RSS

My Harley–Davidson

29 May

Back in my younger days as a nomadic wandering soul and persevering through twenty years of my army life , I always had a dream of owning a Harley-Davidson and travelling off around Australia as a free soul, much like the movie Easy Rider after the Vietnam war, but rather convinced myself that I was more of a James Dean out of Rebel without a Cause. Well time and tide waits for no one so I accepted the fact I was destined to be a vehicle driver and got myself a Subaru Outback to hit the highways and byways, but always kept my Harley dream alive.

In Chile in 2009 Ana spied a Harley for me and subsequently bought it for me , okay its not the exact size but was well made and after carrying it around Santiago for two hours I can guarantee its weight is equivalent to one of the original size. The cap in the pic was given to me by a friend over there at the time and is an original and supposedly worn by the King Elvis in one of his movies.

So thats my contribution to blogging tonight and I can say proudly that I do own a Harley-Davidson.

Keep smiling my friends and happy highways

Cheers

Emu

 
27 Comments

Posted by on May 29, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

27 responses to “My Harley–Davidson

  1. Laine Jensen

    November 30, 2015 at 7:03 pm

    Cheers 🙂

     
  2. suemacarthur

    June 12, 2012 at 5:58 am

    Woo Hoo love your Harley, it great and good on Ana for getting it for you and the cap too
    Take care my friend
    Sue

     
    • The Emu

      June 12, 2012 at 9:17 am

      The bloody thing weighs a ton Sue and I carried it around Santiago for about 3 hours
      Now it sits on my bar fridge and doesn’t move, hope your weeks going well girl
      Ana wants to know were you in Taiwan when the earthquakes hit around the 9th ?
      Ian

       
  3. giselzitrone

    June 8, 2012 at 9:23 am

    Wünsche dir mein Freund ein wunderschönes sonniges weekend Grüsse lieb Gislinde

     
    • The Emu

      June 8, 2012 at 10:56 pm

      May your weekend bring you much love and beautiful happiness Princess Gislinde
      Emu

       
  4. wonkywizard

    May 31, 2012 at 2:02 pm

    Perhaps your mechanic friend could transform your dream Harley into another knight.

     
    • The Emu

      June 1, 2012 at 7:12 am

      Sadly the artist of my Harley lives in Chile and now I am back in Australia
      Silently riding my dreams as I drift off to sleep at night
      Wishing you a great weekend my friend
      Aussie Emu

       
  5. giselzitrone

    May 31, 2012 at 12:32 pm

    Tolle Fotos Grüsse lieb und wünsche dir einen schönen Tag Gislinde

     
    • The Emu

      June 1, 2012 at 7:27 am

      Hi Princess Gislinde, hope you are in great health and had a wonderful week
      I wish you much happiness and a beautiful weekend ahead, full of love and happiness
      and lots of Romance.
      Aussie Emu

       
  6. Hanne

    May 31, 2012 at 10:52 am

    Thank for visiting my new blog and for nice words Emu
    Ok. you make me really smiling 🙂 a wonderful Harley-Davidson 😉
    but I would like to own the cap – my dream hehehehe.
    I wish you a cheerful Thursday with many smiles.
    Hanne.

     
    • The Emu

      June 1, 2012 at 7:07 am

      Hi Hanne, glad you liked my Harley and cap, the cap is an old original
      and when I go back to Chile I will see if I can find one for you
      Have a beautiful weekend my friend
      Aussie Emu

       
  7. Sue Dreamwalker

    May 30, 2012 at 9:36 pm

    Love it Emu and the Hat.. Both are great works of art. Sending you a thought or three… Grandpa.. Sue 🙂

     
    • The Emu

      May 31, 2012 at 2:55 am

      Never saw it the way you commented Sue but in reality they are both works of art.
      Thanks for the thoughts of three, get to see the last one in a few weeks then I can say I have seen them all and then ride off into the sunset astride my Harley to a magical world of peace and serenity, lol
      Wishing you a great Thursday Princess
      Emu

       
  8. Zen and Genki

    May 30, 2012 at 5:38 pm

    That is AWESOME! Proud you should be 🙂

     
    • The Emu

      May 31, 2012 at 2:52 am

      Thanks for commenting my friend, yes I am proud of my Harley ,you wouldn’t believe the trouble I had getting it through three customs but finally got it here, maybe one day I will ride off into the sunset astride a great Harley into the next world, lol
      Cheers and wishing you a great Thursday
      Aussie Emu aka Aussie Ian

       
  9. natswans

    May 30, 2012 at 10:29 am

    What a little beauty bet that made your day Emu, love the cap.
    Enjoy
    Hugs Sheila

     
    • The Emu

      May 31, 2012 at 2:50 am

      Thanks Sheila, yes I do take a lot of pride in my Harley and you wouldn’t believe the headaches I had getting it through three customs checks, I love the cap as it really is an original, maybe one day I will ride off into the sunset astride a great Harley into the next world
      Cheers Princess and have a great Thursday
      Emu

       
  10. prenin

    May 29, 2012 at 10:51 pm

    Lovely piece Ian! 🙂

    If that cap belonged to Elvis then it is a treasure!!! 🙂

    God Bless my friend!

    Prenin.

     
    • The Emu

      May 31, 2012 at 2:39 am

      Yep mate that cap is worth a mint , it belonged to Elvis Arbuckle who worked at the local store for fifty years
      Hehehe, Emu always puts a bit off bullshit in his Aussie Emu’s blogs, lol
      Cheers mate
      Emu

       
  11. Rosemary Monteith

    May 29, 2012 at 6:05 pm

    Dreams do come true Emu, and you have one nobody else will own lol

     
    • The Emu

      May 31, 2012 at 2:37 am

      Hi Rosemary , thanks for visiting and commenting, yes dreams can and do come true girl but at my age the secret is to give them a bit of a push along before the old bones cry enough,maybe one day I can post that I am off into the wild blue yonder as the easy rider with James Dean.
      Wishing you great health and happiness Princess, keep smiling.
      Aussie Emu aka Aussie Ian

       
  12. Red

    May 29, 2012 at 3:19 pm

    I love cycles. (pronounced in the Southern States as “sickles”) We have owned quite a few and Bear has one in the garage now to get ready for us to ride in the fall….at least that is the plan at the moment. I got my first one when I was 17, and I loved it.
    Red.

     
    • The Emu

      May 31, 2012 at 2:27 am

      Ride the highways and byways Red while the dream is still alive
      The only way to do it is on a Harley with its own unique roar
      Sounds like you started out as a bikie at an early age so its still in your blood
      Make the dream come alive girl
      Cheers
      Emu

       
      • Red

        June 1, 2012 at 2:23 am

        Never to be bled out, either. I have had a Sturgis, a soft tail, a pan head and a fat boy. My uncle had an Indian, which was a blast. I have ridden friend’s electriglides as well, but not my preference. Been on two wheels a long time. Doubt that will be changing any time soon…
        Red.

         
        • The Emu

          June 1, 2012 at 7:25 am

          Wow girl you have certainly been astride a few bikes in your days, the Indian must be a classic
          Electriglides awesome, best I can aim for now is a massive Harley Trike,fraid at my age of falling off
          Cheers girl and have a beaut weekend.
          Love to see a pic of the Indian, also have a pic of an old Harley you might be able to identify, I took pics of it in Chile,
          here are the links

          Cheers
          Emu

           
  13. Sabina Brave

    May 29, 2012 at 9:31 am

    Somebody worked hard to do it. It looks amazing. 🙂

     
    • The Emu

      May 29, 2012 at 11:22 am

      Thanks Sabina , it is a well done work of art made out of lots of heavy scrap iron
      It was well done and the artist took a lot of pride in telling me when he sold it to me,damn heavy too
      Cheers Princess
      Aussie Emu

       

Leave a Reply

 
Prenin's little page

Just another WordPress.com site

Dreamwalker's Sanctuary

A Sanctuary for Enlightenment and Peace through Poetry and Inspirational Thoughts as we go through Life

Blog Kunterbund von G.B.

http://zitroneblog.wordpress.com

Welcome to Sheila's Space

Just another WordPress.com site

Colline's Blog

A potpourri of thoughts and experiences

wonkywizard

philosophising on meaning of life

Pacific Paratrooper

This WordPress.com site is Pacific War era information

witlessdatingafterfifty

Relationships reveal our hearts.

Dreamwalker's Garden

Growing Your Own Produce and Remedies

