RSS

For Jasmine and Gislinde

18 Jun



Far across deep blue waters, lives an old German’s daughter
By the banks of the old river Rhine
Where I loved her and left her, but I can’t forget her
I miss my pretty Fraulein.

FrauIein, Fraulein, look up toward the Heaven
Each night when the stars start to shine
By the same stars above you, I swear that I love you
You are my pretty fraulein.

When my memories wander, away over yonder
To the sweetheart that I left behind
In a moment of glory, a face comes before me
The face of my pretty fraulein.

Fraulein, Fraulein, walk down by the river
Pretend that your hand’s holdin’ mine
By the same stars above you, I swear that I love you
’cause you are my pretty fraulein.

 
13 Comments

Posted by on June 18, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

13 responses to “For Jasmine and Gislinde

  1. WordsFallFromMyEyes

    January 19, 2014 at 6:11 am

    Just lovely, Ian. You’re so beautiful with such works.

     
    • The Emu

      January 27, 2014 at 9:16 am

      Thanks Noeleen, sorry for the delay in responding, have been in hospital for a while with a few problems, home now and adjusting to the heatwaves that we are experiencing, second heatwave coming up next week with the temps into the mid 40s.
      I am finding it hard to get enthusiastic with wordpress at the moment, mostly in writing, but I do read blogs.
      Wishing you well my friend. I still have a number of your blogs to read yet.
      Emu aka Ian

       
      • WordsFallFromMyEyes

        January 27, 2014 at 9:24 am

        Ian, it’s so good to hear form you. I have wondered how you are. I had no idea you’d been in hospital, but had wondered how you are.

        I do hope things are okay with your health.

        I understand what you mean re enthusiastic with posting. I do understand. Enjoy your break, & the best time to come back into it is when you feel it. Sincerely wish you well.

         
  2. Sue Dreamwalker

    June 30, 2013 at 10:28 am

    What a lovely compliment.. Gislinde has been a wonderful Blogging friend to me also Emu, Such a great tribute to them both…. 🙂

     
    • The Emu

      July 2, 2013 at 9:55 am

      Hi Sue, they are both lovely people in my friends list, we may not completely understand each others language but they still follow my blogs and always leave beautiful comments.
      Wishing you well dear friend.
      Emu/Ian

       
  3. Monica

    June 21, 2013 at 5:35 pm

    Ian, you have outdone yourself! What an international blog! Australian Alps with a U.S. country and Western flavor. I loved every second.

     
    • The Emu

      June 22, 2013 at 10:43 am

      Thank you Monica for taking the time to visit and comment on my blog.
      I love it when my posts bring pleasure to my friends.
      Wishing you much love dear friend.
      Emu/Ian

       
  4. jasmindamaro

    June 18, 2013 at 2:33 pm

    herzlichen 100000 mal danck ian du bist und bleibst ein romantiker dancke fuer ddie video big big kisssssssssssssss jasmin ic h dencke viel an ian der weit weg von mir lebt alles liebe xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx jasmin

     
    • The Emu

      June 19, 2013 at 11:56 am

      Thank you Dear Jasmine, I am so glad you enjoyed that song and the singer.
      Wishing you much love my friend.
      Emu/Ian

       
  5. penpusherpen

    June 18, 2013 at 1:14 pm

    wonderful tribute poem Ian, I’m sure much appreciated too by the pretty Fraulein’s xx

     
    • The Emu

      June 19, 2013 at 11:53 am

      Thanks Pen, the two Frauleins are the only two German friends I have in my site, both lovely people with lovely graphics.
      Regards
      Emu/Ian

       
  6. prenin

    June 18, 2013 at 12:38 pm

    I’ve never heard of Bobby Helms, but he is certainly a good singer! 🙂

    God Bless!

    Prenin.

     
    • The Emu

      June 19, 2013 at 11:50 am

      Hi Prenin, glad you enjoyed Bobby Helms singing, I have never heard of him either but I do recall Elvis singing a version of the same song.
      Regards
      Emu/Ian

       

Leave a Reply

 
Prenin's little page

Just another WordPress.com site

Dreamwalker's Sanctuary

A Sanctuary for Enlightenment and Peace through Poetry and Inspirational Thoughts as we go through Life

Blog Kunterbund von G.B.

http://zitroneblog.wordpress.com

Welcome to Sheila's Space

Just another WordPress.com site

Colline's Blog

A potpourri of thoughts and experiences

wonkywizard

philosophising on meaning of life

Pacific Paratrooper

This WordPress.com site is Pacific War era information

witlessdatingafterfifty

Relationships reveal our hearts.

Dreamwalker's Garden

Growing Your Own Produce and Remedies

