RSS

Summer Flowers and Advice

26 Sep

 photo IMG_6885_zpsbf9c4883.jpg
Greetings to all my WordPress friends.
Having been an avid gardener all my life, I try to keep my interest alive each year even though the body is starting to advise me that as the years go by, the body does age, a symptom of aging that I refuse to accept.
I like to plant the seasonal vegetables and fruits and take pleasure in watching their progress each day, Ana enjoys the garden as much as I do.
So far this year, we have planted mainly tomatoes, cherry tomatoes, big red and every other tomato species we could find. Its great on a hot summer morning here, to wander in the garden, giving the plants their early morning drink whilst munching on a cherry tomatoe, the sweet flavour lingering in your mouth as the delectable juices run down your chin, a gardeners delight.
Amongst the Tomatoes this year, after much advice from Ana, we planted Marigolds between the tomatoes, apparently this is an organic tip to keep away insects and the white butterfly scourge.
For two years running now, I have planted decorative flowers to brighten up the patio area, ( the smoking area much to Ana,s dismay ).
Both last year and this year they have bloomed in vibrant colours.
I attach a picture of this years delight for your pleasure.
Now to change the subject, I need some advise from any of my wordpress followers on a problem that I have with wordpress, as some of you might know I have had problems with wordpress over the last 3 months which seem to have been sorted out now. I wasn,t receiving notifications of blogs and friends were dropping off.
Now to my specific problem, before I post in wordpress, I use Office works to type my blog before posting, office works allows me to adjust the size of my lettering, change the colouring of the words and change the type, such as font, I like to use Ariel.
To clarify, I like to change my style, the size of the lettering first, as I think that a slightly larger lettering is better for those that may have a bit of a problem with eyesight.
I like to change the colouring of the wording, especially in my Aussie Ian space which is love and romance poetry, the colouring reflecting my mood, ie, if I am feeling hot and steamy in my love and romance poetry, then it becomes purple, if its peaceful and calm wording, then its either blue or some suitable colour.
The problem arises when I finish my draft, I copy it and go to wordpress to paste it into my site.
However wordpress reverts my blog back specifically to the basics of black, small lettering, like the writing in this blog at present.
So if any of my good friends in WordPress could enlighten me on what the solution is I would be grateful.
Summer is well and truly with us here now, beautiful days and warm summer nights.
I hope all my friends are in great health and wish you much love and happiness
Cheers
Aussie Emu aka Aussie Ian
http://aussieian2010.wordpress.com/

https://aussieemu.wordpress.com/

 
18 Comments

Posted by on September 26, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

18 responses to “Summer Flowers and Advice

  1. gpcox

    February 4, 2014 at 2:24 pm

    People are often surprised when they see that I go to into their archives, but I enjoy it – I want to see what they they were thinking then. [sort of looking back into history – don’t you think?]

     
    • The Emu

      February 5, 2014 at 8:51 am

      Agree with you, its quite interesting to go few a few old posts of friends, builds up a bit of a scenario or history of the person you are corresponding with.
      Regards
      Ian aka Emu

       
  2. Sue Dreamwalker

    October 3, 2013 at 4:26 pm

    Ian, lovely flowers and Ana is right with the marigolds, we have them along the rows near the Runner beans which helps stop black fly etc, and they are also good to eat the marigold petals too in salads for that added splash of colour…
    Now as to your problem of creating in WP, I always use Windows Live Writer… Connect it to your Blog theme, by using the intructions on Live Writer. and then if you are happy with the post you can then post direct by publishing it…
    If you have photos on WP uploaded you may want to add in you could also post to drafts then edit with your photos…

    When transferring old posts from our Window live days way back in our posts, you will see two tags at the top, VISUAL and TEXT… go to the edit in your old blog you want to repost and click Text, this will convert it into HML or what ever, you know what I mean LOL…. then paste in the new Post in Text not VIsual, and it will replicate your original post colour and Text content…

    Hope this is as clear as Mud.. xxxx

     
    • The Emu

      October 4, 2013 at 12:11 pm

      Hi Sue, thanks for the tips on marigolds in the salads, that department I will leave up to Ana, I finally did get my problem sorted out regarding copy and paste in the format that I used in office works, thanks to my good friend Clowie who is a friend of mine in wordpress, not sure if she is in your friends list in wordpress but a lovely person if you care to visit.
      Hoping you are well Sue and your Summer garden is coming to life.
      Have a great weekend Sue and lots of love.
      Emu

       
      • Sue Dreamwalker

        October 4, 2013 at 12:16 pm

        Glad to hear you got your problem with posting all sorted, and while your Summer is coming into flower ours is dying back into the Autumn months, as the weather has taken its turn for the wetter…. Enjoy your weekend also my friend… Love and Hugs to you both
        Sue

         
        • The Emu

          October 6, 2013 at 9:43 am

          Good evening Sue, Sunday night here and all is well around our place, the minister for war is watching TV and I am trying to catch up on the computer.
          Tomatoes are starting to take shape and Ana,s marigolds seem to be working in keeping the bugs away, daylight saving started today, that time of the year when we turn the clocks forward an hour, change the batteries in the smoke alarms and have a shower.
          Cheers
          Emu

           
  3. natswans

    September 26, 2013 at 4:08 pm

    FAB FLOWERS Emu lovely . I don’t use Officeworks never used it sorry.
    Do hope you can find a solution.
    Sheila 🙂

     
    • The Emu

      September 27, 2013 at 8:30 am

      Hi Sheila, thanks for the visit, my friend Clowie here on wordpress solved my problem for me with her advice, the problem was tormenting me for over three months, and I was losing interest in blogging as well as losing friends, hopefully all is resolved now.
      Hope all is well with you and wishing you a great weekend.
      Emu

       
  4. prenin

    September 26, 2013 at 10:18 am

    I was just about to suggest that!!! 🙂

    Smart man!!! 🙂

    I use OpenOffice for mine as I also make emails from the same file!!! 🙂

    God Bless!

    Prenin.

     
    • The Emu

      September 27, 2013 at 8:17 am

      Hi Prenin, Clowie, a wordpress friend of mine, gave me great directions to overcoming my problem, I followed her directions, and it resolved the damn problem that has been tormenting me for over three months now.
      Clowie has a great site based on her love of her dog, maybe worth a visit mate.
      Cheers and have a beaut arse tingling and toe curling weekend.
      Emu

       
  5. auntyuta

    September 26, 2013 at 7:49 am

    Thanks for attaching this beautiful picture. I am sure these flowers are a great adornment in your patio. Good to hear all your tomato plants are doing well. 🙂
    I sure would like to know too how you can transfer what has been written in OfficeWorks to WordPress without any changes being made by WordPress.
    Auntyuta

     
    • The Emu

      September 26, 2013 at 8:20 am

      Hi Auntyuta, I have attached a reply from my friend Clowie on how to copy and paste from Office works to wordpress, without changing anything, I havent tried it yet but will tonight.
      Cheers
      Emu
      I can help with your formatting difficulty.
      Go into the ‘visual’ tab on ‘add new post’.
      Just above the rectangle where you enter your post there are some formatting icons.
      The first one on the left is ‘B’ for bold. On the far right there is a square blob.
      If you hover over it, it will say ‘Show / Hide Kitchen sink’. Click on it and you get a row of formatting icons below the ones you already have.
      There are two that look like little clipboards, one with a ‘T’ and one with a ‘W’.
      You want the one with the ‘W’. Click on it and you get a little pop up. You paste your text into that and click ‘insert’ and it retains your formatting.
      The one with a ‘T’ gets rid of unwanted formatting.

       
  6. wonkywizard

    September 26, 2013 at 5:59 am

    the word should be refreshing … the fingers and the brain don’t always coordinate well.

     
    • The Emu

      September 27, 2013 at 8:04 am

      Dont worry mate, my fingers and brain are always running in different directions, I figured out you meant refresshing.
      Wishing you a great weekend mate.
      Cheers
      Emu

       
  7. wonkywizard

    September 26, 2013 at 5:58 am

    Flowers and plants around the house are always referring. They attract the bees and butterflies.

     
    • The Emu

      September 27, 2013 at 8:02 am

      Thanks for the comment my friend, glad you enjoyed my blog.
      Cheers
      Emu

       
  8. Clowie

    September 26, 2013 at 5:45 am

    The flowers look really pretty. My bipeds enjoy gardening, they like seeing things grow. I enjoy the digging part! I used to help with the weeding, but they say I pull up the wrong things!

    I can help with your formatting difficulty.
    Go into the ‘visual’ tab on ‘add new post’.
    Just above the rectangle where you enter your post there are some formatting icons.
    The first one on the left is ‘B’ for bold. On the far right there is a square blob.
    If you hover over it, it will say ‘Show / Hide Kitchen sink’. Click on it and you get a row of formatting icons below the ones you already have.
    There are two that look like little clipboards, one with a ‘T’ and one with a ‘W’.
    You want the one with the ‘W’. Click on it and you get a little pop up. You paste your text into that and click ‘insert’ and it retains your formatting.
    The one with a ‘T’ gets rid of unwanted formatting.

     
    • The Emu

      September 27, 2013 at 8:00 am

      Many thanks Clowie for your great help in sorting out my problem, it has been frustrating me for over 3 months now, I followed your directions and all worked out well, my friend here on wordpress, Auntyuta , had the same problem and copied your instructions and had great results as well, so you not only helped me out but one of my friends as well, thanks C

       

Leave a Reply

 
Peppermint

Wicked Commentary

Prenin's little page

Just another WordPress.com site

Dreamwalker's Sanctuary

A Sanctuary for Enlightenment and Peace through Poetry and Inspirational Thoughts as we go through Life

Blog Kunterbund von G.B.

http://zitroneblog.wordpress.com

Welcome to Sheila's Space

Just another WordPress.com site

wonkywizard

philosophising on meaning of life via poetry and prose

Pacific Paratrooper

This WordPress.com site is Pacific War era information

witlessdatingafterfifty

Relationships reveal our hearts.

Dreamwalker's Garden

Growing Your Own Produce and Remedies

