RSS

Will I Live To See 80 ?

16 Oct

Will I Live to see 80?

I recently picked a new primary care doctor. After two visits and

exhaustive Lab tests, he said I was doing ‘fairly well’ for my age (I just turned 61.)

A little concerned about that comment, I couldn’t resist asking him,

‘Do you think I’ll live to be 80?’

He asked, ‘Do you smoke tobacco, or drink spirits or wine?’

‘Oh no,’ I replied.. ‘I’m not doing drugs, either!’

Then he asked, ‘Do you eat rib-eye steaks and barbecued ribs?

‘I said, ‘Not much… my former doctor said that all red meat is very unhealthy!’

‘Do you spend a lot of time in the sun, like playing golf, sailing, hiking, or bicycling?’

‘No, I don’t,’ I said.

He asked, ‘Do you gamble, drive fast cars, or have a lot of sex?’

‘No,’ I said.

He looked at me and said,….

Then, why do you even give a shit

 
29 Comments

Posted by on October 16, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

29 responses to “Will I Live To See 80 ?

  1. jennygoth

    October 21, 2011 at 9:37 pm

    hi aussie hope your well my down under friend lol sounds rude but had to say it lol have a good weekend xxhugs jen

     
    • The Emu

      October 22, 2011 at 6:03 am

      Thanks Jen , upside down and inside out at the moment
      Dont know if I am wiping my arse or blowing my nose
      Cheers girl
      Emu

       
  2. penpusherpen

    October 19, 2011 at 2:45 pm

    Looks like I’m not getting notice of your updates, Emu, but better late than never…and thanks for the giggle, or is that what the Dr said?… So, the ‘eyes’ have it?… Hope things are going to plan and eye’ll see you posting again soon… (apologies, and forgiveness please, Eye can’t stop “!!!) 😉 Hugs xPenx

     
    • The Emu

      October 22, 2011 at 5:46 am

      Vereee funny Pen , lol , you try typing with one finger and one eye , derrr and the eye is on the opposite side of my typing finger
      Dont know if I am scratching my arse or picking me bloody nose
      Hope your getting my updates girl , have a great weekend , mine is okay so far
      all I need now is a stuffed leg and a bloody parrot on my shoulder
      Cheers
      Emu

       
  3. natswans

    October 18, 2011 at 10:04 am

    LOL great Ian this is very true , don’t think I want to live until I’m 150 though. Good grief I think besides everything else I would hide all the Mirror’s. Great Post thanks for the giggle. Sheila

     
    • The Emu

      October 19, 2011 at 1:40 am

      No one in their right mind would want to live to that age unless they were millionaires with no worries
      Imagine paying taxes all those years , to me old age should not be compulsory.
      Cheers
      Emu

       
  4. Androgoth

    October 18, 2011 at 12:20 am

    I hope your operation goes very well
    and that you have a swift recovery my
    great friend… I was just about to say…
    Aye Aye Captain 🙂 Oops I just did 🙂
    Be very well Ian and be good with the
    Nurses, not tooooooooo naughty 😉 lol

    Androgoth

     
    • The Emu

      October 19, 2011 at 2:47 am

      Hi mate , heard all the aye aye jokes Andro, lol ,all done and couldn’t do anything after the op but wait till the sedatives wore of , have to wear sunglasses for a few days , they took the patch of today but yesterday was impossible on the com , trying to do my one finger trping and trying to sea out of one eye , so I give it the arse and waited till today , get the other eye done in a few more weeks
      Cheers
      Emu

       
      • Androgoth

        October 19, 2011 at 3:57 pm

        That.s great progress Ian, you will be back to
        typing those blogs out in no time at all 🙂 Just
        keep those shades handy my great friend and
        everything will be fine 🙂

        Androgoth

         
        • The Emu

          October 22, 2011 at 5:48 am

          Doing okay old mate , just got to get over the next one in a few weeks
          Typing with one finger and one eye stuffed is not a load of fun
          All I need now is a stuffed leg and a bird on my shoulder
          Cheers Andro
          Emu

           
  5. jennygoth

    October 17, 2011 at 4:39 pm

    aww i thunks e his ta mooch to drunk lol can you tell il try to type better emu it was supposed to say with hair like that xxjen

     
    • The Emu

      October 19, 2011 at 1:43 am

      Hi Jen , whose drunk ? you or Emu, lol
      Emu

       
  6. jennygoth

    October 17, 2011 at 4:38 pm

    i think thats a gothic emu with hair like hat lol xxjen

     
    • The Emu

      October 19, 2011 at 2:48 am

      Reckon Emu’s can be gothic in a feathery ancient sort of way Jen
      Red eyes , big mouth and always horny , lol
      Emu

       
  7. jennygoth

    October 17, 2011 at 4:37 pm

    thats really funny aussie may as well have lots of some like sex drinks and fun your a 61 yr old baby lol xxjen

     
    • The Emu

      October 19, 2011 at 2:50 am

      Here today and gone tomorrow Jen and what we do in between we call life
      I want to slide into Heaven on a high and tell Saint Peter life was a blast
      and I had a hell of a ride
      Emu

       
  8. Rosemary Monteith

    October 17, 2011 at 10:14 am

    I do enjoy Emu’s sense of humour, that is what happens when you lie to your Dr lol

     
    • The Emu

      October 19, 2011 at 1:45 am

      Hi Rosemary , glad you enjoy Emu’s humour
      I admit he has a really weird sense of humour at times
      Hope you are okay girl and taking life one day at a time
      even if it is not easy
      Emu

       
  9. Rosemary Monteith

    October 17, 2011 at 10:12 am

    I do enjoy Emu’s sense of humor, that is what happens when you lie to your Dr. lol

     
    • The Emu

      October 19, 2011 at 2:51 am

      Well it seems to be true Rosemary , might as well enjoy life
      and slide into Heaven on a high
      Emu

       
  10. Sue Dreamwalker

    October 17, 2011 at 9:19 am

    Enjoy each day as it come Emu my friend…live for the moment.. and make each moment count.

    Thanks for opening up my day with another smile.. and we are not that far apart in ages.. your were 4 when I was a baby..LOL..

    keep Laughing!.. 🙂

     
    • The Emu

      October 19, 2011 at 1:38 am

      Hi Sue, pleased you enjoy my trips down memory lane
      Guess we are from the same era , our parents were called baby boomers I think
      Hope you are having a great day/night , temps getting into the mid 30s here
      I love it when its in the 40s
      Cheers
      Emu

       
  11. prenin

    October 17, 2011 at 3:08 am

    Oh how true!!! PMSL!!!

    God Bless!

    Prenin.

     
    • The Emu

      October 17, 2011 at 4:52 am

      I thought it was rather funny too mate
      and its so bloody true
      My doctor is worried about my drinking
      and he asked me the other day how my drinking was going
      I said it would go a lot better if he gave me a bloody prescription for the stuff
      Cheers
      Emu

       
    • The Emu

      October 17, 2011 at 4:52 am

      I thought it was rather funny too mate
      and its so bloody true
      My doctor is worried about my drinking
      and he asked me the other day how my drinking was going
      I said it would go a lot better if he gave me a bloody prescription for the stuff
      Cheers
      Emu

       
  12. cat.

    October 16, 2011 at 9:40 pm

    O, boy, funny, but true … live and enjoy whatever, Ian … we only live this once … Love, cat.

     
    • The Emu

      October 17, 2011 at 2:58 am

      Lot to be said for drinking and smoking and running around with bad woman Cat
      Cheers
      Emu

       
  13. Lady Jude

    October 16, 2011 at 9:32 pm

    I just hope I go out with a bang and not have to worry about it Emu….

     
    • The Emu

      October 17, 2011 at 2:57 am

      Lot to be said for enjoying this life Lady Jude
      See they scientists have developed a cure for aging
      and are predicting that we will be able to live to 150
      Bloody hell , I hope not , imagine paying taxes till that age
      Cheers
      Emu

       

Leave a Reply

 
Peppermint

Wicked Commentary

Prenin's little page

Just another WordPress.com site

Dreamwalker's Sanctuary

A Sanctuary for Enlightenment and Peace through Poetry and Inspirational Thoughts as we go through Life

Blog Kunterbund von G.B.

http://zitroneblog.wordpress.com

Welcome to Sheila's Space

Just another WordPress.com site

wonkywizard

philosophising on meaning of life via poetry and prose

Pacific Paratrooper

This WordPress.com site is Pacific War era information

witlessdatingafterfifty

Relationships reveal our hearts.

Dreamwalker's Garden

Growing Your Own Produce and Remedies

