RSS

The Old and the New

19 Jul

Greetings friends of the Emu’s site

Sharing with you these two pictures, one is taken by myself in Valparaiso Chile in 2009 and the other appears to have been taken over a hundred years ago, Ana’s research seems to indicate the pics were taken at approximately the same location. The one I took is of a policeman,called Carabinierie in Chile, at a demonstration for better Health services for the country. The other older picture appears to be taken from the same location. The uniforms have changed obviously , what struck me most was the pose that both Carabinierie adopted.

It was the only demonstration that I witnessed when I was over there but it shows that no matter what country you are in , the people still find need to demonstrate on Health issues. Personally I found the Health services in Chile to be well above those of many Western countries albeit being a third world country.

Wishing you all well , much happiness and good health

The Emu

 
20 Comments

Posted by on July 19, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

20 responses to “The Old and the New

  1. WordsFallFromMyEyes

    September 22, 2012 at 10:24 am

    I love that you’re an Aussie blogger – you’re one of only TWO Aussie bloggers that I’m aware of. Thanks for the local news…
    but also overseas news. Incredible to me, Chile’s health services can be better than the west. What THE?! Wow. It’s great to learn of other countries.

     
    • The Emu

      September 22, 2012 at 12:29 pm

      Thanks for calling by and reading and commenting on my blog, glad you enjoyed it, I lived four months in Santiago Chile and it was an eye opening experience, I did need medical attention whilst there and was extremely surprised with the medical system when Chile is still classified as a third world country, its medical system would put many hospitals in the western worlds to shame.
      I have a few other Aussie bloggers on my space, apart from running my Aussie Emu space I run another one called Aussie Ian which is mainly love and romance poetry.
      I hope all is running smoothly in your life and wish you much love and happiness
      Aussie Emu

       
  2. Hanne

    July 23, 2012 at 12:32 pm

    Hi Ian Emu.
    Thank you for sharing your experiences with us. It is interesting to read.
    Thanks for your visit and your nice words about the poem and my new site.
    Wishing you a wonderful and colorful new week my friend.
    Love, happiness and health to you always.
    Cheers
    Hanne.

     
    • The Emu

      July 23, 2012 at 11:39 pm

      Thank you for such a beautiful comment dear Hanne
      Always a pleasure to visit your lovely site
      You are a dear friend and I wish you much love and happiness
      Aussie Emu

       
  3. giselzitrone

    July 23, 2012 at 9:50 am

    Wünsche dir eine gute Woche Gruss Gislinde

     
    • The Emu

      July 23, 2012 at 11:29 pm

      Hi dear Gislinde, thanks for visiting my Aussie Emu site
      You are a pleasure to have in my friends list here as well as in my Aussie Ian site
      Wishing you a beautiful week
      Aussie Emu

       
  4. giselzitrone

    July 21, 2012 at 9:29 pm

    Ein lieber Gruss von mir und ein schönes week-end wünsche ich dir lieber Gruss Gislinde

     
    • The Emu

      July 22, 2012 at 6:44 am

      Hi dear Gislinde, always a pleasure to hear from you. Sunday night here now so our weekends coming to a close
      I do hope you are enjoying your weekend, I think it might be a day different in our weekends,
      I do wish you much love and happiness and a beautiful week ahead
      Emu

       
  5. Sue Dreamwalker

    July 20, 2012 at 12:01 pm

    Yes many take their health-care needs seriously .. Lovely photos Emu, Thanks for sharing them to compare.. 🙂 ~Sue xox

     
    • The Emu

      July 21, 2012 at 12:24 am

      Seems that no matter what country around the world , man still has to stand up for the rights of the health system
      Wishing you a great weekend Sue , a wet cold and miserable Saturday morning here.
      Cheers
      Emu

       
  6. Angelwings6

    July 20, 2012 at 8:28 am

    I like the older uniforms better, protesters they’re everywhere and in every country always battling for the injustices of this world bless them…

     
    • The Emu

      July 21, 2012 at 12:22 am

      Hi Lady Jude, your visit and comment brightened up my Saturday morning here , where its a miserable cold wet beginning to the weekend.
      Thanks for the comment on my blog, hope all is okay over your way and you are enjoying great health, I wish you a great weekend, a better one than ours by the look of the weather.
      Cheers
      Emu

       
  7. Androgoth

    July 19, 2012 at 9:40 pm

    Yes very interesting photographs Ian
    it is a shame that the 2nd picture has a
    blur otherwise we would be able to see
    exactly when the time zone was but still
    easy to see what you are referring to 🙂

    Have a great rest of week Ian 🙂

    Androgoth

     
    • The Emu

      July 21, 2012 at 12:16 am

      Hi Androgoth, know what you mean about the time zone, we married it down as close as we could, trying to compare backgrounds and buildings but think we are as close to it as computer possible, cheers mate and a great weekend to you , here is a cold wet miserable Saturday morning.
      Cheers
      Emu

       
  8. natswans

    July 19, 2012 at 4:40 pm

    Good point Emu , hope you are fine and in good health , Sheila

     
    • The Emu

      July 20, 2012 at 11:38 pm

      Hi Sheila, you have been quiet lately, do hope all is well with you and you are in great health
      Wishing you a great relaxing weekend
      Emu

       
  9. thelightningphoenix

    July 19, 2012 at 12:58 pm

    Greetings, long lost pal & I thoroughly enjoyed your page for the past half-hour or so, along with its wonderful stories & photographs, dear Aussie, and now only did I learn a lot about our world in general, but also more about my good friend (being you) & how others brave their precious gift of life. Take it eezy & CHeeRz from my werld 😀

     
    • The Emu

      July 21, 2012 at 12:14 am

      Thank you my dear friend for visiting and leaving such a beaut comment in my Emu site, a wet and miserable Saturday morning here but your comment bought out the sun and brightened up my day, glad you enjoyed my diverse Emu site , a far different contrast to my Aussie Ian site.
      I wish you much love and happiness
      Aussie Emu aka Aussie Ian

       
  10. prenin

    July 19, 2012 at 12:24 pm

    Thanks for these Ian – amazing how the uniforms change, but the men in them stay the same… 🙂

    God Bless!

    Prenin.

     
    • The Emu

      July 20, 2012 at 11:37 pm

      Good observation mate, never thought of it like that,
      I think its the authorotian stance, damned if I can spell that word right
      Cheers
      Emu

       

Leave a Reply

 
einfachtilda

Viele Bilder, wenig Worte!!

Peppermint

Wicked Commentary

Prenin's little page

Just another WordPress.com site

Dreamwalker's Sanctuary

A Sanctuary for Enlightenment and Peace through Poetry and Inspirational Thoughts as we go through Life

Blog Kunterbund von G.B.

http://zitroneblog.wordpress.com

Welcome to Sheila's Space

Just another WordPress.com site

wonkywizard

philosophising on meaning of life via poetry and prose

Pacific Paratrooper

This WordPress.com site is Pacific War era information

witlessdatingafterfifty

Relationships reveal our hearts.

Dreamwalker's Garden

Growing Your Own Produce and Remedies

