RSS

An Emu Adventure

12 Nov

We left Mildura about 2 oclock on Wednesday afternoon, destination being Adelaide , the capital of South Australia a distance of about 450 kilometres , the purpose of the trip was to meet a friend who I had known on spaces for over 10 years now ,Sue Mac and her husband Ross who were on the last legs of their recent travels, travelling from Sydney to Western Australia via Adelaide on the train The Indian Pacific, so I decided that this was a good chance to finally put a face to a name behind my friend on the internet , the trip turned into quite an experience in more ways than one and was an introduction for Ana into the sudden changing patterns of the Australian weather.

This is the story of our Mildura to Adelaide trip.

The afternoon was bright and sunny as we left ,the sky was blue and not a cloud in the sky , we had heard warnings of storms developing in South Australia but storm warnings in Australia are usual at this time of the year as we head into summer,

The first 3 hours off our trip was relaxing and uneventful , stereo playing my old favourite song , On The Road Again by Willie Nelson, Emu expedition was on the road again.

The warnings of an impending storm started to appear about 5 kilometres on the road before entering a small South Australian town called Waikerie.

The sky was black , we were going through normal summer rains , the windshield wipers were on low , the outside of the car temperature read 33 degrees,

I told Ana we were going to get hit hard with the storm ahead , We saw the rain as it came towards us but it confused me , the rain was not clear but brown , brown from the dry desolate sands off the lands surrounding the highway , it was too late when I realized we were driving into an Australian inland Cyclone/Tornado , at this stage I could only see the bonnet of the car , then all hell broke lose, I could not see even through the windshield ,, the car was rocked by the winds, I held the steering to the left as much as I could but the winds picked up the car and carried it to the opposite side of the road , by this stage I had no control over the car or the road or a very concerned South American female , I was calm but aware that if the winds carried us over the centre lines we would have been face to face with others cars and more importantly , trucks, we floated on the road left to right , finally I pulled the steering wheel to the left as far as possible hoping I was on the right side of the road , we drifted with the winds amidst the hailstorm, finally spied an open area through the passenger side window , I pulled the wheel as hard as I could and took a chance there was no embankment or river or trees , behind me was a car who assumed I was on the road still , he came in behind and braked a few feet from me .

We sat in the car as the storm raged overhead , the car kept shaking and moving , we could see nothing , we heard the cracking of lightning all around us , I admit I was worried as was Ana , then through the blur of the windscreen I saw something that made me realize we were in danger , a large tree branch flew across the windscreen ,then I realized why there was no lightning , the cracking sounds we were hearing were trees being torn down.

This scenario went on for about 5 minutes and suddenly the rain stopped and the road became clear and the sky ahead was a beautiful blue.The car behind pulled out and headed off up the road , images of cyclones I have lived through before gave me warning to wait a while , sure enough the next minute the demons from hell hit us again , What we had done was drive straight into the cyclone/tornado and the brief spell when all was quiet was the eye of the storm that we sat through, this lasted a few more minutes , in the rear view mirror I saw the cyclone continuing on down the highway , we drove on to the town of Waikerie through crystal clear blue skies , the road was covered with trees and branches.

We made in into Waikerie where the town was intact but was devastated with fallen trees , one tree having fallen on a house . I have taken pictures where you can see the fury of the storm having taken off thick branches high up ,like the trees were lopped.

Well that is the story of this Emu’s adventure and Ana’s first introduction to an Australian inland cyclone/tornado.

Our journey continued into Adelaide uneventful ,clicked on the stereo to Willie Nelson song , On the Road again .

Thursday was the day to meet my internet friend Sue , we arrived at the train station and waited for the Australian train , The Indian Pacific to pull in , met up with Sue and her hubby Ross ,for me it was an emotional moment , Sue has been a friend for over 10 years now on spaces and the net and finally we put faces to names,we only had a short time together , Sue and Ross had to catch the train to Western Australia and Ana and I had a 6 hour drive back to Mildura , we took time to go to Adelaide Chinatown and have a coffee and a talk , time did not allow us to have a really great talk, but I think Sue and Ross will agree that in the short time together the friendship we grew on the net has finally come to a conclusion with a bonding that is beautiful

Finally to all my friends out there a small message , if you get the chance to meet an internet friend or somebody you have never met and hold dear , make the move and enjoy the love and words and friendship you express on the net. If you have Sue Mac in your friends list , you are blessed

I wish you all much love and happiness and hope when you meet your internet friends you will find beautiful friends like I did with Sue and Ross.

Sue if you read this it was beautiful to meet up with you .You are a beautiful girl and friend, I hope I didn’t disappoint you in that I am the the old bloke that writes the mushy love poems and the alter ego of the Emu guy

We will meet again

Dont know where

Dont know when

But we will meet again some sunny day

Ian

 
38 Comments

Posted by on November 12, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

38 responses to “An Emu Adventure

  1. angel2angel

    December 16, 2011 at 3:39 am

    Reblogged this on Angels Blog.

     
  2. rannycalderon

    November 29, 2011 at 7:43 am

    Hi Ian ::
    I’m a photography lover… beautiful shots and it is a trip not to be forgotten ..
    hugs~connie

     
    • The Emu

      November 29, 2011 at 9:38 am

      Thanks Ranny , glad you liked those pics
      Must admit I am no photographer , my camera does all the work.
      Hope you are well girl and wishing you much love and happiness
      Emu

       
  3. chicasl10

    November 19, 2011 at 3:51 pm

    This is adventure Ian my God i would scream all the time..
    U were in the eye…and then bang again the whole drama..
    This is something not everyone can talk abt..U must have had some guardian angels with u.
    But at the end u met ur net friend..Thats awesome.
    I met also years back already..Its a pleasure to see in flesh and blood..To touch and give a big huggy.
    ur story here is not fiction its real…My god..Tx God ur still alive and also for Ana.
    tc and hope u have a peacefull weekend.
    MJ

     
    • The Emu

      November 20, 2011 at 1:20 am

      Greetings dear friend , thank you for reading and commenting on my adventure with Ana
      It was a scary time but all ended up well , I think the storm may have passed down your way/
      it was great to meet my friend Sue and her husband Ross
      Hope you have Sue in your friends network as she really is a lovely person
      Wishing you well and an enjoyable Sunday afternoon
      Emu

       
  4. jennygoth

    November 15, 2011 at 10:13 pm

    lovely that you met up with friends i would have been so scared in that storm i hide in the cubby here when we have a storm i know a full blown whimp lol send me some aussie love too aussie im feeling a bit poorly tonight xxjen

     
    • The Emu

      November 19, 2011 at 3:38 am

      Hi Jen , yes it was great to meet up with Sue , she has been a friend of mine on here and followed me on the net all over Australia and through a divorce and remarriage , hope you have her in your friends list as she is a beautiful person , the storm was a bit of a worry for Ana but to this little old Aussie Emu , just water off a ducks back , been through cyclones , bushfires and floods before so have learnt to be resilient
      Hope alls well in Goth village and wish you a great weekend
      Emu

       
  5. Lady Jude

    November 15, 2011 at 5:03 am

    Loved those photo’s of all of you’s at Sue’s site…I’m sure it will be a cherished memory for ever more…

     
    • The Emu

      November 19, 2011 at 3:35 am

      Hi Lady Jude , great to hear from you , hope all is going well for you in the land of the long white cloud
      Yes it was a great meeting with Sue and her husband Ross , Sue has followed me on spaces for over ten years now
      from Queensland to Victoria to South Australia and now back to Victoria , hope you have her in your friends list
      as she really is a beautiful person , saturday arvo here and our temps are hitting the 40s , shit its gonna be hot
      when summer gets here
      Cheers girl
      Emu

       
  6. Sue Dreamwalker

    November 14, 2011 at 7:43 pm

    Hi Emu… so pleased you and Ana made it through that storm ok and even more pleased you met Sue and Ross… you and Sue have both been in my friends list now for quite some time, and I have to say it brought my own lump to my throat as You two finally met.. And I have just been over to Sue’s Blog and left a comment there too.. Great to see you all smiling and happy..

    I guess that someone was watching over you and Ana Emu… sounded one terror of a storm..
    Wishing you a Peaceful week and I hope you Gave Sue a double hug ~ one from me.. 🙂
    Sue~ Dreamwalker

     
    • The Emu

      November 14, 2011 at 9:49 pm

      Hi Sue , lovely to hear from you girl , hope all is going well with you
      I see somewhere that work is keeeping you occupied lately , remember to take time out to smell the roses
      It was quite an adventure to get to meet Sue and Ross but well worth it , she really is a beautiful person
      Going to catch up on blogs now Sue so will locate yours and see whats doing
      Cheers
      Emu

       
  7. Rosemary Monteith

    November 13, 2011 at 8:51 pm

    Glad you and Anna, made it safely through the Cyclone/tornado. I am sure you had a lot of pleasure meeting Sue and her Husband Ross.

     
  8. Rosemary Monteith

    November 13, 2011 at 8:49 pm

    Glad you both made it safe through the cyclone/ Tornado. I sure you had great pleasure in meeting up with Sue and her husband.

     
    • The Emu

      November 14, 2011 at 2:38 am

      Hi Rosemary , thanks for reading and commenting on my blog
      It certainly was an experience to remember but well worth it
      to finally meet Sue and Ross , I hope you get her into your list of friends
      as she is truly a lovely person
      Wishing you much love girl and hope you are well and happy
      Emu

       
  9. Janae's Fallgirl Shepherd

    November 13, 2011 at 8:39 pm

    Wow Ian! I was on the edge of my seat while reading that one, Whew! I’m glad to know that you and Ana were kept safe through that horrific ordeal, sheltered now, I hope. Neat that you all got to meet up with the friends, that does sound pretty unique, I reckon to probably having heard of your friend via comments around the blogging community.

    I miss Summertime here already so cold with winter like weather. Anyway can definetly say cheers to having a good week!

     
    • The Emu

      November 14, 2011 at 2:35 am

      Greetings my friend , yes it certainly was an experience to go through
      but well worth it in the end to meet Sue and Ross , I hope you have her in your friends list
      as she really is a beautiful person.
      The weather here is in the mid 30s so we are in for a long hot summer which I like
      Wishing you much love and hope you are well and happy
      Emu

       
  10. natswans

    November 13, 2011 at 3:36 pm

    Good Heavens Ian you had me on the edge of my seat , the photo’s wow . Hasten to add I am so glad you are both safe and well after your experience. I am gladdened by your meeting with Sue and hubby that is special very much so. So happy to hear this especially after that awful day you endured. Hugs Sheila .

     
    • The Emu

      November 14, 2011 at 2:18 am

      Hi Sheila , thanks for reading my blog and commenting
      It was a scary experience but well worth it in the end
      to meet Sue and her husband Ross ,they are a great couple
      I hope you have Sue in your list of friends as she really is a beautiful person
      Wishing you much love
      Emu

       
      • natswans

        November 14, 2011 at 3:27 pm

        Hi Ian can’t say I have Sue in my list, I took a look and could only find Blogger, in her profile. Have a good day hope all is well. Hugs Sheila 🙂

         
        • The Emu

          November 14, 2011 at 9:46 pm

          Hi Sheila , hope all is well with you and you are having a great week
          I have Sue in wordpress but if you read my Emu expedition blog
          you will see where she made a comment and that will take you to her wordpress site I think
          Cheers Princess
          Emu

           
  11. powerofwow

    November 13, 2011 at 12:21 pm

    It must have been lovely for you’s to finally meet up with your spaces friends.. quite an adventure getting there too.. that must have been quite scary at the time for you both and I’m glad you came through it unscathed… 🙂
    Have a magical day… 🙂
    Jen.xxx

     
    • The Emu

      November 14, 2011 at 2:16 am

      Hi Jen , thanks for reading and commenting on my blog
      It was a great experience meeting up with Sue and Ross
      Hope you have her in your friends list as she is a beautiful person
      Wishing you much love
      Emu

       
  12. kate58

    November 13, 2011 at 9:32 am

    What a FABULOUS story. I’ve been lucky enough to meet three of my internet friends that I originally met on MSN Spaces, & I will cherish those meetings & the continuing friendships forever. Australia is on my list of places to visit, so who knows….maybe one day I’ll get to meet you & Ana. 🙂

     
    • The Emu

      November 14, 2011 at 2:11 am

      Thanks Kate for reading and commenting on my story ,
      it was a great experience in meeting Sue
      and I hope you are lucky enough to have this beautiful person in your friends list
      One day Kate , who knows , we may meet somewhere sometime
      Wishing you much love
      Emu

       
  13. cat.

    November 13, 2011 at 6:00 am

    Oh, boy, Ian and Ana, what an adventure! Glad you made it through that storm alright. I can emphasize when it comes to driving in bad weather … So neat to read about your meeting with Sue Mac! So moving … Love, cat.

     
    • The Emu

      November 13, 2011 at 6:12 am

      Thanks Cat , it certainly was a different adventure , I always seem to be in situations that are out of the ordinary
      maybe cos of my aussie adventure streak , was fantastic meeting up with Sue Mac , if you haven’t got her in your friends list find her
      She is a great person and well worth having
      Wishing you much love from Aussie
      Emu

       
  14. suemacarthur

    November 12, 2011 at 10:46 pm

    Ian
    You will never be “an old bloke”but you will always be my friend who write from his heart about things that are dear to him and about the country he loves,
    You are an Aussie from head to toe and im very proud to call you my friend,
    Sue

     
    • The Emu

      November 13, 2011 at 5:38 am

      Thanks Sue , was fantastic meeting up with you after all these years and Ross is definitely an Aussie
      Wish we had more time as there was so much I wanted to talk to you about , must admit I was nervous meeting my first friend off the net
      Was shaking at the start when we met but put that down to not having a beer in me hand
      Catch ya around tha Emu traps girl
      Cheers
      Emu

       
  15. suemacarthur

    November 12, 2011 at 10:41 pm

    Ian and Ana
    you and i have been friends for many years,but it was truly wonderful to stand in the same room as you and Ana, and i to wish we had of had more time, but i would not have miss out on the short time we had for anything and i know we will do it again some time.
    Like you i believe, everyone who has the chance to meet an net friend should take it, because it is so wonderful to hug someone who has become part of your life,To those who say the people on the net are just names, I say to you , that you are so wrong,
    Im so glad you and Ana made it through the storm safely and that you had better, trip home
    Take care my friend
    Sue

     
    • The Emu

      November 13, 2011 at 5:45 am

      It was a very emotional meeting for me Sue , only because I was a little afraid of what you would think of me
      so I made sure I was on my best behavior and made sure my boots were polished and had a shave and put new socks on for you
      Even had a shower for you and some stinky aftershave stuff.
      Was great to see you Sue
      Hope I didn’t disappoint you as sometimes people on the net dont always appear the same in person
      You Sue were exactly as I thought and i imagined
      Was a real pleasure and one day we will meet up on the Swan river and stroll the Freemantle markets hand in hand,
      with Ana and Ross behind , lol
      Cheers girl
      Emu

       
      • suemacarthur

        November 13, 2011 at 10:20 am

        You are you Ian, they way i have always knew you to be, an Aussie at heart and a bloody good friend and yes we will meet again , Ross ask me on the train how he would know you as people dont always look like there pics,I told him to look for the Slim Dusty Hat lol,
        tell Ana hi for me and Thanks for the pics they are great
        Take care my friend
        Sue

         
        • The Emu

          November 14, 2011 at 2:14 am

          Well Sue , I reckon even Ross would have picked me out ,
          seems I stand out a bit when I visit the big smoke and try to blend with them city slickers , lol
          Have a great new week relaxing and catching up .
          Cheers
          Emu

           
  16. Sabina Brave

    November 12, 2011 at 7:28 pm

    No doubt, that it’ll be for you unforgotten trip 🙂 I’m glad, that you survived cyclon/tornado. And that you enjoyed meeting.

    Have a nice rest of the weekend Ian 🙂

     
    • The Emu

      November 13, 2011 at 5:59 am

      Thanks Sabina for your thoughtful comment
      it certainly was a trip to remember but well worth it when I met my friend Sue
      Wishing you much love Princess
      Emu aka Ian

       
  17. prenin

    November 12, 2011 at 4:40 pm

    Bloody Hell Ian!!!

    Thank God you made it through OK!!! 😮

    Glad you got to meet Sue and Ross – Sue has been a friend of a few years now and I think the world of her! 🙂

    God Bless my friend and thanks for the piccies – you sure had a close one!

    Prenin.

     
    • The Emu

      November 13, 2011 at 6:00 am

      Thanks mate for your thoughtful comment
      it certainly was a trip to remember but well worth it when I met my friend Sue
      and her husband Ross who is a Viet Vet like me
      Cheers mate
      Emu aka Ian

       
  18. penpusherpen

    November 12, 2011 at 3:58 pm

    Blimey, Ian, I read that totally wide-eyed and hanging on to every word. Plus the photo’s added to the sheer terror showing the unleashed strength of the Tornado you both experienced. Thank goodness you and Ana were OK … To finally meet Sue and Ross must have been like an adventure in itself, and I’m glad everything worked out ok , ‘cos I just love happy ending.. . 😀 xPenx

     
    • The Emu

      November 13, 2011 at 6:03 am

      Was all worth it Pen , to finally meet up with an old friend I have known on the net for over ten years
      Maybe one day Pen we can meet up too , this old Emu will go through fire and hell to meet his friends , lol
      Cheers Princess and sending you much love from Aussie
      Emu

       

Leave a Reply

 
Prenin's little page

Just another WordPress.com site

Dreamwalker's Sanctuary

A Sanctuary for Enlightenment and Peace through Poetry and Inspirational Thoughts as we go through Life

Blog Kunterbund von G.B.

http://zitroneblog.wordpress.com

Welcome to Sheila's Space

Just another WordPress.com site

wonkywizard

philosophising on meaning of life via poetry and prose

Pacific Paratrooper

This WordPress.com site is Pacific War era information

witlessdatingafterfifty

Relationships reveal our hearts.

Dreamwalker's Garden

Growing Your Own Produce and Remedies

