RSS

Aboriginal Archaelogy . A Summary

21 Aug

Over the weekend I decided to take a break from personal family matters and headed for the hills with my brother to carry out some Aboriginal/Indigenous archaeology, my brother is a field officer for the Aboriginal department and has much knowledge on the subject and sites and locations.

We both have an avid interest in locating and recording old and new finds, new finds are recorded and documented and passed on for Aboriginal and government analysis.It is a sensitive area to be involved in as sites can be many years old and protected by the decendants or elders of the ancient sites.The sites we located this weekend , to my estimation , are over 25,000 years old,sometimes its not advisable to report certain sites due to the publicity it raises, giving rise to it becoming a tourist attraction inviting desecration and souvenir hunters, so these sites are recorded in documentation and the sites left to the original inhabitants who inhabited and hunted through the lands many thousands of years ago.

We took over 150 photographs this trip, the terrain was mountainous and strewn with boulders that actually form the mountain range, I share with you some pics that are not case sensitive.

This picture is known as a canoe or scar tree, the indigenous peoples cut the bark from the tree to use as canoes or shields and had many other uses such as for carrying food, babys and hunting and gathering tools.In the case of this picture the bark was removed to be used as the roofing over their

basic shelter which is known by many names including Gunya,Mia mia or Wurley.

It is important to illustrate proportions when carrying out this work so I have used this picture, I am 6 feet tall or 2 metres tall, using this as a guide you will see the bark removed to be at least 3 metres tall and is approximately 2 metres wide, this size bark is ample to cover 2 adults and children and the hunting dogs as well, the Aborigines never harmed the tree as they only removed the bark , this allowed for regrowth leading to what we see today as scar tree or canoe tree.

This tree is a great example of a canoe tree, the bark has been removed to the shape of a canoe, for some yet undetermined reason the interior was burnt for a purpose , yet at the same time allowing for the tree to florish and grow.

This pic is of us returning from our journey , the road is starting to become waterlogged from the rainfall flowing from the mountains, this is the same road we had driven over hours before when it was completely dry,it is a well known fact in Australia, that seemingly dry areas can quickly turn into raging torrents, a trap for many tourists that unfortunately dont understand our weather and its

quirks.

These two pics illustrate the mountainous terrain we traversed in our work, you will note it is extremely rocky, slippery with rain and hard to negotiate without care,nearly a few sprained ankles a few times for the old Emu.

This picture is the beginning of the subject matter of our research and borders on the sensitive material side, surffice to say that the rock formation and structure were what we were looking for , again you can see the rocky terrain, an area never walked by man for many thousands of years.

This is a beautiful wild bush flower that has brilliant purple type colour, we found it growing in many areas and I was told the name but damned if I can remember it, beautiful and thick foliage.

Well thats a brief summary of the latest sojourn into a great hobby of mine, Aboriginal Archaelogy, I will show you the pics that I couldn’t here when they are cleared for publication.in this area of research, just taking a picture does not automatically allow for publication as the finds are forwarded to Government departments. Notwithstanding my brother and I deem prudent to sometimes keep things to ourselves to preserve the past in its own spiritual way.

Hope you enjoyed my story.

Cheers

Aussie Emu

 
55 Comments

Posted by on August 21, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

55 responses to “Aboriginal Archaelogy . A Summary

  1. John JosephObrien

    November 25, 2012 at 11:40 am

    Hey Lizzard, (or rather Dear Ian Feltham) Sorry I was not able to be with you and the others at Healesville. Will try harder for next meeting. I have totally enjoyed your web page and the ‘stuff’ you write(what a wordsmith!!!) Keep up the good work and please stay well. Regards to you and yours. JJ (John O’Brien)

     
    • The Emu

      November 28, 2012 at 9:58 am

      Hi John. great to hear from you my friend from a past life. You certainly missed a great reunion John, all the names came flooding back, Ken Baker who hasn’t changed a bit but is stone deaf now, Gerry Knobben, Chippy, Spud from the kitchen, stacks of others as well, a group was able to visit Mrs Prowse in the nursing home, she is 98, completely lucid and was overwhelmed with everyone taking the time to visit, moves underway for another reunion next year with different locations being discussed, personally there is only one site for a SOAH reunion and that is Healesville, I believe we were the pillars that held the school up and the start of the school as we know it way back then, and has not much meaning to me when it passed its Healesville days. Thanks for your great comments on my writings, took it up professionally about 7 years ago and combined it with my travels and thus is the result, have about 5 books written but not published yet due to the huge financial cost, there is no money in being a writer John.
      Wishing you well my friend and much love and happiness to those you hold nearest and dearest.
      Aussie Emu aka Aussie Ian

       
  2. giselzitrone

    September 13, 2012 at 7:36 am

    Wünsche dir einen glücklichen schönen Tag lieber Gruss Gislinde.

     
    • The Emu

      September 13, 2012 at 10:11 pm

      Hi Gislinde, hope you are well, Friday morning here and looks like a great weekend coming up, hope yours is as well
      Cheers
      Emu

       
  3. Angel O'Fire

    September 8, 2012 at 9:56 pm

    absoloutly fanbloodytastic, to see our heritage in its untouched state, preserved, the aboriginal culture is a culture that I personally am captivated with, their resourcefulness, their way of life, the many tribes and cultures this blog is absoloutly fantastic thank you for sharing, many Australians know nothing of the heritage our great land holds which on it’s own is sad.
    To see such beauty is just frickin amazing ((hugs))

     
    • The Emu

      September 9, 2012 at 9:31 am

      Hi girl, glad you enjoyed that post, unbelievable that I saw things that only a few people , like 2 or 3 have seen that have been there for thousands of years, enjoy mountain trekking and getting away from the net and the world in general, needed a bad break at that time, suppose being an Emu I always tend to head to the bush.
      Cheers Tracy and enjoy Gatton life
      Emu

       
  4. Zen and Genki

    September 7, 2012 at 6:43 pm

    Great shots, Ian! Love the hat 🙂

     
    • The Emu

      September 8, 2012 at 10:10 pm

      Good morning my friend, glad you enjoyed that short summary and pics of an interesting day spent with my brother up in the mountains.
      That old hat has been with me a long time and is a bit of an icon around here where I live.
      Its Sunday morning here and the sky is overcast but predicted to become a warm sunny day
      We are off to the local markets this morning, always a great event and we always come away with something
      Wishing you a great day and week ahead
      Emu aka Ian

       
  5. chicasl10

    September 5, 2012 at 5:23 pm

    What a story Ian.This is one of an adventure.The aboriginals have respect for nature and that is what we see here
    I would love to walk with u..and watch ur steps Ian..Dont look around when u walk cos u gonna fall .
    Its good for u ian..this moment of relaxing.
    wish ur family well
    MJ

     
    • The Emu

      September 8, 2012 at 9:45 pm

      Glad you enjoyed that short writing on a trip I undertook with my brother, he really is an expert on the subject and I was privileged to go with him and take the pics, definitely a case of watching your step all the time Chica.
      I hope all is well with you and your family and I hope you have a great Sunday and week ahead.
      Cheers
      Emu aka Ian

       
  6. Renee Espriu

    September 1, 2012 at 12:41 am

    I love learning about different peoples. I have a degree in Sociology and although I did not go into that field loved the studies. This is wonderful of you to share and hope you will again put photos such as these and tell of the people there. Thank You!

     
    • The Emu

      September 4, 2012 at 12:56 am

      Greetings to you Renee this sunny bright Tuesday morning here in Mildura
      Glad you enjoyed and appreciated the pics and story in my post
      As soon as I have permission to release my pics to the public I will share more on the subject
      of the peoples and times over thousands of years ago.
      Wishing you well and a great week
      Emu

       
  7. jennygoth666

    August 28, 2012 at 3:20 pm

    this is one of your best posts great pics too and the romantic aussie in his sexy wellies loved the purple flowering bush its one of my fave colours looks like you had a great time i think maybe a poem could become of this blog emu xjen

     
    • The Emu

      August 29, 2012 at 3:38 am

      Thanks for a great comment Jenosingle,certainly was a great excursion but couldn’t post all the pics as they have to be forwarded to the Aboriginal peoples to be recognized, even though they didn’t know of this sites importance or archaelogy, weird even though its over 25,000 years old.
      That purple wild bush is called Wandering something or other, cant recall its exact name but it was a vibrant purple,
      Cheers
      Emu

       
  8. sudiste1359

    August 26, 2012 at 6:41 pm

    hi thanks for your anniversary wishes
    have you seen my mariage pictures????
    so long my dear, hugs

     
    • The Emu

      August 29, 2012 at 3:27 am

      Greetings dear Sudiste, no I haven’t seen your marriage pics I think, but have tried to see them , would love to though if you can send me a link, or tell me where to look, wishing you much love.
      Emu

       
  9. Alex Autin

    August 26, 2012 at 1:44 pm

    Awesome adventure and story Ian. I love the pics!

     
    • The Emu

      August 29, 2012 at 3:21 am

      Greetings Alex , glad you enjoyed my excursion, will post more pics when they are cleared for publication.
      I have been remiss in not catching up on my wordpress friends and will be making an effort to catch up this week.
      Hope all is well with you Alex and I wish you much love and happiness.
      Emu

       
  10. auntyuta

    August 26, 2012 at 1:04 pm

    I loved to read about this fantastic excursion, Ian. Wonderful pictures. Would be great to be able to see some more later on. Thanks for sharing.

     
    • The Emu

      August 29, 2012 at 3:18 am

      Thanks Auntyuta, it certainly was a great excursion and when my pics are cleared for publication I will post the ones I was not able to at the moment, wishing you great health and happiness
      Emu

       
      • auntyuta

        September 1, 2012 at 7:10 am

        Wishing you a great Father’s Day on Sunday!

        wishing you

         
        • The Emu

          September 4, 2012 at 12:59 am

          Thanks Auntyuta for your lovely wishes, I did have an enjoyable day with my youngest son
          My other son and my daughter live in Adelaide, about 4 hours away and couldn’t make it.
          Its a beautiful sunny morning here in Mildura, the temps are starting to get into the summer time range now.
          Wishing you well and a great week.
          Emu

           
          • auntyuta

            September 4, 2012 at 10:33 am

            We had a nice warm day too on Sunday. But nights are still cold. For the party on Saturday night they had put up a few gas-heaters, which was very welcome. Our son lives in Melbourne. During the time of the preparation for our eldest daughter’s funeral he had taken time off work and stayed with us for one week, also our youngest daughter Caroline helped us a lot with funeral arrangements. We’ll see our son and his family towards the end of the year after our return from Germany. Our son has already two granddaughters, sweet little girls, four and five years.
            Our daughter Monika lives not very far from us. She became a Grandma three days after Gaby died. We saw Lucas straightaway on the day he was born. His mother brought him to the party too on Saturday. He’s a lovely baby-boy and I was allowed to hold him for a while, which really made my day!

             
          • The Emu

            September 8, 2012 at 9:40 pm

            Hi Auntyuta, sorry for the long delay in answering you, time just seems to fly lately, by now you are well on the way to Germany I think.
            Thanks for sharing the insight into your family, you do appear to have a close and very caring family, I am enjoying the time with my new grandson Cameron here, he is 5 months old, my other two grandchildren live about 4 hours away so I dont get to see them as much , a real pity as I would so love to be able to share in their early upbringing all together seeing as they were all born about the same time.
            Anyway Auntyuta, enjoy your trip to Berlin
            Cheers
            Emu aka Ian

             
  11. Androgoth

    August 25, 2012 at 3:59 pm

    Yes I did enjoy your story and I like the
    photographs that you have offered too 🙂
    Thank you for letting us have a glimpse
    into your world my great friend 🙂

    Be wicked now 🙂 lol

    Androgoth

     
    • The Emu

      August 26, 2012 at 8:36 am

      Greetings Androgoth, thanks for visiting and commenting, I see by me email box I am way behind in catching up on your posts
      will make a point of visiting this evening, Sunday night here and has been a summer type day.
      Cheers
      Emu

       
  12. Sue Dreamwalker

    August 24, 2012 at 6:16 pm

    Emu, its always good to get into that Natures realm of healing energies, and I am so pleased you shared these wonderful photos with us.. And Its good to know that those sacred sites are in good hands.. 🙂 Blessings sent.. ~Sue

     
    • The Emu

      August 25, 2012 at 4:21 am

      Thanks Sue, I enjoy the hobby, think its from my army days of hiking and enjoying the country, amazing what you find in uncharted regions , wish I had a camera back in my younger days.
      Cheers
      Emu

       
  13. Red

    August 24, 2012 at 1:42 pm

    Loved the trees. We have had many scarred trees on lands. The canoe tree with the burnout was used by the natives here for storage or hunting cover. They would cover the opening with stones against all but the largest animals. Bears and the occasional moose were the only things big enough to break away the stones when food was inside.
    Red.

     
    • The Emu

      August 25, 2012 at 4:17 am

      Thanks for the comment Red , and you actually have given me some insight into a few of the trees I have found as to the collection of rocks nearby, now I have to rewalk a few sites and see if your scenario fits the pic for our indigenous people from the past, I have found the same pattern in various countries and cultures that are consistent with their nomadic lifestyle.
      Thanks
      Cheers
      Emu

       
  14. giselzitrone

    August 24, 2012 at 9:18 am

    Wunderschöne Bilder mein Freund Wünsche dir einen schönen glücklichen Tag und ein schönes weekend ohne Sorgen Grüsse Herzlich Gislinde

     
    • The Emu

      August 25, 2012 at 4:13 am

      Thank you dear Gislinde, hope you are having a beautiful weekend with lots of happiness and love.
      Keep smiling Princess, you have a lovely picture
      Emu

       
  15. michiko san

    August 24, 2012 at 6:21 am

    Hi Ian,
    It was lovely to see you in here, I don’t understand for long time,
    I will be back more soon.
    Michiko

     
    • The Emu

      August 24, 2012 at 9:04 am

      Hi Michiko, thanks for commenting , hope you enjoyed a glimpse into my hobby of Indigenous archaelogy.
      Working on more expeditions which we hope to document into book form, do hope all is well over your way
      and always a pleasure to hear from you, wishing you much happiness
      Emu

       
  16. Clowie

    August 22, 2012 at 10:10 am

    It’s interesting to hear about ancient cultures. Those trees are fascinating.

     
    • The Emu

      August 23, 2012 at 8:13 am

      Glad you enjoyed my little story Clowie, its beautiful to find that people over 25,000 years ago only took from the land what they needed,
      The trees are beautiful to see in real life and tell a story while still living.
      Wishing you well Princess
      Emu

       
  17. cat

    August 21, 2012 at 1:25 pm

    Wow, Ian … so neat … thank you for sharing … it’s winter in your country, I see you are dressed warmly … but flowers are still blooming.

     
    • The Emu

      August 22, 2012 at 8:51 am

      Hi Cat, glad you enjoyed my last adventure , heading of again soon into goldfield country, its still winter here
      Freeze the balls of a brass monkey they say and I can vouch for that, looking forward to a long hot summer
      Cheers girl and keep smiling for the old Emu

       
  18. suemacarthur

    August 21, 2012 at 1:15 pm

    Im glad you got away and spent time in the bush, the country look so beautiful and green,
    the work you and your brother are doing, is great we got keep every bit of this country history, both the good and bad , for if we lose it we lose our self,
    Take care my friend
    Sue

     
    • The Emu

      August 22, 2012 at 9:12 am

      Thanks Sue for commenting on my stuff , it was a fantastic experience, saw stuff and touched stuff over 25,000 year old, took stacks of pics but cant publish them at the moment, its very ancient and never been seen before and any finds must be reported , Daryl and I havent yet reported them as a proffessor in Aboriginal archaelogy has already done one story on the stuff we found but is not aware of the other seven sites and burial ground we found, will send you a pic of something that only two people have seen , my brother and me .
      Cheers Sue
      Emu

       
      • suemacarthur

        August 22, 2012 at 12:58 pm

        im glad you got away and i would love to see the pics
        Take care my friend
        Sue

         
        • The Emu

          August 23, 2012 at 8:25 am

          Hi Sue, thanks for calling by, hope you and Ross are going well, all has calmed down in our life over here, I am hoping to get qualified as an Aboriginal field research officer, only a damn title for something I have been doing all my life as as a wandering soldier, once my pics are cleared for publication I think someone is going to grab them for Government purposes but I may get Archaelogy recognition, load of crap Sue for stumbling over bloody rocks I used to hide behind in the army
          Cheers girl and regards to Ross
          Emu

           
          • suemacarthur

            August 24, 2012 at 3:31 am

            yep it just a title for something you always done, but it something you love doing so go get your title,, we have had a week of it being hot now it so cold it not funny, so now we both got the flu lol
            take care my friend
            Sue

             
          • The Emu

            August 24, 2012 at 9:07 am

            Hi Sue , dont think I really need a title for my way off life, I just stumble on these things as I roam the mountains, bloody hell Sue found a few great discoveries over the years staggering out of a few outback pubs but they are best left unrecorded, hehe
            Cheers
            Emu

             
          • suemacarthur

            August 25, 2012 at 2:26 am

            i know you dont need the title and i know you do what you do for the love of the people and the bush, and yes some are best left, just where they are and no one told
            Have good weekend my friend
            Sue

             
  19. Soma Mukherjee

    August 21, 2012 at 12:57 pm

    It was a lovely story Ian, you have had so much fun..love it when people use the gifts of nature without harming and leaving enough for re-growth..that is how and that is only way we can help keep our planet safe and green …loved the shots specially the rocky terrain

     
    • The Emu

      August 23, 2012 at 8:10 am

      Glad you enjoyed my little story of my adventure Soma, I agree with you that it is great to see people take from the land only what they need, what is more beautiful in my research is to find the people way back then , over 25,000 years were doing it,
      Cheers Princess
      Emu

       
  20. giselzitrone

    August 21, 2012 at 12:53 pm

    Wunderschöne Fotos ist eine ganz andere Welt wie bei uns und soviel Regen das ist ja enorm , ein schöner Beitrag dazu.Wünsche dir einen schönen Tag und liebe Grüsse Gislinde

     
    • The Emu

      August 24, 2012 at 9:10 am

      Danke liebe Gislinde und froh zu wissen, Sie genießen meine pics, kann ich Ihnen alles Gute und hoffen, das Leben hält Sie lächelt Princess
      emu

       
  21. rosemarymonteith

    August 21, 2012 at 12:16 pm

    Really enjoyed this post Emu, hope you post some more of the same in future. I know the Aborigines have a lot of knowledge involving Spiritual issues eg Dream time, which modern Western culture does not accept. I would love to hear your knowledge and views about it.

     
    • The Emu

      August 22, 2012 at 8:48 am

      Hi Rosemary , glad you enjoyed that story, have so much to tell Rosemary on our finds and sites but cant disclose it all untill it becomes governmentally public, we keep some stuff to ourselves sometimes, intend to reveal all when authorised, damn weird , I find the stuff , picture the stuff and it becomes govt property, this is stuff over 25,000 years, oh well , at least I feel like I am doing something constructive for history.
      Cheers girl and keep smiling
      Emu

       
      • rosemarymonteith

        August 23, 2012 at 12:31 am

        Well what you can when you can lol

         
        • The Emu

          August 24, 2012 at 9:03 am

          Hi Rosemary, thanks for commenting , hope you enjoyed a glimpse into my hobby of Indigenous archaelogy.
          Working on more expeditions which we hope to document into book form, do hope all is well over your way
          and always a pleasure to hear from you
          Emu

           
  22. prenin

    August 21, 2012 at 11:43 am

    We have similar problems here in the UK, but ours is more a case of metal detectorists seeking wealth from lost treasures.

    When a large find was discovered recently it had to be kept a secret to prevent looters pillaging the site!!!

    Long may your researches continue!!! 🙂

    God Bless!

    Prenin.

     
    • The Emu

      August 22, 2012 at 8:43 am

      Greetings Ian, thanks for reading my post and hope you enjoyed my little story.
      Archaelogy pics I take and sites I find dont automatically give me the right to publisise
      But hey mate I am enjoying the outdoors and excitement of finding stuff over 25,000 years old
      Cheers
      Emu

       

Leave a Reply

 
Prenin's little page

Just another WordPress.com site

Dreamwalker's Sanctuary

A Sanctuary for Enlightenment and Peace through Poetry and Inspirational Thoughts as we go through Life

Blog Kunterbund von G.B.

http://zitroneblog.wordpress.com

Welcome to Sheila's Space

Just another WordPress.com site

wonkywizard

philosophising on meaning of life via poetry and prose

Pacific Paratrooper

This WordPress.com site is Pacific War era information

witlessdatingafterfifty

Relationships reveal our hearts.

Dreamwalker's Garden

Growing Your Own Produce and Remedies

