RSS
Link
01 Sep

Greetings to my WordPress friends.
It’s been a while since Aussie Ian and Aussie Emu have posted in wordpress, seems I fell victim to some sort of wordpress computer email glitch about 3 months ago.
I noticed I was no longer receiving email notifications of friends blogs and thus not being informed of what was being posted. I checked my wordpress settings and found they were all changed to no emails and no blogs, very unusual, changing one persons settings I could understand, but to find them all changed was a big question mark.
I meticulously changed them all, one by one, back to the original settings, that being immediate notifications of blogs and comments.Still nothing happening, I resorted to wordpress advice and was assured that notifications were being sent, still nothing, checked out Askimet to see if my mail was going into junk or spam, still nothing,but a lot more beer going down in frustration and a few less hairs on the head.
I have been commenting on friends posts but not sure if they are getting through, even ticking the little box beneath asking for replies, nothing still coming through on emails.
So if it appears I have disappeared off the wordpress radar that is the reason, hopefully, with perseverance, I will get the problem resolved somewhere down the track.
Now for an update on the happenings in my world.
Ana returned from her three months holiday in Chile where she was meeting her first born grandson Renato for the first time, he’s about 8 months now, my stepgrandson.
She had a great time getting to know him and meeting up with her son and partners family, and all her own family. Ana arrived back a little over a week ago with a few days jetlag up her sleeve, holidays over now so its back to normal for me, cut back on pizzas and beers hehe.
In October we are going to see a concert by Andre Rieu in Adelaide South Australia, for those that follow Aussie Ian you will notice I am an avid fan of Andre Rieu, so this concert is a dream come true.
Have a few plans in mind for the future, one is to go gold prospecting with my son down in Victoria, to some of the old derelict goldfields of the early days of Australia’s goldrush era, gold can still be found, recently a $120 thousand nugget was found by a guy fossicking.
Another project is to catch up with my brother down south and map and research some new Aboriginal archaeological sites he has discovered, he has been doing this for many years now and I tag along for photography and research, most of what is found has never been seen by white man or recorded, its a hard decision to either record it for publication or to leave it where it has been for thousands of years, turning history into tourism is something we both dont particularly like.
Later in the year Ana has plans for us both to return to Valparaiso Chile for a month, apart from a family visit but also to witness the spectacular Valparaiso new years celebrations, we have decided its time for me to learn the Spanish language so looks like its back to school for me, two reasons for learning is one, it will make it easier for me to mix in South America and secondly, it will enable me to know what she is calling me when I get home late from the local pub on a Friday night.
For those that recall some of my blogs last year at this time, I was blessed with three grandchildren all within the space of six weeks, two boys and a girl, well karma has come back to haunt me again, last night I was given the gift of a second grandaughter, and in a few weeks another grandchild is due. The beauty of my grandaughters birth last night is that it is the day before fathers day here, very important for us old guys to be able to relate important days to events for birthday reasons, hehe.
I attach two photographs for your perusal, my Chilean stepson Renato and my grandaughter Madison Margaret.
Wishing you all the best.
Aussie Ian aka Aussie Emu

My StepGrandson Renato, born January 14 2013 Santiago Chile.

My Grandaughter Madison Margaret, born 1145 hrs 31st August Mildura Victoria.
 photo IMG_6484_zps5379cf30.jpg

 
25 Comments

Posted by on September 1, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

25 responses to “Aussie Emu/Aussie Ian Update

  1. WordsFallFromMyEyes

    November 30, 2013 at 9:34 pm

    Gorgeous, gorgeous photos Ian. Oh, those eyes…. those windows….

    Can’t believe I missed this one. Interesting to read all you get up to. You definitely are active. Cheers!

     
    • The Emu

      December 4, 2013 at 10:58 am

      Hi Noeleen, she is a beautiful baby, had to check back which one I posted about as I have two grandaughters a few weeks apart, hehe,Christmas has been a bit of a financial stretch, 6 grandkids all born within 6 weeks of each other, no wonder I like to piss off and travel, will do it next year in the month of their birthdays.
      Keep smiling and writing girl.
      Emu

       
  2. Angel O'Fire

    September 23, 2013 at 11:35 am

    well things have been busy for an old emu havnt they? 😉 I am sure you do no and fully understand what Ana is calling you late on a Friday night but learning another language will be a good thing for you, as they say even an old dog can learn new tricks, so its time for you to sit up and shut up lol.

    Madison has me lost for words she really has caught this Angel’s eye, she is just beautiful, as are your other grandchildren but Madison really has a special glow about her whichI am sure you have seen for yourself. (like our little boots)

    Ironicly she has my eldest daughters first name and my Nana’s name as her middle name, she is one top girl Watson and totally gorgeous. (which is a lot coming from me because as you and i both know i am far from a clucky girl 😉 ).

    I must admit I did laugh to myself as I read this blog out loud to me other half, picturing you sitting in front of your computer swearing your little head off about the wordpress glitch telling the air around you and any passers by that this is it your quitting this crap on the computer as you found yourself getting more and more frustrated with loosing your settings. It made me smile and remember back to windows spaces and how frustrated you and I would both get when things did not run smoothly 😉 ah the good old days hey?

    It is so good to see you still writing and getting out and about around the place, living life as you should be and sharing it with someone you love and who loves you back.

    ((hugs)) emu I love ya always, and am always around the traps reading your blogs or seeing what you get up to on good old face book.

     
    • The Emu

      September 23, 2013 at 11:40 pm

      Hi Angel girl, lovely to hear from you, life has certainly been keeping me active lately, Cameron is great to have around, hes not yet 2 but has a great personality, him and I get on really well, little Madison Margaret is just learning to focus with her eyes but she can recognise my voice, ironic she has the same name as your eldest daughter and your auntys middle name, I wanted her called Clarabelle, haha, or if it was a boy, Marmaduke.
      Wordpress has really pissed me off, from not getting any email notifications I am now getting many but they are doubles of the same blogs from my friends, yes things have changed from the old my space days.
      Hope you are still keeping in touch with Sue.
      I am mucking around a fair bit with the bloody facebook crap, was only doing it initially cos I couldnt do anything with wordpress.
      Not sure what the rest of the year holds for the Emu, going to Adelaide next month to see Andre Rieu in concert, then down to Healesville in November for an army reunion, was hoping to go to Chile at the end of the year but money doesnt last long these days, bloody hell it never lasts long with me anyway.
      Hope all is well with you, Craig and Joshy.
      I follow you around your barnyard pictures, a great country hobby that keeps you down to earth.
      Cheers
      Catch ya around tha traps.
      Emu

       
  3. melanie

    September 6, 2013 at 3:10 pm

    sooo sweet and cute! I love babies… 🙂 My best wishes of health, joy and luck!
    Have a peaceful weekend and friendly thoughts from Toulouse, FRANCE… cheers! Mélanie NB

     
    • The Emu

      September 10, 2013 at 11:14 am

      Greeting my friend Melanie from Toulouse, thanks for the visit and comment, I am enjoying the lives of my grandchildren immensley, they really give me lots of pleasure and each has their own personality, a real joy to grow with them.
      Wishing you much love and happiness Melanie.
      Aussie Emu aka Aussie Ian

       
  4. giselzitrone

    September 6, 2013 at 11:15 am

    Wünsche dir ein schönes göückliches weekend liebe grüße von mir aus Köln Gislinde

     
  5. Renee Espriu

    September 3, 2013 at 3:09 am

    Such wonderful babies both. August is a good month to be born for she was born five days after myself. Thank you for sharing.

     
    • The Emu

      September 6, 2013 at 11:10 am

      Thanks for the visit and beaut comment Renee, she was born the day before fathers day which is handy for this old grandfather, easier to remember her birthday.
      Hope all is well in your life my friend.
      Regards.
      Emu aka Ian

       
  6. natswans

    September 2, 2013 at 2:27 pm

    Oh congratulations on your new arrivals little Beauties , something in the water up there ? me thinks. hope the WP gets sorted out for you be patient and don’t give up we would all miss you.
    Always found the Aboriginals very interesting stuff. Hope you enjoy your Spanish lessons good luck.
    Enjoy your week ahead.
    Hugs Sheila 🙂

     
    • The Emu

      September 6, 2013 at 11:00 am

      Hi Sheila, great to hear from you, thanks for the congrats on my new grandaughter, think I will spoil her a bit,WP is definitely not working well for me lately, think its time for professional advice, I have tried everything to no avail.
      Hope I have the patience for the Spanish lessons, although I am currently swearing at my WP site in many different languages.
      Wishing you well Sheila and a beaut weekend.
      Emu/Ian

       
  7. giselzitrone

    September 2, 2013 at 11:40 am

    So schöne Fotos lieber Emu von denen Enkelin ist so süss ich wünsche dir glück bei der Goldsuche und das du einen richtigen Goldklumpen findest ein guter Bericht war sehr schön zu lesen.Ich wünsche dir eine gute und Glückliche Woche und einen lieben Gruß von Mir.Gislinde

     
    • The Emu

      September 6, 2013 at 11:17 am

      Vielen Dank für Ihre schönen Kommentar Gislinde, sie ist meine zweite Enkelin ist, und ich glaube, ich könnte sie ein wenig zu verwöhnen, sie ist eine echte kleine Puppe.
      Wir wünschen Ihnen viel Glück mein lieber Freund und ein schönes Wochenende.
      Ian aka Emu

       
  8. auntyuta

    September 2, 2013 at 2:05 am

    Beautiful photos of your grandchildren, Aussie Emu. Between you and Ana the family seems to be growing a lot to keep you busy catching up with them in years to come.

     
    • The Emu

      September 2, 2013 at 2:46 am

      Hi Auntyuta, not sure if its the weather or the water up here, but last year we had three within six weeks and this year two within six weeks, next ones due soon, never realized how enjoyable it is to have grandchildren, they give me so much joy.
      Cheers.
      Emu/Ian

       
  9. wonkywizard

    September 2, 2013 at 1:19 am

    Emu,
    I have received all your comments and likes in my blog, but hardly read any of your new blog for some time. I hope it will ok now.

     
    • The Emu

      September 2, 2013 at 2:22 am

      Thanks for the feedback my friend, not exactly sure if any of my comments are getting through, hopefully the wordpress problem can be sorted out somehow.
      Beautiful sunny hot weather now here in Mildura and we are not really into Summer yet.
      Hope all is well in your life and wish you much happiness.
      Regards
      Emu/Ian

       
  10. prenin

    September 2, 2013 at 1:01 am

    Welcome home Ana!!! 🙂

    I’m so glad you had such a good time!!! 🙂

    Congratulations folks! 🙂

    New lives are all so welcome! 🙂

    Love to you and yours always! 🙂

    Prenin.

    P.S: WordPress seems to be working better, but I’m still using cut an paste to provide a backup should posting fail! 🙂

     
    • The Emu

      September 2, 2013 at 2:36 am

      Good afternoon Prenin, hot summery days here now, no more long pants or jumpers or coats.
      Thanks for the greetings to Ana, I will pass it on to her.
      Yes a new grandchild and another on the way in a few weeks time, breed like bloody rabbits here in Australia.
      Wishing you a great week mate.
      Regards.
      Emu/Ian

       
  11. cat

    September 1, 2013 at 4:04 pm

    So glad to hear from you , Ian, I already wondered was going on … Be well, eh, and stay in touch, if you can, my old Spaces friend …. don’t want to lose you …. ever … Love, cat. (http://catsruledogsdroole.blogspot.com/)

     
    • The Emu

      September 2, 2013 at 2:33 am

      Hi Cat, great to know you are still out there, I am still having probs with wordpress but slowly getting it sorted out, I tried a new angle in following your site, I added you to my email follower sites whereby I follow you, not sure if this will work but hopefully it will.
      Keep smiling girl and be happy.
      Cheers
      Emu/Ian

       
  12. Sue Dreamwalker

    September 1, 2013 at 2:20 pm

    Just loved your photos of your new arrivals and Congratulations again to both of you, They are gorgeous and Without repeating myself again as I left you a comment upon Emu’s Welcome Home Ana, and Good luck with that Gold prospecting, A Nugget that amount would be a worthwhile find…

    Love and Blessings to you both and those Aboriginal digs must be fascinating 🙂 Lucky you xox

    Take care and good luck with your back to school Spanish! 🙂 Hugs Sue xoxox

     
    • The Emu

      September 2, 2013 at 2:18 am

      Good afternoon Sue, thanks for the visit and congratulations on our grandaughter, I posted in both my sites as I am unsure what is going on with wordpress.
      Not sure Sue if I could actually stumble over a gold nugget but I am always out fossicking and hunting around in the right areas, the Aboriginal sites are extraordinary, I have many pics of them but cant publish them at this time as they are over 25000 years old and never been seen by white man, it is an interesting pastime.
      Wishing you well Sue.
      Regards.
      Emu/Ian

       
      • Sue Dreamwalker

        September 13, 2013 at 9:44 am

        I am envious of your Passtime with the Aboriginal sites Ian, Amazing it must be….. Wishing you a great weekend and hope alls well with the little ones 🙂 xoxox

         
        • The Emu

          September 13, 2013 at 10:21 pm

          Hi Sue, I enjoy my expeditions out into the mountains and bush with my brother researching Aboriginal archaeology, so far we have made some great discoveries over 25 thousand years old, we haven,t notified the authorities as we both agree it will see an influx of tourists, and the sites will lose their value to the ancient peoples, sooner or later though they will be documented in national archives.
          Summer weather has arrived here and the days are hotting up.
          Cheers
          Emu

           

Leave a Reply

 
Prenin's little page

Just another WordPress.com site

Dreamwalker's Sanctuary

A Sanctuary for Enlightenment and Peace through Poetry and Inspirational Thoughts as we go through Life

Blog Kunterbund von G.B.

http://zitroneblog.wordpress.com

Welcome to Sheila's Space

Just another WordPress.com site

Colline's Blog

A potpourri of thoughts and experiences

wonkywizard

philosophising on meaning of life

Pacific Paratrooper

This WordPress.com site is Pacific War era information

witlessdatingafterfifty

Relationships reveal our hearts.

Dreamwalker's Garden

Growing Your Own Produce and Remedies

