RSS

A Dangerous Aussie Encounter

07 Nov

The weather here in Mildura is starting to heat up as we head into our summer season

This week we are fluctuating in the mid 30s and soon we will be in the mid 40s , our bushfire season.

The hot weather brings out our wildlife who try to seek the cooler areas in search of relief.

I want to share with you a picture of this little fellow I found on the road dodging in and out of the traffic, he was doing well but looked like he was dicing with death so I grabbed his scaly neck and took a few pics and released him back into his own environment.

He is a beautiful little creature common around our area and has a big blue tongue and sharp bloody claws

Cheers

Emu signing off

 
18 Comments

Posted by on November 7, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

18 responses to “A Dangerous Aussie Encounter

  1. Renee Espriu

    November 11, 2011 at 12:34 am

    I like lizards but do believe I would watch from a distance this fine fellow. I commend you.

     
    • The Emu

      November 11, 2011 at 4:12 am

      This little fellow looks quite scary but in actual fact is a slow mover
      He is a beautiful creature and has a split blue tongue
      Ian aka Emu

       
  2. Sabina Brave

    November 9, 2011 at 5:47 pm

    I am not big admirer of this kind of animals, but this one looks sweet 🙂
    Cheers friend 🙂

     
    • The Emu

      November 10, 2011 at 9:35 pm

      Hi my friend , this little fellow looks scary but is harmless
      Wishing you a great weekend and hoping you are well and happy
      Emu

       
  3. natswans

    November 9, 2011 at 11:33 am

    AWW wonderful Ian this made me smile 🙂 good on yer I see you are holding well, as you are used to these little guys. Do they move very fast I wonder .Somtimes we just have to chip in. Great pictures Have a good warm day , rain here Hugs Sheila 🙂

     
    • The Emu

      November 10, 2011 at 9:36 pm

      Hi Sheila , lovely to hear from you , this little fellow may look ugly but he is actually a slow mover and fairly harmless
      Wishing you a great weekend and hope you are well and happy
      Emu

       
  4. Lady Jude

    November 8, 2011 at 1:02 am

    Better you holding that creature than me Emu, cause I’m S0oooooo screamish… Just as well we don’t have them here in NZ…

     
    • The Emu

      November 8, 2011 at 10:37 am

      Weird little fellow I admit Lady Jude , but you have that weird little Kiwi bird over there
      that looks like its missing its arms , hehe , lol
      Cheers girl
      Emu

       
  5. Rosemary Monteith

    November 7, 2011 at 11:10 pm

    Emu did his good deed for the day

     
    • The Emu

      November 8, 2011 at 10:35 am

      Cheers Rosemary , getting into summer weather here and all the animals are coming out
      Just the snakes I am wary when handling
      Emu

       
  6. Sue Dreamwalker

    November 7, 2011 at 8:25 pm

    Arrh…. Cute little scaly thing… we get hedgehogs dodging traffic here in the UK, unfortunately for them many do not make it to the other side of the road,, Glad you stepped in to save this little fellow..
    Phew.. thats HOT!…. I drove past a business place this morning which had the temperature showing in one of those big signs today here in the Middlands.. it was 8deg C..but no frost as yet..
    Keep Saving the Wildlife Emu…
    Great Photos.. 🙂

     
    • The Emu

      November 8, 2011 at 10:34 am

      Hi Sue , glad you like that little blog . Ana wont let me near snakes or crocodiles , bloody hell they are harmless little fellows if treated with respect
      We dont have hedgehogs here but have Echidnas , much the same but we call them porcupines cos of the spines , I call em concubines hehe, lol
      Emu

       
  7. Androgoth

    November 7, 2011 at 2:37 pm

    I really like this story Ian and I also like that little catch that you made, I think he / she was very lucky that it was you that came along and protected it in the caring manner that you did… It is very good knowing that I am not the only one to do these things, I have rescued a Dove from a rather hungry looking Cat, picked up Hedgehogs when they were being attacked by Crows and saved a Sparrow from certain death after it had been struck and stunned my a van, yes I did look a tad strange driving back to my house with that sparrow in my hand but hey we have to look after our wildlife don’t we Ian and so I say, well done to you my great friend and thank you for adding such an enjoyable read…

    Androgoth

     
    • The Emu

      November 8, 2011 at 10:31 am

      Cheers Androgoth , Ana my Chilean wife is learning that this Aussie hubby of hers is liable to bring home all sorts of animals
      Caught one of these lizards recently that had a head at both ends , weird but not uncommon here
      She wont let me near snakes again or crocodiles , bloody hell they are harmless if you know how to respect them
      Emu

       
      • Androgoth

        November 11, 2011 at 9:41 pm

        Yes well I’ve never come face to face with a Crocodile or Snake but
        I certainly do take all sorts back with me, I cannot just leave them to
        suffer or die without at least trying to help them 🙂

        Thank you for calling by and reading my Scripts Ian
        and do have a most enjoyable weekend, hey without
        taking home any of theose Crocodiles and Snakes 🙂

        Androgoth

         
        • The Emu

          November 13, 2011 at 6:06 am

          He was only a baby mate , his mother is still in the swamp and I am tracking her down
          Might start up a bit of a menagerie here but am getting too old wrestling crocs
          Snakes okay but my reflexes are getting slow
          Cheers mate
          Emu

           
  8. prenin

    November 7, 2011 at 12:17 pm

    Good one Ian – he looks like an extra from a dinosaur movie!!! 🙂

    Glad you take care of nature!!! 🙂

    God Bless!

    Prenin.

     
    • The Emu

      November 8, 2011 at 10:27 am

      Cheers mate , yes he does look like a bit of a dinosaur
      Caught one a while back that had a head at each end , weird but not uncommon
      Emu

       

Leave a Reply

 
einfachtilda

Viele Bilder, wenig Worte!!

Peppermint

Wicked Commentary

Prenin's little page

Just another WordPress.com site

Dreamwalker's Sanctuary

A Sanctuary for Enlightenment and Peace through Poetry and Inspirational Thoughts as we go through Life

Blog Kunterbund von G.B.

http://zitroneblog.wordpress.com

Welcome to Sheila's Space

Just another WordPress.com site

wonkywizard

philosophising on meaning of life via poetry and prose

Pacific Paratrooper

This WordPress.com site is Pacific War era information

witlessdatingafterfifty

Relationships reveal our hearts.

Dreamwalker's Garden

Growing Your Own Produce and Remedies

