reveal our hearts.

Dreamwalker's Garden

Growing Your Own Produce and Remedies

