RSS

Emu Outback Expedition

17 Jan

Sunday was the start of a trip to outback New South Wales ,a couple of hundred kilometres from here in Mildura . The country is very dry and barren in places  Noticeable landmarks being what is called The Walls Of China , great outcrops of rock that have been eroded over thousands of years of time  The area is an Aboriginal site covering hundreds of kilometres and dates back 40, 000 years and as such is a sacred site. We set out on our trip primarily to allow Ana to see our wildlife in its natural habitat . The car and essential survival items like water , clothing and radio communications were checked , an old habit from my army survival days , plus people notified of our destination and estimated time of return . The temperature when we left was 29 degrees but I knew it would get higher as we progressed , at the height of our trip it reached 41 degrees . Planning is vital in travelling in Australian outback , recently here a lady of 61 took much the same path we were embarking on , her car broke down and she walked 20 kilometres with nothing more than an umberella , she survived . The golden rule in survival when in a car if it breaks down is to never leave the car, anyway back to my story.After 28 kilometres we left the bitumen and took to the great dusty red outback tracks .The scenery is bleak but is home to many species of wildlife.

The first sign of wildlife we came across was a lizard commonly called A Frilled Neck  He looks much like a dinosaur and has frills around his neck that swell when faced with danger, a fast little mover that left us after a good inspection and decided he was in no danger. Continuing on we started the gradual climb up over the China Wall range and drove into the highlands , the dusty track was nothing more than red dust that left a trail behind . We stopped for a water break and a check of the map and came across these Wombat holes , long since vacated  In olden days there was a Wombat that roamed these ranges called The Hairy Nose Wombat , he stood as high as a man and as big as a Rhino . At this stage we had seen no kangaroos , mainly because of the heat , they rest during the heat beneath the shade of trees, however we started to come across many Emu  This Emu has a clutch of babies with her that are about 6 months old. The Emu seems to like the heat and will roam the open plains as opposed to the kangaroo who goes for the shade.

Beautiful birds but a bird to be wary of as they are extremely protective and can attack. A water stop and check of the maps and we pushed on . Finally we came across our first encounter with kangaroos  There were three of them amongst some trees  Even going slow the car disturbed them and they broke , one to one side of the road and the other two to the other side , I got out to take some pics which I got but not a good idea to get between kangaroos , they will attack if separated  So a quick dive back into the car was called for. We finally reached the end of our trek and headed down the dusty track to join the highway and came across this old sheep shearing shed , a relic from bygone days , I leave you with a pic of this old man Aussie Emu taking a breather after what ended up as a long hot driving adventure. I must admit that Ana took the trip well as she has been on a couple of Aussie Emu adventures now , but noticed that wisely ,she never left the airconditioning in the vehicle for long. Hope you enjoy my story and pics

Emu signing off

 
38 Comments

Posted by on January 17, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

38 responses to “Emu Outback Expedition

  1. Colline

    February 21, 2012 at 11:37 am

    I enjoyed going on a trip with you to the outback. I find those sand formations fascinating! I am guessing they were caused from soil erosion?

     
    • The Emu

      February 21, 2012 at 11:22 pm

      Glad you enjoyed that trip Colline
      Those formations are about 40,000 years old
      as its the home of Aboriginal people who lived in these lands that long ago
      Cheers
      Emu aka Ian

       
  2. dinkerson

    February 9, 2012 at 5:23 am

    I loved getting to follow along with you on this trip Ian! The photo of you at the end was great too. You just seem so damn down to earth. Not entirely unlike our own cowboys of Texas and much of the Western US.

     
    • The Emu

      February 9, 2012 at 5:59 am

      Thanks for taking the time to read and comment mate , glad you enjoyed that little outback adventure
      Just finished reading one of your blogs and was very impressed , the subject of racism and equality
      Got a bit involved and verbose in my responce but completely concur
      Cheers mate, catch ya around tha traps
      Emu

       
  3. angel2angel

    January 24, 2012 at 1:16 am

    Reblogged this on Angels Blog.

     
  4. Raven of Leyla

    January 19, 2012 at 4:52 pm

    What a great journey out into the Outback! I am pleased you ran into relatives, Emu LOL Wow, it is dry and similiar to some areas here, but wombats, frilled lizards, kangaroo and emu are never seen here. Thanks for sharing your pics and journey. I do miss the warm weather it is below freezing here, brrrrr.
    Rx

     
    • The Emu

      January 20, 2012 at 7:04 am

      Hi my friend Raven , glad you enjoyed my journey to the outback
      Have to go and check where you live because its obviously not Australia
      A bad habit of mine with friends in that I never seem to check their country
      It is definitely not Australia , here at the moment the temp is 40 degrees
      we are haviong a long hot summer , I do hope you are well Princess and happy
      May your days be filled with sunshine
      And your nights a canopy of stars and moonbeams
      Aussie Emu aka Ian

       
  5. giselzitrone

    January 18, 2012 at 2:56 pm

    Tolle Fotos Grüsse dich lieb Gislinde.

     
    • The Emu

      January 19, 2012 at 8:36 am

      Hi Gislinde , thanks for calling bye
      Hope you are well , here we are in the high 40s and its very hot
      We look like we are in for a long hot summer
      I wish you much love Princess
      Emu aka Ian

       
  6. Alex Autin

    January 18, 2012 at 2:10 pm

    Great story Ian…..I completely enjoyed reading it…and I also enjoyed the pics! More please!

    : )

     
    • The Emu

      January 19, 2012 at 8:24 am

      Thanks for reading and commenting Alex , glad you enjoyed my outback adventure and pics
      I love the Australian countryside and try to get out as much as I can, will be doing more adventures in the future
      I hope you are well and happy and your weather is fine , here we are into the 40s and its damn hot
      Wishing you much happiness Princess
      Emu

       
  7. Sue Dreamwalker

    January 18, 2012 at 10:57 am

    What a great morning adventure you took me upon here Emu, and I didnt get hot, attacted by flies, or was worried by any Kangaroo’s Kick.. or Emu Peck!.. I sat with Ana, in a comfortable chair as you took me upon a wonderful journey with my morning cuppa… I wish you could send a little of that warm weather our way Emu, but 41 deg’s phew! thats far too warm for me.. Don’t you melt?…
    I really enoyed your discriptions Emu of where you have been and all the natural wild life you met along the way.
    By comparison here the frost never moved all day here, and ice had formed over our pond.. We went a walk to a local wildlife Bird lake yesterday taking my Granddaughter to feed the ducks Shes One now, and just walking.. :-).. and Ice had started to form even there… But its milder today 7degs and rising… so the frost all gone..
    I always love your Out-back expeditions Emu, you have a wonderful way of taking your reader there..
    I didnt know that Kangaroo’s would attack if they were seperated.. see I learned something new.. But I did know Emu’s could get a bit wild when they had young about.. and can also give you a big kick…
    Hope Ana enjoyed her outback experience too…. and I think I would have stayed in the airconditioned car too..
    Enjoy your day Emu..
    Sue 🙂

     
    • Sue Dreamwalker

      January 18, 2012 at 10:58 am

      attacked by flies even 🙂 still early here EMU! Lol xx

       
    • The Emu

      January 19, 2012 at 8:14 am

      Hi Sue , glad you enjoyed that post of mine on an adventure outback
      It was a great experience for Ana even in the heat but I made sure we had plenty of water
      and the aiconditioning was working ,she got to see the Roos up close and the Emus with their chicks
      I got to thinking back and working out how long you and I have been friends on the internet
      I think it was long before I met Ana and went to Chile for a visit ,I think we met back in the days when I was hiding in a bottle
      and writing non stop , days when I was letting go of all my anger and hurt ,memories come flooding back of those days
      and days I made many friends on spaces , do you recall Patricia R, went by the name Luvlinks and Brettskieb who died of cancer
      Its great to always open your messages and see the names of friends who have stuck by you over the years , much like bloody wedding vows
      Through thick and thin , richer or poorer , sickness and health.
      Well thats my ramblings for now Sue , your a beautiful friend , and if the planets had not aligned who knows where we would both be
      Cheers girl
      Emu

       
      • Sue Dreamwalker

        January 21, 2012 at 1:37 pm

        Yes your memory is correct Emu, and I remember your friends also Emu, such a sad day when Patricia passed away.. And the case of the phantom robber of ID theift remember Him… I also Had my ID stolen then and horrid messages sent on guestbooks in my name.. It was a great bunch of friends, some we have lost but I have your friendship, Rosemary’s, Summer, Eclipse, Lynn, and others… But I have made so many new ones on WP.. I nearly didnt transfer… So happy that I did..

        Hope the foot now ok 😉 ……… ready for the next expedition! 🙂 say Hi to Ana for me and give her a special Hug,…. for she made my day the other day… ;-)… xxx

         
        • The Emu

          January 21, 2012 at 11:31 pm

          Thanks Sue , glad you enjoyed talking to Ana , she is certainly different in her thinking and ideas.
          Lots of friends have moved on since spaces days and notice a lot now emerging who post massive blogs
          and I make comments and read their stuff and subscribe and yet they dont have the decency to visit your space
          Seems they have the me me me attitude where they want many comments but cant be bothered in reading the writer
          Oh well such is the world of the internet.
          Have a beaut Sunday Sue
          That little dog was tiny with no tail and if I had caught up with him he would have had a size 9 shoe tail right
          up his little ring piece
          Emu

           
          • Sue Dreamwalker

            January 22, 2012 at 2:41 pm

            Lauaghing here Emu…. I was once bitten by a little Jack Russel, I used to wear wellies as it was a renown ankle snapper, but the little monkey jumped up and bit my calve.. .. I think thats why I kept Cats :-)… Glad you’re ok and I agree with your words here ….Have a Great New Week… 🙂

             
          • The Emu

            January 24, 2012 at 4:36 am

            Hi Sue , thanks for the commiserations
            all okay now , no damage too much
            but if I ever catch the little bastard
            he’s going into my wok , fur and bloody all
            Emu

             
  8. Angelwings6

    January 18, 2012 at 12:09 am

    What fun you look like you’ve been having, I’ve only ever been to Melbourne and Sydney so the outback isn’t something that I’ve ever experienced….

     
    • The Emu

      January 18, 2012 at 3:03 am

      Thank you for reading and commenting Angelwings
      It was certainly an adventure, I know both Melbourne and Sydney well
      having lived in both places when I was in the army
      Now I enjoy the peace and quiet of outback Aussie
      Not so hectic
      Hope you are well and the weather is okay your area
      Here is still in the high 30s and 40s
      Cheers
      Ian aka Emu

       
  9. rosemarymonteith

    January 17, 2012 at 8:19 pm

    PS I love pic of lizard, seeing you can not post me a real one, you could let me have a copy of pic
    luv Rosemary

     
    • The Emu

      January 18, 2012 at 1:00 am

      Hi Rosemary , the lizards are quite common here
      Cant send you a live one but here’s his pic

      Cheers
      Emu aka Ian

       
  10. rosemarymonteith

    January 17, 2012 at 8:16 pm

    Sounds you had a get time Emu,

     
    • The Emu

      January 18, 2012 at 12:58 am

      Was a great trip Rosemary
      If you have a sence of adventure and daring
      You would enjoy the experience
      Wishing you well Rosemary
      Emu aka Ian

       
  11. kate58

    January 17, 2012 at 5:47 pm

    I’d love to go walkabout in the outback… 🙂

     
    • The Emu

      January 18, 2012 at 12:57 am

      You would enjoy it Kate
      If you have a sense of adventure and a little daring
      you would experience a great adventure
      Wishing you much happiness Kate
      Emu aka Ian

       
  12. natswans

    January 17, 2012 at 12:56 pm

    Hi Emu thank you for sharing your trip in the Outback, your knowledge came in very handy. You could say as a survival kit. Great shots ! The hairy nosed Wombat was there such a creature I dare to ask?
    Best wishes and good health
    Sheila 🙂

     
    • The Emu

      January 18, 2012 at 12:55 am

      Hi Sheila , thanks for reading and commenting on my trip into Australia’s outback lands
      Survival is a major factor when travelling in these lands , there really was a hairy nosed Wombat
      that was as big as I described
      Hope you are well Sheila and wish you much happiness
      Emu aka Ian

       
  13. magsx2

    January 17, 2012 at 12:01 pm

    Hi,
    What a fantastic trip in our outback, the scenery of the different rock formation is unreal, a part of OZ not many get to see.
    I love the photos, plenty of wildlife roaming around.
    All up a great post, I throughly enjoyed the read. 😀

     
    • The Emu

      January 18, 2012 at 12:50 am

      Thanks for reading and commenting on my trip to Australia’s Outback lands
      The rock formation was spectacular , old aboriginal land , there wasn’t a breath of wind or any noise
      Just an eerie silence , glad you liked the pics .
      Cheers Emu

       
  14. Androgoth

    January 17, 2012 at 11:09 am

    This is a brilliant posting Ian and you are certainly looking the part
    also… I can imagine those Kangaroos being a tad wicked if confronted
    with one, and a punch or a kick would certainly do some damage, or
    kill someone I would think? Actually the Ostrich looks a tad mean too 🙂

    Thank you for offering such a fine account of your travels Ian this has
    been a pleasure to read my great friend 🙂 Have a great day today 🙂

    Androgoth

     
    • The Emu

      January 18, 2012 at 12:17 am

      Thanks Androgoth for that great comment on our travels
      Yes both the kangaroo and Emu can be a tad feisty when confronted in the wild
      Best to stand back and use a long range lens , although we did get within touching distance
      but not a good idea with dad watching ,dont know where or what my next trip is but will post
      Cheers mate
      Emu

       
  15. prenin

    January 17, 2012 at 8:39 am

    Hi Ian! 🙂

    I’ve heard a few stories of people breaking the rules and damned near dying as a result, so there must be many who didn’t live to tell the tale…

    Glad you have common sense!!! 🙂

    God Bless!

    Prenin.

     
    • The Emu

      January 18, 2012 at 12:14 am

      Always one or two every year mate , and stupidly its not all tourists
      but some of our own.
      Cheers
      Emu

       
  16. thesweetkitten

    January 17, 2012 at 7:37 am

    Great landscapes! Looks a bit different from Belgium 🙂

     
    • The Emu

      January 18, 2012 at 12:12 am

      Greetings my friend , I think our Australian climate is quite different to Belgium
      Here up north it is hot and tropical , way down south is cold and snow
      You live in a very interesting country , I read many storys of Belgium during the second world war
      I wish you much happiness
      Emu aka Ian

       
  17. suemacarthur

    January 17, 2012 at 7:37 am

    looks like you and Ana had great trip Ian,
    Great pics, hope it cools down over your way soon,
    Take care my friend
    Sue

     
    • The Emu

      January 18, 2012 at 12:09 am

      Hi Sue , still in the high 30s here and touching the 40s
      No more travelling for a while in this heat
      Cheers
      Emu

       

Leave a Reply

 
Prenin's little page

Just another WordPress.com site

Dreamwalker's Sanctuary

A Sanctuary for Enlightenment and Peace through Poetry and Inspirational Thoughts as we go through Life

Blog Kunterbund von G.B.

http://zitroneblog.wordpress.com

Welcome to Sheila's Space

Just another WordPress.com site

wonkywizard

philosophising on meaning of life via poetry and prose

Pacific Paratrooper

This WordPress.com site is Pacific War era information

witlessdatingafterfifty

Relationships reveal our hearts.

Dreamwalker's Garden

Growing Your Own Produce and Remedies

