RSS

Gardening and Gnoming

16 Mar

For most of my life I have been an avid gardener, from vegetables to flowers, from roses to radishes and tulips to tomatoes, I have loved the times I have been able to spend in the garden.

Watching the new born shrubs emerging or the first buds in the seedlings planted does give a great feeling, a feeling of satisfaction that you have actually helped nature in a creative way, and reaped the benefits from nature, whether it is in the beauty of a flowering rose or the budding of a tulip, or in the nutritional growth of a sun ripened tomato or the succulent leaves of a dew blessed lettuce.

A gardeners playground where one can relax and enjoy the beauty of his creation.

Over the years I have planted many gardens around Australia, mainly because of twenty years in the army I moved house 12 times and everytime I restarted, not only that when you count the number of houses that have been rented the number adds up.

But everytime I have persevered, I wish to share with you a photograph of a plant that I grew from a cutting, the Basil. I dont know much about this herb but have been advised by Ana it is an ingredient in many types of cooking.

One thing I have learnt over the years is to use every available handy receptacle to grow plants in, and in this photograph you will see I have used two old car tyres, filled with good soil mixed with great cow manure compost and my secret recipe, the end result has been a great bush that seems to continue to grow. Rubbing your hands over the leaves brings on a fantastic aroma.

So this is the results of my efforts with two old tyres, a good dose of great soil and lots of love and water. photo IMG_4491_zpsdf853e84.jpg

The other subject I want to touch on in gardens, is the proverbial garden gnome, for some reason people love to collect these little fairytale fellows and plant them around the garden, mainly females develop this fashion.

I have never really bothered with them until Ana came into my life, and was soon after followed by a troop of gnomes of all different shapes and sizes.

Now I dont mind the little fellows but lately everytime I water the garden there seems to be more gnomes than before, yes I count the damn things but I swear they were breeding.

So yesterday, with a torch in my hand I went hunting to do a census count, yep and there in amongst the flowers I found the culprit that was behind the proliferation of the gnomes in my garden.

I captured the little fellow on camera and dont be taken in by his shy bashful face with his hand covering his mouth from being caught out, look below and you will see why my gnomes have been breeding, the cheeky little fellow has been dropping his trousers all throughout the garden.

He has since been relocated to the cactus garden. photo IMG_4531_zpsebb0f009.jpg photo IMG_4530_zpsc98a06b8.jpg

Cheers.

Emu

 
43 Comments

Posted by on March 16, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

43 responses to “Gardening and Gnoming

  1. Doris

    May 22, 2013 at 4:27 pm

    love the flowers Ian,
    beautiful blog.
    have a good evening my friend
    hugs 🙂

     
    • The Emu

      May 23, 2013 at 9:19 am

      Thank you Doris, appreciate your lovely comment.
      Best wishes,
      Emu

       
  2. lyndzeerae27

    May 20, 2013 at 1:10 am

    Great post! I too love gardening, and have some serious envy over that basil plant of yours! It is phenomenal!!!! I’ve never been a fan of garden gnomes, but it’s probably for the best, since way up here in my Canadian garden they would just freeze their cute little butts off anyways lol

     
    • The Emu

      May 23, 2013 at 9:27 am

      Thank you for taking the time to visit and read my blog. Glad you appreciated my gardening efforts, the basil is now just stalks but already budding, the gnomes are my wifes as I dont particularly have a fondness for them.
      You must have some beautiful plants that grow up in your cold country.
      I wish you well and thank you for visiting.
      Much love and happiness to you
      Aussie Emu aka Aussie Ian

       
  3. WordsFallFromMyEyes

    April 17, 2013 at 12:27 pm

    I so envy people like you, Ian. I tried to make an oasis for my cat on our balcony (we’re one floor up). I bought catnip and a purple flower and two bushy things. Within 4 months they’re all dead and the balcony is sparse again. I just CAN’T keep plants alive. I genuinely envy your wonderful ability.

     
    • The Emu

      April 21, 2013 at 7:41 am

      All my plants in the garden are off the ground and in pots, unfortunately we are not allowed to plant in the garden as it is landscaped and we are renting, I just buy plants that look pretty or look like they will grow and put them in pots, if they die I just turf them and head off down to Bunnings again, expensive but at least I get a bit of pleasure, used to own my own home once and planted everything, trees included, divorce put an end to that bit of fun.
      Keep trying with your plants Noeleen, lettuce and radishes grow easy and would be great in pots for Daniel to enjoy growing and watering.
      Cheers
      Emu

       
  4. Monica

    April 12, 2013 at 8:33 pm

    Wow, that basil is amazing!! In high, dry Colorado, U.S.A., we’re lucky to get a few leaves.

     
    • The Emu

      April 13, 2013 at 7:35 am

      Hi Monica, thanks for visiting and commenting, hope all is well with you.
      My basil wont stop growing now and is flowering, have to find out how to prune it now, I know I have to pick the flowers off but apart from that, all it does is grow.
      Yes I guess where you are it would be hard to grow many herbs as they do need continuous watering.
      Wishing you a beaut weekend Monica.

       
    • The Emu

      April 13, 2013 at 7:36 am

      Hi Monica, thanks for visiting and commenting, hope all is well with you.
      My basil wont stop growing now and is flowering, have to find out how to prune it now, I know I have to pick the flowers off but apart from that, all it does is grow.
      Yes I guess where you are it would be hard to grow many herbs as they do need continuous watering.
      Wishing you a beaut weekend Monica

       
  5. giselzitrone

    April 5, 2013 at 12:34 pm

    Wünsche dir ein schönes sonniges Weekend und alles Liebe von mir.Gruß und Freundschaft.Gislinde

     
    • The Emu

      April 13, 2013 at 7:30 am

      Hi Gislinde, hope you are well,still warm weather where I live, I cam thinking it must be winter where you are.
      I wish you a great weekend my friend, it is Saturday evening here so I think you have a different time zone.
      Wishing you much love
      Aussie Emu

       
  6. Sue Dreamwalker

    April 4, 2013 at 1:05 pm

    Chuckling and spluttering away into my tea Emu, I have just set some Basil seeds on my kitchen window, That looks one great plant you have reared there Emu.. I love to put a few leaves onto my home-made Pizza, and love to add it into salads too.. 🙂

     
    • The Emu

      April 4, 2013 at 11:58 pm

      Hi Sue, yep the plant is really growing daily, has a beaut smell to it when brushed, Ana uses it but I dont have much of an idea on its uses, just like watching it grow.
      Cheers
      Emu

       
  7. cat

    March 30, 2013 at 12:55 pm

    Cheeky little gnom … so cute … let them breed all they want … as long as re minding their own business secretly in the bushes 🙂 Pretty soon your garden will be overrun by tiny cheeky gnom babies … awhhh 🙂

     
    • The Emu

      April 4, 2013 at 11:46 pm

      Bloody little pricks are everywhere now , its a bloody gnome orgy in the gardenias.
      Keep smiling girl
      Emu

       
  8. Marko

    March 29, 2013 at 5:41 pm

    I would like to wish you and YOUR family A Happy Easter

     
    • The Emu

      April 4, 2013 at 11:44 pm

      Thank you Marko, I am late in replying but hope you and your family had a beautiful Easter too.
      Wishing you a great weekend full of love and happiness.
      Emu aka Ian

       
  9. Zen and Genki

    March 29, 2013 at 12:57 am

    In general, I’m not a fan of gnomes…but those ones sure are cute!

     
    • The Emu

      March 29, 2013 at 6:58 am

      Thanks for the visit, wishing you a great Easter.
      Good Friday ending for us here in Australia.
      Cheers
      Emu

       
  10. giselzitrone

    March 23, 2013 at 2:30 pm

    Wünsche ein schönes glückliches weekend.Lieber Gruß Gislinde

     
    • The Emu

      March 24, 2013 at 9:52 am

      Good evening dear Gislinde, Sunday evening here and a lovely warm evening it is too.
      I hope you enjoyed a beautiful relaxing weekend.
      Emu

       
  11. ~Mystique sunshine~

    March 20, 2013 at 11:19 am

    Oh I know the feeling of watching the new born shrubs emerging.. I would come back every now n then to check on it n water it..:) Always wanted a little garden where i could grow veggies and herbs.. Lucky you..
    Hope you are doing very well..
    Sheena xoxo..

     
    • The Emu

      March 24, 2013 at 9:48 am

      Hi Sheena, great to hear from you and hope all is going well for you and you are happy and healthy.
      I love gardening but sadly in my rented house I am not allowed to plant anything into the ground so have developed an above ground garden.
      Hope you do get a garden of your own one day Sheena as it does give you lots of joy.
      Cheers
      Emu

       
  12. giselzitrone

    March 19, 2013 at 1:46 pm

    Hallo lieber Emu schöner Bericht und Bilder,ich wünsche dir einen schönen glücklichen Tag und grüße lieb. Gislinde

     
    • The Emu

      March 24, 2013 at 9:54 am

      Vielen Dank für Ihren schönen Kommentar Gislinde
      Senden Sie viel Liebe aus Australien
      Ian

       
  13. auntyuta

    March 19, 2013 at 12:06 am

    What a cheeky little gnome! I love your humour, Ian.
    The basil plant looks wonderful! I am jealous. It’s great that you take this interest in gardening. Our basil looked great too, for a while, and I used a lot in cooking and salads. I love the aroma! Unfortunately some kind of disease did befall this beautiful plant and we had to cut it back. Hopefully it may grow again. Who knows? Same thing happened to our tomatoes. They grew wonderfully in the beginning and the first lot tasted great. The pleasure didn’t last for very long. Most of the rest of the tomatoes ended in the compost. Something had gone wrong with them. So we’re back to buying our tomatoes. Cheers, Aunty Uta.

     
    • The Emu

      March 19, 2013 at 12:26 am

      Hi Auntyuta, thanks for the great comment, with the basil mI have learnt that you have to nip the buds soon as they start to flower, I think you are pretty safe cutting the basil right back as it will reshoot and survive, good pruning never hurts herbs.
      Wishing you a great Tuesday.
      Emu

       
  14. WordsFallFromMyEyes

    March 17, 2013 at 3:21 am

    It would be enormously satisfying, Ian, and I in fact admire and envy those who “can do it”.

    When I had my Filipino stepmother at 13, she set about trying to grow things in our old Housing Commission house full of weeds. I was told to “weed the tomato plants” before I was allowed to go to tennis. It ended in a beating from my father. I was called back from tennis, a nun popping into the courts at the school to say my father had telephoned and required I come home immediately – it was an emergency. I didn’t know who had died or what, but a non-jogger like me made haste back to our place on foot. It took about half an hour of stress and fretting. Apparently I had pulled up THE TOMATO PLANTS which to me, I swear to God, looked like weeds, and I believed I was ‘weeding the garden’.

    I have not grown anything, never had ‘a garden’, but I dare say, your garden is beautiful :).

     
    • The Emu

      March 19, 2013 at 12:22 am

      What a traumatic learning for a young girl, sounds like a lot of overeaction to me but then again it taught you one thing, the best garden is in the fresh foods section up at woolworths, that way everything is labelled and no weeds to worry about, hehe
      Cheers and keep smiling.
      Emu

       
  15. prenin

    March 16, 2013 at 7:52 pm

    Caught with his pants down! LoL!!! 🙂

    Nice one Ian!!! 🙂

    God Bless!

    Prenin.

     
    • The Emu

      March 17, 2013 at 12:42 am

      Thanks Prenin, have a great warm Sunday if possible.
      Emu

       
  16. wonkywizard

    March 16, 2013 at 4:40 pm

    Making good use of your tyres. We plant vegetables in our garden too, using organic waste from fruit waste, etc

     
    • The Emu

      March 17, 2013 at 12:41 am

      Sounds like you know the benefits of good organic waste as a great fertilizer
      Organically grown vegetables have a greater taste and are chemically free.
      I tried potatoes in those tyres but for some reason had no success.
      Cheers
      Emu

       
  17. natswans

    March 16, 2013 at 2:16 pm

    Basil well I never love this little herb use it quite often , small plants I buy at supermarket. Your plant looks very healthy so huge. Potatoes I have heard of growing them in tyres , I’ve learnt something today thank you Ian.. What a cheeky little Gnome .
    Have a lovely weekend
    Sheila

     
    • The Emu

      March 17, 2013 at 12:39 am

      Hi Sheila, I tried potatoes in those same tyres but for some reason they ended up very small so I reverted to the basil.
      Trying potatoes again in an above ground garden but for some reason I never have luck with them.
      Cheers
      Emu

       
  18. dinkerson

    March 16, 2013 at 12:51 pm

    Lol! This is too funny Ian. I’ve seen a lot of gnomes, but, until now, I’ve never been flashed by one.

     
    • The Emu

      March 17, 2013 at 12:37 am

      G,day mate, glad you got a bit of a laugh out of that blog, I seem to be having trouble getting updates on your blogs so have reset my settings again and am trying to follow you again.
      Cheers
      Emu aka Ian

       
      • dinkerson

        March 17, 2013 at 12:40 am

        The only blog that I really do anything with is my photo blog. If you are not following, there is a link on my gravatar page.
        I have not been getting your work in my reader. Don’t know why, but you popped up there today, and I was glad to see you.

         
        • The Emu

          March 17, 2013 at 12:46 am

          Will check out the link and try that way mate.
          Cheers
          Emu

           
        • The Emu

          March 17, 2013 at 1:17 am

          This is the link to my other site if you care to visit.
          It is purely poetry in the love and romance vein.
          Cheers
          Ian
          http://aussieian2010.wordpress.com/

           
  19. Angel O'Fire

    March 16, 2013 at 11:53 am

    For the most of my life, unlike you sir emu green thumbs, I have managed to kill all that I try to grow, up until recently, when my thumbs decided to turn a green ish kind of color, and I grew tomatoes, and a few squash, then began entire gardens filled with plants, I must admit I do love your Gnomes, they gave this ol Angel abit of a smile, ((hugs)) miss ya loads my ol mate……….Love always Angel

     
    • The Emu

      March 17, 2013 at 12:35 am

      Hi Tracy, the old Emu is still out here and still getting up to all sorts of adventures even after a bit of gardening.
      Next adventure is down to the Victorian goldfields doing a bit of gold fossicking with metal detectors with Mike.
      Are you still up in Toogoolawah or are you moving again ? seems you are having a bit of trouble educating the local zombies.
      Cheers and look after yourself and Josh girl.
      Emu aka Ian

       

Leave a Reply

 
Prenin's little page

Just another WordPress.com site

Dreamwalker's Sanctuary

A Sanctuary for Enlightenment and Peace through Poetry and Inspirational Thoughts as we go through Life

Blog Kunterbund von G.B.

http://zitroneblog.wordpress.com

Welcome to Sheila's Space

Just another WordPress.com site

wonkywizard

philosophising on meaning of life via poetry and prose

Pacific Paratrooper

This WordPress.com site is Pacific War era information

witlessdatingafterfifty

Relationships reveal our hearts.

Dreamwalker's Garden

Growing Your Own Produce and Remedies

