RSS

Aussie Sheep

02 Jul

G’day Emu dropping by to say hi and let you know that I am still alive and well in this big wide world.

Got an email from my old mate Phil yesterday , for those that remember me and Phil are old army mates going back to the sixties, anyway when Phil got out of the army he took up sheep breeding in far north Queensland on a property he called Tangalangaloo and over the years has become a major player in the sheep industry in Australia

His property covers about 250 thousand acres and he is a major exporter of sheep from Australia

Phil and I have always been close and I am a bit proud that I helped him out when he was just starting in the game

What happened was at tax time the tax man wanted to know how many sheep he ran on his property

Bloody hell there was too many to count so I devised a plan for Phil to make it easy around tax time

Now when we have to stocktake the sheep we figured out an easy way that the tax man approves of

I told Phil to count the legs on the sheep and just divide by four and it gives the total of sheep he has on his property

Well since then we have had no problems with the tax man and Phil knows exactly how many sheep he runs

Anyway back to Phils email . Phil is proud of his sheep and sent me a few pics of his stock , a couple before shearing time and after

Have a look at these great Aussie sheep

and let me know what you think

Phil is getting a bit long in the tooth these days ( getting old ) and is not as young as he used to be

Dont know what Phil is smoking up there at Tangalangaloo or who he is letting onto his property but if you take a close look at the third pic it doesn’t look like they are sheep to me

Better have a word with my old mate

Cheers guys

Lets hope your chooks dont turn into Emus

and kick ya dunny down

Emu signing off

 
34 Comments

Posted by on July 2, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

34 responses to “Aussie Sheep

  1. Monica

    November 12, 2016 at 5:57 pm

    Sheep are gorgeous – love those faces. And Bob the Kelpie is awesome and a happy camper!

     
  2. suzjones

    June 3, 2014 at 12:14 am

    I started singing the following song after reading this so thought I’d share it with you too

     
    • The Emu

      June 3, 2014 at 12:47 am

      Thanks for that link to Bob the Kelpie Sue, wish I had heard it before.
      Had to add it to my sheep post, it suits it well.
      Cheers
      Ian

       
      • suzjones

        June 3, 2014 at 9:41 pm

        My children grew up singing that one. I think I originally heard it on Play School lol

         
        • The Emu

          June 6, 2014 at 7:11 am

          If your children grew up with that song Sue, and you recall originally hearing it on playschool, then you must be considered a young spring chicken, hehe
          Emu

           
          • suzjones

            June 6, 2014 at 9:47 pm

            Very young 😉

             
  3. anniejanae

    June 2, 2014 at 10:04 pm

    Oh dear that, I was with Mystique sunshine on this, couldn’t help but wonde too(“-“)

     
  4. The Emu

    June 2, 2014 at 1:44 am

    Reblogged this on Welcome To Aussie Emus World.

     
  5. Raven

    July 11, 2011 at 11:26 pm

    Hey we used phone books and newspapers during lean times ourselves….LOL

    Ms Dreamwalker sent me a link to your Emu Web Page so I could see the photos of sheep she told me about for my Party Update regarding the Skeleton Waiters Mr Goth himself sent me. Sue says I should send some your way…LOL.

    This is funny…3 pic has a kick…I hope there were no air releases …wink wink!!! I am just saying.

    Raven

     
    • aussie emu

      July 12, 2011 at 7:55 am

      Glad you made it to my Emu farm , a bit different from my mushy love and romance place
      Cheers girl
      Emu

       
  6. Sue Dreamwalker

    July 11, 2011 at 10:43 pm

    Hi Emu.. a good mutual friend of ours RAVEN wants to see this post and wonders what the heck I was on about as I went on about male sheep!… You can find her sight on my blog list.. but she may need your permission to get to subscribe and visa versa.. so… I will send her your site addy as I think she has the Mushy Blokes already.. LOL.. See what a stir these Aussie Sheep Cause! Dreamwalker her site is.. http://ravenofleyla.wordpress.com/

     
    • aussie emu

      July 12, 2011 at 7:54 am

      Hi Sue , tracked her done and got her on the path to righteousness in the old Emu space
      Cheers
      Emu

       
  7. natswans

    July 5, 2011 at 2:09 pm

    Great sheep Ian mmm I thought hang on a minute tis not sheep I see here LOL 🙂

     
    • aussie emu

      July 6, 2011 at 7:43 am

      Yes the sheep in the third pic do look a little suspect , maybe sheep in wolves clothing hehe
      Emu

       
  8. Androgoth

    July 5, 2011 at 12:23 pm

    Yes I had noticed that picture Ian but thought to myself,
    well if one likes to count legs of sheep what the hell does
    one count in this picture? lol No guessing, it’s too wicked
    for some and not enough for others… lol Have a Ghoulish
    rest of day and thank you for sharing such excellent posts

    Androgoth

     
    • aussie emu

      July 5, 2011 at 2:03 pm

      Didn’t notice that mate but will go back and check as my mate Phil sometimes sends me weird pics
      Emu

       
  9. Mystique sunshine

    July 5, 2011 at 9:20 am

    I was going through each pic slowly n then the third pic… Din expect that.. lol Almost choked on my juice… Was it real or just some spoof pic? Huge gathering… Wonder what was the event…:)
    Sheena

     
    • aussie emu

      July 5, 2011 at 11:52 am

      I will have to check that third pic , must be something wrong with it hehe
      Emu

       
  10. Cat.

    July 4, 2011 at 4:34 pm

    Fuuunnny!!! Thanks for sharing, made me smile, Ian … Love, cat.

     
    • aussie emu

      July 4, 2011 at 11:36 pm

      Hi Cat , they were a real part of life in our early days and I remember using old phone book pages for paper , bloody slippery stuff
      Cheers
      Ian

       
  11. suemacarthur

    July 4, 2011 at 4:11 am

    Lol Emu, good to see you bloging, and telling your story as only an Aussie can
    Take care
    Sue

     
    • aussie emu

      July 4, 2011 at 6:13 am

      Glad you enjoyed that little bit of Aussie humour Sue but had to tell it the Emu way
      Still trying to work out facebook
      Cheers
      Emu

       
  12. Sue Dreamwalker

    July 3, 2011 at 10:21 pm

    🙂 Good to know that the English Sheep Farmer isnt on his own Emu.. and you know what I reckon I have seen a few of those sheep around here too.. LOL.

    Great to laugh and just love the pictures! 😉 ..

     
    • aussie emu

      July 4, 2011 at 12:53 am

      These really aren’t Aussie sheep Sue , just a few arseholes showing off haha
      Emu

       
  13. Rosemary Monteith

    July 3, 2011 at 8:19 pm

    Well Ian no one with any sense trusts and Emu, lol

     
    • aussie emu

      July 4, 2011 at 12:52 am

      Hi Rosemary , course you can trust this Aussie Emu , I always tell it like it is hehe
      Emu

       
  14. jennygoth

    July 3, 2011 at 7:26 pm

    wow loved those sheep lol be better standing up though lol xxjen naughty i know

     
    • aussie emu

      July 4, 2011 at 12:51 am

      Hi Jen , glad you liked that little bit of Aussie humour , but I am sure there not Aussie sheep just a few arseholes showing off haha
      Emu

       
  15. Lady Jude

    July 3, 2011 at 8:51 am

    We’ve a country full of sheep here to Emu,

     
    • aussie emu

      July 3, 2011 at 11:25 am

      Hi Lady Jude , yes you are a country full of sheep but as you can see I refrained from using the old Aussie joke about Kiwi sheep hehe
      Cheers girl, wishing you a beaut week
      Emu

       
  16. Beth Marie

    July 2, 2011 at 4:41 pm

    That third pic doesn’t look like sheep to me either. LOL!!

     
    • aussie emu

      July 3, 2011 at 3:45 am

      Didnt look like sheep to me either Bethmarie , will go and check again to see what breed they are hehe
      Emu

       
  17. prenin

    July 2, 2011 at 2:04 pm

    I had to look twice at number three!!! PMSL!!!

    God Bless!

    Prenin.

     
    • aussie emu

      July 3, 2011 at 3:44 am

      Yes I snuck that in amongst the other pics to see if anyone noticed
      hehe , the old Emu always has a twist to his Aussie storys
      Cheers
      Emu

       

Leave a Reply

 
Prenin's little page

Just another WordPress.com site

Dreamwalker's Sanctuary

A Sanctuary for Enlightenment and Peace through Poetry and Inspirational Thoughts as we go through Life

Blog Kunterbund von G.B.

http://zitroneblog.wordpress.com

Welcome to Sheila's Space

Just another WordPress.com site

Colline's Blog

A potpourri of thoughts and experiences

wonkywizard

philosophising on meaning of life

Pacific Paratrooper

This WordPress.com site is Pacific War era information

witlessdatingafterfifty

Relationships reveal our hearts.

Dreamwalker's Garden

Growing Your Own Produce and Remedies

