RSS

The Fox

16 Nov

 

The white man bought me

Across oceans wide

From foreign shores

For your game and fun

And still you hunt me

With dog and gun

I hide

I hunt

I roam and run

I hear the rifle

I fear the gun

I breed

I grow

My lairs you know

You kill my young

You call me feral

I am the fox

Don’t cry your shame

Don’t thrust your blame

Upon my name

You bought me to

This foreign land

For game and fun

And now you chase me

With rifle and gun

In lonely retreat

I now go home

In dignity I die

In my lonely lair

That once was

My family home

 

 
6 Comments

Posted by on November 16, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

6 responses to “The Fox

  1. Mystique sunshine

    June 2, 2011 at 8:29 am

    The look on the foxes face n your words really touched me… Reading all your old posts i had missed…
    Sheena

     
  2. Sue Dreamwalker

    November 17, 2010 at 3:58 pm

    Yes Emu.. the Fox is here too is still caught although not hunted with the hounds and horses anymore here as it was banned But it still goes on….. but they catch them still in traps and shoot them.. It’s a sad, sad day when we do that to animals where we have encroached upon their domain..For the Urban Fox , this was his territory before we built homes upon his patch.. And they are a beautiful animal..
    Loved your poem Ian….. Dreamwalker

     
  3. prenin

    November 17, 2010 at 10:12 am

    Yep: We have Urban Foxes around where I live – in fact they frequently raid the bins looking for food, so they can tend to make a mess!!!

    We’ve also had two children attacked in their beds because the foxes no longer fear people!!!

    The kids were scarred, but survived…

    God Bless!

    Prenin.

     
  4. cat

    November 17, 2010 at 6:04 am

    Wow…man,…I feel like…that fox…you are a magician with words, Ian…thank you…Love, c.

     
  5. Beth Marie

    November 16, 2010 at 11:01 pm

    Wonderful Ian. Thank you!!

     
  6. Carol

    November 16, 2010 at 12:13 pm

    A heartfelt sad poem Ian very nicely written, Hugs

     

Leave a Reply

 
einfachtilda

Viele Bilder, wenig Worte!!

Peppermint

Wicked Commentary

Prenin's little page

Just another WordPress.com site

Dreamwalker's Sanctuary

A Sanctuary for Enlightenment and Peace through Poetry and Inspirational Thoughts as we go through Life

Blog Kunterbund von G.B.

http://zitroneblog.wordpress.com

Welcome to Sheila's Space

Just another WordPress.com site

wonkywizard

philosophising on meaning of life via poetry and prose

Pacific Paratrooper

This WordPress.com site is Pacific War era information

witlessdatingafterfifty

Relationships reveal our hearts.

Dreamwalker's Garden

Growing Your Own Produce and Remedies

