RSS

Adventures in Life

03 Oct

 photo IMG_2451_zpsdb547053.jpg

Back in 2009 I had the experience of living in Chile South America for three and a half months.

Not only did I live there, but married my wife Ana in the beautiful north Chilean port of Valparaiso.

A part of my very diverse life that has made me who I am today, an ex Vietnam veteran, ex soldier after 20 years service, an adventurer and wander in life, writer and somewhat a poet.

My life has had its ups and downs, but at the end of the day, we all shape our destiny, my destiny I leave to the winds of time, I have no regrets but much joy in my past.

Having said all that, one of my pleasures of my time in Chile was visiting the beautiful Santiago church, this church was amazing, the ceilings and statues were from a bygone era, reminicent of Michaelangelos Sistine chapel. I tried to capture the beauty with my camera, but did not do credit to the works.

I submit for your perusal some photographs of a beautiful Chileana church.

Wishing you all much love and happiness

Aussie Emu

 photo DowntownSantiago1068_zps318de4d8.jpg

 photo DowntownSantiago1057_zps6e3e29f6.jpg

 photo DowntownSantiago1048_zps17df7404.jpg

 photo DowntownSantiago1047_zps6ffdf2f0.jpg

 photo DowntownSantiago096_zps162ff15a.jpg

 photo DowntownSantiago095_zpse9a45e6f.jpg

 photo DowntownSantiago093_zps144a260b.jpg

 photo IMG_9515_zps3f7e6ef1.jpg

 photo IMG_9510_zps20a54d2b.jpg

 photo DowntownSantiago082_zpsbc1ba52c.jpg

 
32 Comments

Posted by on October 3, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

32 responses to “Adventures in Life

  1. Janae's Fallgirl Shepherd

    January 5, 2014 at 10:24 pm

    Very nice when have time to take for visiting amazing stories from time to time with so much more here than just in the newsfeed, otherwise would miss out on all the pleasant surprises posted from the soundtracks, archives of our lives. Happy New Year blessings always(“-“)

     
  2. Monica

    October 15, 2013 at 9:30 pm

    Love your picture and description. And your profile, too, Ian. Whew!

     
    • The Emu

      October 16, 2013 at 12:13 am

      Good morning Monica, lovely to hear from you and hoping all is going well in your life.
      Thank you for your lovely comment,pleased you enjoyed my post, you reminded me that its probably about time I returned to my profile and do a bit of an update, it was written many years ago, back in my younger days, hehe.
      Wishing you well Monica.
      Regards.
      Emu aka Ian

       
  3. When in New Places

    October 15, 2013 at 5:44 am

    Beautifully said, and lovely photos captured of the church.
    Somewhat poet? I disagree, my friend, you’re without a doubt a full blown poet.
    ~Andrea<3

     
    • The Emu

      October 15, 2013 at 10:54 am

      Thank you for taking the time to visit my space and comment on my writings, you are very kind with your comment.
      Wishing you much love and happiness my friend.
      Aussie Emu aka Aussie Ian

       
  4. melanie

    October 14, 2013 at 8:06 am

    simply wonderful, Emu… 🙂 A couple of friends spent 4 years in Chile as he was on mission at ALMA = Atacama Large Millimeter Array in the Atacama desert…(ALMA is an international partnership between Europe, the United States, Canada, East Asia and the Republic of Chile)

    they came back to France 3 years ago with unforgettable memories like you… 🙂
    – – –
    Thanx for your visits at my posts, my very best and have an optimistic week! 🙂 Cheers, Mélanie

     
    • The Emu

      October 14, 2013 at 9:31 am

      Thank you Melanie for taking the time to read my stuff and make a comment, my wife Ana lived in Antofagasta for a number of years and moved to Santiago, I think the ALMA you are talking about is where they established the largest telescope in the world, I think they have a car rally through the Atacama also, but there were objections to it as each year the Atacama comes alive with desert flowers.
      I was married in 2009 in the beautiful city of Valparaiso.
      Ana recently returned from a visit to Santiago and we are hoping to visit again in the near future.
      I dont seem to be getting notifications of your posts as I have had a lot of problems with wordpress lately.
      I am not sure if you know that I post on two sites, I leave you both links for interest.
      Wishing you much love and happiness in life.
      Aussie Emu aka Aussie Ian
      http://aussieian2010.wordpress.com/

      https://aussieemu.wordpress.com/

       
  5. giselzitrone

    October 10, 2013 at 12:16 pm

    Hallo lieber Freund Emu was für schöne Bilder,das war bestimmt eine schöne Zeit,ja das hätte ich auch gerne gemacht meine Träume waren auch immer in der Welt mit dem Wind zu reisen doch heute ist es zu spät man soll seine Träume Leben wenn man gerufen wird.Wünsche dir einen schönen Tag schönes Foto von dir.Lieber Gruß und Freundschaft.Gislinde

     
    • The Emu

      October 10, 2013 at 10:21 pm

      Guten Morgen Liebe Gislinde, Ich hoffe, Sie sind gut und glücklich, Zeit sicherlich nicht weg schnell in diesen Tagen, und leider wird es schwieriger, unsere Träume zu folgen.
      Aber wir können immer genießen unsere Träume.
      Ich bin froh, Sie genießen meine Bilder
      Wir wünschen Ihnen viel liebe meinen Freund
      Emu

       
  6. Sudisteaixnord Sudisteaixnord

    October 8, 2013 at 1:10 pm

    hi my link to my new fb, I’ve closed the 1st one,
    good day to you dear

     
    • The Emu

      October 9, 2013 at 11:41 am

      Hi Sudiste, am in the process of putting you in my facebook and deleting the old Sudiste
      Is that what you females call a makeover hehe ?
      Ian aka Emu

       
  7. WordsFallFromMyEyes

    October 5, 2013 at 5:03 am

    Wow, Ian, awesome travels, just awesome. Being ex service, I see you as a really capable man. 3 1/2 months in Chile – very interesting 🙂

    Love the pictures, too.

     
    • The Emu

      October 6, 2013 at 9:49 am

      Good evening Noeleen, thanks for the visit, hope your well girl.
      Get an extra hour tonight for a couple more beers due to daylight saving, nobody ever considered the extra cost to us guys, that appreciate a cool beer on a summers night with that extra hour.
      Wishing you a beaut week my friend.
      Emu

       
  8. natswans

    October 4, 2013 at 11:18 am

    So very Beautiful Ian, I think you done very well capturing this beauty.
    Hope you weekend is a good one.
    Sheila 🙂

     
    • The Emu

      October 4, 2013 at 12:01 pm

      Thank you Sheila for your beautiful visit and comment, its great to get lovely feedback on my efforts at poetry writing.
      Wishing you well Dear friend and a beautiful weekend.
      Emu

       
  9. sudiste1359

    October 3, 2013 at 9:02 pm

    Nice photos Ian, thanks for sharing,

     
    • The Emu

      October 4, 2013 at 11:40 am

      Thanks my Dear friend Sudiste.
      Wishing you a great weekend and lots of love.
      Emu

       
  10. prenin

    October 3, 2013 at 8:41 pm

    Beautiful place Ian! 🙂

    Thanks for sharing these! 🙂

    God Bless!

    Prenin.

     
    • The Emu

      October 4, 2013 at 11:39 am

      Thanks Prenin.
      Have a great weekend mate and good luck on the lottos
      Emu

       
  11. Sue Dreamwalker

    October 3, 2013 at 4:10 pm

    What beautiful artwork. When ever I go abroad I seek out the old churches just to view their artwork.. But I also so enjoy the top picture of You Ian, good to see you out in Nature again.. And for me what caught my attention was not the rugged look of your pose LOL 😉 but that dry stone wall,
    My Dad used to do a bit of Dry stone walling in the Derbyshire Dales, But look at the sizes of those stones.. doesn’t it make you wonder who lifted them into place?

    Enjoy your day xox Sue

     
    • The Emu

      October 4, 2013 at 12:15 pm

      Hi Sue, that stone wall is one of the many that my brother and I visited and photographed, we believe its over 25,000 years old and never been seen or recorded before, we have numerous other Aboriginal finds like that but until we are sure and correlate them all, then they will be submitted for archaeological records.
      Regards
      Emu

       
      • Sue Dreamwalker

        October 4, 2013 at 12:19 pm

        Brilliant … and it has to make you wonder at their skills, and we are talking way way back … Which often leads me to believe we have been advanced before and then taken those steps back as we start again….
        It really took my eye… 🙂

         
        • The Emu

          October 6, 2013 at 9:46 am

          Sometimes I felt I was standing in grounds that a far superior race had visited before.
          Would love to see through the eyes of those that built the structures way back then.
          Have a great week Sue.
          Regards.
          Emu

           
          • auntyuta

            October 20, 2013 at 3:10 am

            Have you planned to go soon on some more explorations with your brother?

             
          • The Emu

            October 22, 2013 at 3:49 am

            Cant do too much travelling these days Auntyuta, have a bit of a mans health problem, have to have a few tests and scans done, not feeling the best at the moment but want to be okay to see Andre Rieu in Adelaide tomorrow.
            Regards to Peter and wishing you both well.
            Emu

             
          • auntyuta

            October 22, 2013 at 6:16 am

            Sorry to hear about your health problems, Ian. Hope you can enjoy your trip to Adelaide anyway. Wishing you and Ana all the best! Love, Auntyuta.

             
          • The Emu

            October 27, 2013 at 10:12 am

            Hi Auntyuta, thanks for the comment, getting over my teeny weeny male problem, hehe and all is looking good.
            Cheers
            Emu aka Ian

             
          • auntyuta

            October 27, 2013 at 10:28 am

            Glad to hear there’s good news, Ian. Maybe Andre Rieu was very good for your well being!
            Greetings to you and Ana. 🙂
            Auntyuta

             
          • The Emu

            October 27, 2013 at 10:36 am

            He certainly was Auntyuta, I have wanted to see him for many years and finally my dream came true.
            Emu

             
          • auntyuta

            October 27, 2013 at 10:55 am

            That’s beaut that your dream came true, Ian. I bet Ana enjoyed it too. Greetings to both of you!
            Auntyuta.

             
  12. cat

    October 3, 2013 at 1:58 pm

    I’m sure Chile is always gonna be special for you, since you found the love of your life there … Bless you Ian and Ana … Always, cat. PS: Yes, I do know Whitehorse and the Yukon … was out there panning for gold many a time …

     
    • The Emu

      October 4, 2013 at 11:45 am

      Hi Cat, thanks for your welcome visit, Chile will always be a special place for me, the Andes, Valparaiso and the great diversity of lifestyle, Ana knows the Yukon and Whitehorse well, not sure whether the climate there is to my liking but then again, this old Emu can handle anything.
      Have a beaut weekend girl , and always remember to keep a smile on your dial.
      Emu

       

Leave a Reply

 
Prenin's little page

Just another WordPress.com site

Dreamwalker's Sanctuary

A Sanctuary for Enlightenment and Peace through Poetry and Inspirational Thoughts as we go through Life

Blog Kunterbund von G.B.

http://zitroneblog.wordpress.com

Welcome to Sheila's Space

Just another WordPress.com site

wonkywizard

philosophising on meaning of life via poetry and prose

Pacific Paratrooper

This WordPress.com site is Pacific War era information

witlessdatingafterfifty

Relationships reveal our hearts.

Dreamwalker's Garden

Growing Your Own Produce and Remedies

