RSS

The Beautiful Macaw

29 Dec

IMG_8888.jpg In 2009 whilst living in Chile South America, Ana took me to a small arts and crafts village on the outskirts of the capital Santiago.The village was laid out with shops and stalls on both sides of a lovely walkway. The works that were on display were unbelievable and so unique it was amazing, one shop specialized in wood working, here the craftsmen carved figureheads for large ocean going yachts, some were carving massive crucifixes and biblical icons for churches, these were over eight feet tall. Then to the other extreme was the shop I have previously posted on, here the craftsmen carved beautiful statues out of a single matchstick, they meticulously carved away with such intrinsic grace and beauty to create a miniture Eiffel Tower or the Virgin Mary and every conceivable building or monument you can imagine.The one I previously posted on was a statue of a cowboy with a lasso, even down to a gun and a holster. I repost the picture for my latest friends on WordPress.

In amongst this arts and crafts village I came across a large enclosure for birds, more like an aviary but spacious and well maintained.The aviary was home to many and varied species of birdlife that are indigenous to Chile South America, I couldn;t take my eyes of one of the most beautiful birds I have ever seen, the Macaw,now the only time I have ever seen a Macaw has been in movies, the old pirate movies where the bad pirate always has one perched on his shoulder, I think there was one in the story of Robinson Crusoe, written by Robert Louis Stevenson,as an aside, the island where Stevenson wrote Robinson Crusoe lies off the shores of Chile and is know as Juan Fernandez island, but to Crusoe buffs we know it as Treasure island. IMG_8889.jpg Anyway back to my Macaw story, It was a fascinating bird, It has a very vivid blue green headcrest, deep vibrant yellow breast and beautiful blue back feathers. Around its eyes are deep black lines that are as distinct as fingerprints on humans. A fabulous bird that research tells me is native to Mexico,Central America,South America and the Carribean. I think the exotic Carribean country is where the fantasys of the pirates originated from with their penchant for gold and the exotic flora, in this case the exotic flamboyant Macaw.

I was tempted to try and bring the bird home with me to Australia except for two reasons, one being customs and quarantine probably wouldn;t allow it and secondly, I dont believe in birds being caged,also the fact being the bird is not suitable or could adapt to our climate. So the bird remains in his home country where he shares his beauty for those that appreciate the splendours of one of Gods gifts to mankind, the beautiful Macaw.

Cheers

EmuIMG_8890.jpg

 
49 Comments

Posted by on December 29, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

49 responses to “The Beautiful Macaw

  1. Sue Dreamwalker

    January 16, 2013 at 10:52 am

    He sure is a colourful bird and I agree with you Emu, I also do not like to see birds caged.. even budgies .. And if they ever get free here in the UK the other birds attack them they do not last long in our climate. Not like the flocks of budgies you see in your homeland Emu…
    That match-stick is a great work of art.. I have seen it before when you posted, but so pleased you posted it again.. Its amazing what creative works we can do.. And I assume the sculptor needed magnifying glass to calve it with tools I should think you needed to magnify to see them 😉

    Have a Great Day 🙂

     
  2. Monica

    January 9, 2013 at 8:32 pm

    unreal, he’s so beautiful

     
    • The Emu

      January 11, 2013 at 10:09 pm

      Certainly a beautiful bird Monica, his colours were so vivid and brilliant
      Cheers
      Emu

       
  3. auntyuta

    January 6, 2013 at 3:12 am

    This is a beautiful bird. Thanks for sharing the pictures.
    Cheers, Uta

     
    • The Emu

      January 6, 2013 at 10:29 am

      Certainly a beautiful bird Auntyuta, colours were so brilliant it was breathtaking.
      Hope you are staying cool where you are, here in Mildura we are riding a wave of heat with temps over 40 for the next 5 days.
      Emu

       
      • auntyuta

        January 6, 2013 at 8:29 pm

        Hi, Emu, try to stay cool. Here in Dapto close to the ocean, hopefully it won’t get quite as hot for that many days.

         
        • The Emu

          January 7, 2013 at 10:29 am

          Good evening Auntyuta, 9.30 nightime here and the temperature is still on 41, reached 44 today, so we are in for a long hot sleepless night.
          See the bushfires are starting their annual summer breakout, closest one to us is over the border in NSW , we are right on the junction of three states here with the Murray river our border.
          Keep the airconditioner running in this weather Auntyuta.
          Emu

           
  4. Colline

    January 5, 2013 at 1:25 pm

    He really is a beautiful bird.

     
    • The Emu

      January 6, 2013 at 10:22 am

      Hi Colline, yes he is a beautiful bird with vivid colouring.
      Seeing him was an experience I dont think I will get again.
      Emu

       
      • Colline

        January 6, 2013 at 12:42 pm

        Especially when you see him in his natural surroundings.

         
        • The Emu

          January 7, 2013 at 10:24 am

          Good evening Colline, thanks for visiting, hope all is well with you.
          Heatwave weather here with temps over 40, bushfires are flaring up now so we are in for a long dangerous summer.
          Cheers
          Emu

           
  5. Hanne

    January 4, 2013 at 1:03 pm

    Hi dear friend Emu!
    Thank you for visiting and nice words.
    I wish you a colorful and exciting weekend with love and peace in your heart.
    I really like this colorful bird…. can it talk ???
    Many greetings from little Denmark miles away.
    Hanne

     
    • The Emu

      January 5, 2013 at 1:16 am

      Hi Hanne, glad you enjoyed my post on the Macaw, I believe they can talk although mine was very quiet.
      Hope you are in good health and enjoying life, Denmark has always intrigued me, its a beautiful place and it has an interesting history with its wartime involvement during the second world war.When I think of Denmark I think of vikings and beautiful damsels.
      Wishing you well Dear Hanne.
      Aussie Emu

       
  6. claudia

    January 4, 2013 at 12:48 pm

    I dont believe in birds being caged either…always feel so sorry for them when they can’t swing up in the air.. a beautiful bird it is…also love the matchstick cowboy…such amazing artwork…wow…this is awesome

     
    • The Emu

      January 5, 2013 at 12:54 am

      Thanks for the comment Claudia and glad you enjoyed my blog, the bird was amazing to see close up, his colours are so vibrant and beautiful, I still believe they should be left in their natural environment but being caged people can get to see the bird who would not otherwise, as long as the cage is vast enough for them to fly free.
      Have a beaut weekend Claudia.
      Emu

       
  7. giselzitrone

    January 4, 2013 at 11:53 am

    Ein schönes weekend und alles liebe Gislinde.

     
    • The Emu

      January 5, 2013 at 12:48 am

      Thank you Gislinde and a beautiful happy weekend to you.
      Hugs.
      Emu

       
  8. Androgoth

    January 4, 2013 at 12:36 am

    It will be Friday already where you are Ian
    so have a really great day, keeping cool will
    be the order of the day I think but hey grab
    a few cold beers and we will drink to 2013 🙂

    Be well my great friend Ian in Australia 🙂 🙂

    Androgoth

     
    • The Emu

      January 4, 2013 at 2:54 am

      Hi Andro, yep it is friday afternoon here and the temperature is hitting 47, predicted to be hotter next week, damn we are heading for a hot summer this year. Bushfires are already flaring up so hope they are not too close to us here but we are in the firing line.
      That damn hot mate that even if I dont want to, I have to have glasses of water in between beers so as not to dehydrate.
      Your probably sitting in front of a fire.
      Take care Andro.
      Emu

       
      • Androgoth

        January 4, 2013 at 9:44 am

        Yes it is a lot cooler here but it has been a mild winter so far, I think the planet is trying to tell us something but the governments around the globe are just NOT listening 😦 I hope that today you are a bit cooler Ian, I can’t even think about those high temperatures and how it makes you feel my great friend. Keep well in this extreme weather Ian and drink plenty of fluids 🙂

        Androgoth

         
        • The Emu

          January 5, 2013 at 12:46 am

          Hi Andro,looks like we are heading into a big heatwave here, its actually started with temps well over 40 and predicted higher next week, bushfires have started around the state with Tasmania getting hit fast, last report was 1000 evacuated by boats off a coastal town. Heatwaves and bushfires are a seasonal hazard here and we get used to them, just hope we dont get one like 2009 where 173 lost their lives.
          Cheers.
          Emu

           
          • Androgoth

            January 5, 2013 at 12:53 am

            I certainly hope that no lives are lost as the searing temperatures rise my great friend, it must be truly unbearable and sleeping will be almost impossible without some kind of AC or fans. Here it is just nine degrees but still a lot warmer than usual for this time of the year so I am definitely not complaining. Your very hot climate is certainly too hot for my liking but I know that on balance you will be used to it, though on these freak high its will be horrible for you so do try to keep the fluids in, plenty of water and keep safe my great friend 🙂

            Androgoth

             
          • The Emu

            January 5, 2013 at 1:24 am

            The airconditioner has been running non stop so far for 5 days, nightime is not too bad but the heat keeps waking you up.
            Next weekend I am going to photograph and demonstrate how easy it is to fry an egg on the footpath outside my house.
            Alternating between beers and water at this stage Andro.
            Cheers
            Emu

             
  9. giselzitrone

    January 2, 2013 at 2:55 pm

    Wünsche dir ein glückliches Jahr 2013 und alles liebe und gute lieber Gruss Gislinde.

     
    • The Emu

      January 4, 2013 at 2:41 am

      Greetings Dear Gislinde,hope your new year is starting well for you.
      Here it is 41 degrees and damn hot so just sitting under the airconditioner, the temperatures are predicted to get higher next week.
      I wish you good health my friend and a beautiful future to you.
      Emu

       
  10. Renee Espriu

    December 31, 2012 at 2:56 am

    A beautiful bird, I agree. There is a neighbor here a couple three doors down that has a very large bird that is either this type or a large exotic parrot. In any case, I finally figured out it was this fellow that was talking to me (I thought) and not the neighbor.While I was gardening one day I heard, “What’s ya doing?” I looked around and heard nothing so continued my gardening and so heard it again. I stood and looked around and at the neigborning houses and noticed this bird on a very large perch in the front yard. A woman was bent over gardening and the bird once again posed the question, at which she looked up and said “Shut up you stupid bird.”. Turns out the bird is her husband’s. I’m still not sure she likes it or simply was tired of the question. LOL

     
    • The Emu

      December 31, 2012 at 7:02 am

      Glad you enjoyed my Macaw story Renee, you had me laughing over your incident with your Macaw.
      I was not sure if they could talk or not, they are certainly a vivid brilliant coloured bird,
      Aussie Emu

       
  11. einfachtilda

    December 31, 2012 at 12:48 am

    ♥ Happy New Year ♥

    Mathilda 😉

     
    • The Emu

      December 31, 2012 at 7:04 am

      Wishing you a beautiful new year Dear friend
      May it be a peaceful and prosperous new year
      Thank you for being a friend over the years.
      Aussie Ian aka Aussie Emu

       
  12. WordsFallFromMyEyes

    December 30, 2012 at 9:12 am

    It is awesome, truly awesome, to see those colours on the birds. How stunning they are, the colours.

    Great post, Ian.

     
    • The Emu

      December 31, 2012 at 6:58 am

      Thank you my friend and glad you enjoyed that Macaw story, he was absolutely beautiful to see.
      Wishing you a beautiful new year full of peace and prosperity.
      Aussie Ian aka Aussie Emu

       
  13. Androgoth

    December 29, 2012 at 4:36 pm

    I don’t like them caged up either Ian…

    Great posting
    my wickedly fine
    friend 🙂

    It is nearly time to celebrate the New Year 🙂

    Androgoth

     
    • The Emu

      December 30, 2012 at 12:10 am

      Was very tempted to try and bring him back with me , but like you Androgoth it would not be fair to have him caged in a foreign climate.
      Emu

       
  14. cat

    December 29, 2012 at 4:06 pm

    Love pic of the Macaw … reminds me when I had one sitting on my shoulder once in a petstore (involuntary on my part, since he decided to chose me as his landing place) … he kept eyeballing me, asking: “And how are YOU today?” Too scared to answer, I just stood there pretending to be a tree … finally one of the staff rescued me 🙂 Happy New Year to you and Ana, my friend. Love, cat.

     
    • The Emu

      December 30, 2012 at 12:25 am

      Hi Cat, hope your Christmas went well, did Santa bring you any pressies ?,he only brings pressies to good girls remember.
      Glad you liked my Macaw picture, must have been a great experience to have a Macaw on your shoulder, bet he knew you weren’t a bloody tree though.
      Happy new year to you girl, hope you continue to be my friend in the new year.
      Emu

       
  15. natswans

    December 29, 2012 at 1:59 pm

    What a Gorgeous Bird beautiful colours, In our Local pet shop is a Macaw . He sits outside the Cage on top , he says Hello as you walk by. They don’t leave him there all night though. Glad to say they the owner takes him home at night.
    I love those matchsticks I remember them on your earlier posts, amazing!
    Great post
    Enjoy your Weekend Sheila 🙂

     
    • The Emu

      December 31, 2012 at 6:36 am

      Greetings Sheila and thank you for visiting and appreciating my blog.
      Yes the Macaw is a really lovely bird and the matchstick carvings were fantastic.
      I wish you a beautiful and prosperous new year, thanks for being my friend over the years.
      Aussie Ian aka Aussie Emu

       
      • natswans

        December 31, 2012 at 11:42 am

        My Pleasure
        Happy New Year to and your family
        Sheila 🙂

         
        • The Emu

          December 31, 2012 at 9:53 pm

          Good morning Sheila, new years day here and was a late night with fireworks and champagne.
          I hope your new year is full of happiness and prosperity, thank you for your friendship over the years.
          Emu

           
  16. giselzitrone

    December 29, 2012 at 11:20 am

    Tolle Bilder ich wünsche dir von Herzen, ein gutes glückliches neue Jahr alles liebe und gute von mir Grüße dich lieb Gislinde.

     
    • The Emu

      December 31, 2012 at 5:48 am

      Greetings Dear Gislinde, thank you for being a great friend over the past years.
      I wish you and your family a beautiful,happy and prosperous new year.
      Aussie Ian aka Aussie Emu

       
  17. Hanne

    December 29, 2012 at 11:07 am

    Hello dear friend Emu.
    I wish you a marvelous weekend and a
    Happy new year 2013.
    Thanks for all in 2012.
    May all the best be with you and your family.
    Many warm greetings…
    Hanne

     
    • The Emu

      December 31, 2012 at 5:47 am

      Greetings dear Hanne, thank you for being my friend over the years.
      I wish you a very happy and prosperous new year.
      Aussie Ian aka Aussie Emu

       
  18. magsx2

    December 29, 2012 at 8:55 am

    Hi,
    It is a beautiful bird, the colours are so bright and vivid, I can understand why you would of liked to have him around.
    Just amazing to think that someone can do such perfect work on such a small scale, a matchstick, just unreal.

     
    • The Emu

      December 30, 2012 at 12:56 am

      Greetings my friend, glad you liked my Macaw, certainly a beautiful bird and as you say, the colours were unbelievably brilliant, was tempted to try and bring him back with me ,but would not be fair as I dont think birds should be caged, plus the fact he wouldn’t live long in a foreign climate.
      My next trip to Chile I will be bringing back over 250 matchstick carvings, they are really a beautiful piece of artwork.
      I wish you a great new year full of prosperity and happiness.
      Emu

       
      • magsx2

        December 30, 2012 at 3:31 am

        All the Very Best for the New Year for you and your family as well. 🙂
        I was very impressed with the little carving, it certainly would be wonderful to have a few of them, I think they are very unique.

         
        • The Emu

          December 31, 2012 at 5:50 am

          Glad you enjoyed my Macaw blog, certainly a beautiful bird.
          I wish you and your family a beautiful, happy and prosperous new year.
          Aussie Ian aka Aussie Emu

           
  19. prenin

    December 29, 2012 at 4:11 am

    Beautiful bird Ian! 🙂

    I know what you mean about caging birds – definitely s no no!!! 😦

    I remember getting an email with a whole bunch of those match carvings and I was blown away!!!

    Happy New Year my friend! 🙂

    God Bless!

    Prenin.

     
    • The Emu

      December 29, 2012 at 11:57 pm

      Was very tempted to bring him back with me , absolutely gorgeous but like you, its just not right to have him caged in an unknown climate.
      Cheers mate.
      Emu

       

Leave a Reply

 
Prenin's little page

Just another WordPress.com site

Dreamwalker's Sanctuary

A Sanctuary for Enlightenment and Peace through Poetry and Inspirational Thoughts as we go through Life

Blog Kunterbund von G.B.

http://zitroneblog.wordpress.com

Welcome to Sheila's Space

Just another WordPress.com site

wonkywizard

philosophising on meaning of life via poetry and prose

Pacific Paratrooper

This WordPress.com site is Pacific War era information

witlessdatingafterfifty

Relationships reveal our hearts.

Dreamwalker's Garden

Growing Your Own Produce and Remedies

