RSS

Organic Gardening

30 Dec

Each October, Ana and I start planting for our summer crop of vegetables, not all our efforts bear fruit. We invested in a raised garden bed, a great idea for those keen gardeners who suffer from back problems, in my case a number of shattered discs.

Each year we plant lots of tomatoes, all types including lovely cherry tomatoes of different colours which are great tasting straight from the vine. Organically grown and these three pics give you some idea of our crop , so far this year

 photo IMG_8812_zpse7043285.jpg photo IMG_8814_zps788989f9.jpg

 photo IMG_8813_zpsb32dfbec.jpgThis last picture is of a little green frog that has been visiting our garden over a couple of months.

 photo IMG_8818_zps705f84e4.jpg

I have not really mastered my camera which I have had for about ten years now, my efforts at night photography and close ups have had varied results, I was pleasantly surprised at the outcome of my frog picture, the detail is quite clear.

Cheers and a happy new year to all my wordpress friends

Emu

 
54 Comments

Posted by on December 30, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

54 responses to “Organic Gardening

  1. Colin Wheadon

    February 23, 2014 at 8:52 am

    Hi Emu, trust this finds you and Ana well,

    can’t assist re photos inside of facilities. They are not allowed to be taken.

    Self wise, am still active with pace duly moderated, hazard a guess am not on my ‘pat malone’.

    Am here as my good wife suggested we seek a warmer clime, with a new challenge, new place & new culture on offer I said why not. 22c low to 30c high, average 26c day & night so very pleasant, humidity is fairly constant around 80% and mostly comfy. I contract services to government.

    Population here is 65% Chinese, 25% Malay with the remaining 10% persons from the rest of the world including us experiencing being the minority for a change. The main languages spoken here are Mandarin and Bahasa Malay, the culture is distinctly Asian with celebrations and many different festivals held throughout the year as community events reflecting those cultures.

    Crime is not a problem up here, you can take great comfort in going out and leaving your house and car unlocked, women and children can walk the streets alone and feel safe at any hour.

    Standard joke up here because the food is the most expensive anywhere in Australia is:-

    Man phones the Police and says: My house has been robbed!
    Police Officer says: What’s missing, PC, TV, maybe DVD?
    Man replies back: No, none of that cheap stuff, they took my tomato!

    Kind regards Emu,

    Col.

     
  2. Colin Wheadon

    February 20, 2014 at 5:56 am

    P.S. Emu, treasure your frog as we have no frogs whatsoever on Christmas Island, a quirk of nature, but we do have well over 40,000,000 land crabs some types nearly as big as a basketball.

     
    • The Emu

      February 22, 2014 at 2:53 am

      So many questions I would like to ask you Col, how did you end up on Christmas Island ? what work do you do there?, are you employed by the government?.
      The seafood on the island must be fantastic, just how many Asylum seekers can Christmas island hold before it sinks?.
      Are you involved in the Asylum seeker issue on the island.
      Damn nosy arent I, hehe
      hope you are doing well mate
      Emu aka Ian

       
  3. Colin Wheadon

    February 20, 2014 at 5:47 am

    Mouth is watering here Emu as just one of them big juicy tomatoes costs $4 each over here on Christmas Island so is a delicacy in its own right. Nematode worms in the ground here or the many feral chooks get everything you try to grow here just before it is ready to go. Keep up the good work and happy cropping. Col.

     
    • The Emu

      February 22, 2014 at 3:05 am

      Thanks for that update Col, I deduce you are still practicing your old army skills and still in the Medical/hygiene field.
      A fantastic experience first hand on the ground, I am a freelance journalist for one of our local papers, any chance of getting some first hand pics of the asylum seekers accomodation facilities , their ablutions, mess areas, recreational areas, phone call access areas, the pics we get here are obviously government censored, I would definitely not compromise you with identification.
      Then again on second thoughts, you are probably operating under the old law of the secrecy act.
      Either way Col, great to know you are alive and active.
      Cheers
      Emu aka Ian

       
  4. Sue Dreamwalker

    February 19, 2014 at 10:48 am

    I know I am extremely Late in dropping in on this post Ian,,, I bet all those lovely tomatoes are now eaten or made into some delicious relish.. Love your raised beds and Hubby is busy hoeing in-between the constant rain the allotments, And we have dug a trench for the beans to put our home Veg waste compost in… The fruit bushes are in, we got some various kinds as our Raspberry canes didn’t take we transplanted last year.. And I hope to get more strawberries off the off shoot transplants we did last year for this yrs crop… But everything is soggy at the moment… But we are lucky compare to some parts which have been extensively flooded since Christmas ..

    Hugs Sue xox

     
    • The Emu

      February 22, 2014 at 3:31 am

      All the tomatoes have gone now Sue, those cherry tomatoes just wouldnt stop, I think it was because they were organic, we kept giving them away, I tend to overplant them as I enjoy walking in the hot summer days and eating them directly.
      I have been warned on how many to plant next year.
      At the moment here with the extreme heat, we lose a lot of vegetables from thirst, no matter how much water we give them.
      Your climate is certainly the opposite to ours now, you would probably experience root rot and probably a bit of fungal disease.
      April I am going to plant Tulips, lots of them to make a display, not sure how they will go in our climate.
      Cheers Sue and a great weekend to you.
      Emu aka Ian

       
  5. Doris

    February 17, 2014 at 6:45 pm

    sorry to hear you have been ill Ian
    I hope you are feeling much better now
    stay safe & be happy my friend

     
  6. terrytrekker

    February 16, 2014 at 11:42 pm

    Wow! Such great pics! Lovely!

     
  7. Renee Espriu

    February 16, 2014 at 11:05 pm

    LOve tomatoes and these look simply delicious. Photos are spot on.

     
  8. Ajaytao2010

    February 15, 2014 at 8:42 am

    Nice reading about you

    Thanks for visiting my blog. Be in touch. Browse through the category sections, I feel you may find something of your interest.

    Happy New Year !!!!!!! and best wishes for you in 2014 🙂

     
    • The Emu

      February 15, 2014 at 12:09 pm

      Thank you for taking the time to visit and comment on my space.
      I have another space which you may like to visit,
      http://aussieian2010.wordpress.com/
      I look forward to following your interesting site.
      Kind regards
      Aussie Emu aka Aussie Ian

       
      • Ajaytao2010

        February 15, 2014 at 7:30 pm

        thank you dear 🙂

         
  9. giselzitrone

    February 13, 2014 at 7:19 pm

    Wünsche dir einen schönen Valetinstag,und alles Liebe und ein gutes und schönes Wochenende von mir liebe Grüße Gislinde

     
  10. Michiko Johnson

    January 28, 2014 at 7:55 am

    Hi Ian and Ana!
    lovely cherry tomotes has different colows of nice tasting your frog are good looking frog!!
    Michiko

     
  11. Michiko Johnson

    January 28, 2014 at 7:50 am

    Hello Ian!
    Happy New year to you with you and Ana!
    Lovely cherry tomatoes has different colours of nice tasting. your frog are good looking frogs!!
    Have a nice day!
    Michiko

     
    • The Emu

      February 5, 2014 at 8:58 am

      Thank you for the lovely comment and visit Michiko, tomatoes are all gone now and I am getting ready to start planting again,my little frog went home to his little pond and its all quiet now, the weather is extremely hot here still, with temperatures in the 40s.
      Wishing you much love Dear friend.
      Emu aka Ian

       
  12. penpusherpen

    January 21, 2014 at 2:49 pm

    Dropping by belatedly, Ian, but enjoyed the photo’s of your tomatoes.Hope they’re doing well. much luv to you ‘n’ Ana for 2014 xPenx

     
    • The Emu

      January 27, 2014 at 9:13 am

      Thanks Pen, sorry for the delay in responding, have been in hospital for a while with a few problems, home now and adjusting to the heatwaves that we are experiencing, second heatwave coming up next week with the temps into the mid 40s.
      I am finding it hard to get enthusiastic with wordpress at the moment, mostly in writing, but I do read blogs.
      Wishing you well my friend.
      Emu aka Ian

       
      • penpusherpen

        January 27, 2014 at 9:35 am

        Hope you’re recovering well Ian, but the heatwave must be so draining. The weather is causing so much damage and despair. Flooding mainly in England, but we’re seeing devastating pictures From America and Canada too. I don’t think there’s any Country which isn’t feeling the force of Mother Nature. Take care my friend. xx

         
  13. gpcox

    January 21, 2014 at 1:42 pm

    So…how IS the garden going now?

     
    • The Emu

      January 27, 2014 at 9:15 am

      Thanks my friend for the comment, sorry for the delay in responding, have been in hospital for a while with a few problems, home now and adjusting to the heatwaves that we are experiencing, second heatwave coming up next week with the temps into the mid 40s.
      I am finding it hard to get enthusiastic with wordpress at the moment, mostly in writing, but I do read blogs.
      Tomatoes are now all off the vine and frankly, I am sick of tomatoes.
      Wishing you well my friend.
      Emu aka Ian

       
  14. giselzitrone

    January 11, 2014 at 10:50 am

    Wünsche dir ein gutes und schönes Wochenende liebe Grüße an dich.Gislinde

     
    • The Emu

      January 27, 2014 at 9:31 am

      Thanks Gislinde, sorry for the delay in responding, have been in hospital for a while with a few problems, home now and adjusting to the heatwaves that we are experiencing, second heatwave coming up next week with the temps into the mid 40s.
      I am finding it hard to get enthusiastic with wordpress at the moment, mostly in writing, but I do read blogs.
      Wishing you well my friend.
      Emu aka Ian

       
  15. Colline

    January 11, 2014 at 12:08 am

    I am sure those rosy tomatoes are delicious! Love the look of your plants Ian.

     
    • The Emu

      January 27, 2014 at 9:19 am

      Thanks Colline, sorry for the delay in responding, have been in hospital for a while with a few problems, home now and adjusting to the heatwaves that we are experiencing, second heatwave coming up next week with the temps into the mid 40s.
      I am finding it hard to get enthusiastic with wordpress at the moment, mostly in writing, but I do read blogs.
      Wishing you well my friend.Tomatoes are now gone and I am moving into the area of growing tulips when the weather is right.
      Emu aka Ian

       
  16. When in New Places

    January 9, 2014 at 1:03 am

    Amazing garden, Ian! It looks so appetizing and inviting – I’d absolutely love to have a garden like that some day!
    Amazing detail on the frog, you’re not giving yourself enough credit when it comes to your photo skills – well done!
    ~Andrea<3

     
    • The Emu

      January 27, 2014 at 9:33 am

      Thank you my friend, sorry for the delay in responding, have been in hospital for a while with a few problems, home now and adjusting to the heatwaves that we are experiencing, second heatwave coming up next week with the temps into the mid 40s.
      I am finding it hard to get enthusiastic with wordpress at the moment,due to the illness and heatwaves, mostly in writing, but I do read blogs.
      Wishing you well my friend, and thank you for taking the time to read and comment on my blog
      Emu aka Ian

       
      • When in New Places

        February 3, 2014 at 5:19 am

        Wishing you lots and lots of healthy healing my friend. It’s great that you’re listening to your body and taking a break as needed.
        I can’t believe the intense heat – that’s incredible. I don’t think I’ve ever experienced mid 40 temperatures.
        Take care and get better soon!
        ~Andrea<3

         
        • The Emu

          February 5, 2014 at 8:55 am

          Hi Andrea, thanks for the visit and comment, very hard to have enthusiasm for the computer at the moment, attention span is short with the temperatures rising and falling in the 40s.
          I have a lot of friends posts to catch up on, but getting there slowly.
          Wishing you much love
          Emu aka Ian

           
  17. Clowie

    January 8, 2014 at 2:19 pm

    Your tomatoes are doing very well and that frog is really cute!

     
    • The Emu

      January 27, 2014 at 9:21 am

      Thanks Clowie, sorry for the delay in responding, have been in hospital for a while with a few problems, home now and adjusting to the heatwaves that we are experiencing, second heatwave coming up next week with the temps into the mid 40s.
      I am finding it hard to get enthusiastic with wordpress at the moment, mostly in writing, but I do read blogs.
      Wishing you well my friend. The tomatoes are all gone now for this year, I do thank you for taking the time to read and comment.
      Emu aka Ian

       
      • Clowie

        January 27, 2014 at 10:20 am

        I hope you recover quickly.
        It’s difficult enough to cope with extreme heat when feeling well – stay by the air-conditioning and take it easy!

         
  18. giselzitrone

    January 6, 2014 at 8:41 am

    Wünsche dir eine gute glückliche neue Woche lieber Gruß Gislinde

     
  19. natswans

    January 2, 2014 at 5:06 pm

    Didn’t you both do well, look at those Tomatoes Fan-tas-ic.
    Happy New Year Emu to you and all your family.
    Froggy is cute. Good capture as you say.

    Best Wishes
    Sheila

     
  20. WordsFallFromMyEyes

    January 1, 2014 at 1:43 am

    I love your garden, Ian – love it 🙂

    ~ Happy new year!

     
  21. gpcox

    December 31, 2013 at 2:26 pm

    HAPPY NEW YEAR!! How about sharing the crop?

     
  22. giselzitrone

    December 31, 2013 at 10:55 am

    Supper schöne Bilder ich wünsche dir ein gutes neue Jahr 2014 alles liebe und gute von mir liebe Grüße und Freundschaft.Gislinde

     
  23. dinkerson

    December 31, 2013 at 3:49 am

    The pictures look great, Ian. Wow, I could use some of that good weather. Things are kinda cold here, with lots of snow.

     
    • The Emu

      December 31, 2013 at 5:58 am

      Thanks for the visit and comment mate, now I need some advise if you dont mind, I use a canon 400d, I put my pics in photobucket and then copy paste them to wordpress, they appear distorted, I have tried sizing them down, still no good, I tried using the links but still no damn good, I thought that wordpress automatically adjusted them.
      Any advice greatly received.
      All the best for the new year mate
      Cheers
      Emu aka Ian

       
      • dinkerson

        December 31, 2013 at 6:28 am

        I’ve had similar trouble when using photobucket. It seems that photobucket displays a significantly lesser quality rendering of the images that I upload.
        Have you noticed this too?
        Beyond that, if I try to use the pictures directly out of photobucket with wordpress or even my printer, there is almost always distortion of one form or another, that wasn’t there when viewing the picture in photobucket.
        Even so, when I download the image back from photobucket to my computer, the quality is restored. and there is no distortion.
        My recommendation is to upload your photo files directly from your computer to wordpress.
        If you have uploaded the pictures to photobucket and deleted them on your computer, then download the pictures you want to use back onto your computer, and upload directly from your computer to wordpress.
        I hope this helps, Ian.

         
        • The Emu

          January 27, 2014 at 9:35 am

          Thank you my friend, sorry for the delay in responding, have been in hospital for a while with a few problems, home now and adjusting to the heatwaves that we are experiencing, second heatwave coming up next week with the temps into the mid 40s.
          I am finding it hard to get enthusiastic with wordpress at the moment,due to the illness and heatwaves, mostly in writing, but I do read blogs.
          Wishing you well my friend, and thank you for taking the time to read and comment on my blog and your advice, I am still researching all avenues to solve my problem, used to be easy once, but everytime you get used to a system some bastard comes along and stuffs it up
          Emu aka Ian

           
          • dinkerson

            January 28, 2014 at 3:09 am

            Hope you get well soon, Ian.
            I’ve wanted to tell these schmucks for some time to leave well enough the hell alone.

             
          • The Emu

            February 5, 2014 at 9:00 am

            Thanks for the comment mate, I am on the mend now, but its bloody hard to recuperate with the damn temperatures running in the 40s, two heatwaves in a row.
            Cheers
            Emu aka Ian

             
  24. wonkywizard

    December 31, 2013 at 1:16 am

    My tomato trees can’t even reach half the height. however, my sweet potatoes are growing well, under the earth!

     
    • The Emu

      December 31, 2013 at 6:01 am

      Greetings my friend, must have been natural ingredients that I added to my soil this year, they really did come up, I used a bit of dynamic lifter, I never have luck with potatoes.
      Wishing you all the best for the new year my friend.
      Emu aka Ian

       
  25. suzjones

    December 30, 2013 at 11:34 pm

    Great capture of your little friend. Looks as if you have a bumper crop there. 🙂

     
    • The Emu

      December 31, 2013 at 8:54 am

      Wishing you a great New year my friend.
      May it be prosperous and bring you much happiness and love.
      Warm New years eve here in Mildura, hope your weather is to your likeing.
      Cheers
      Emu aka Ian

       
      • suzjones

        December 31, 2013 at 8:59 am

        Warm (and a little muggy) but not too bad. It’s been overcast all day.
        Planning a quiet night playing space invaders here 😉

         
  26. prenin

    December 30, 2013 at 10:43 pm

    A good crop Ian! 🙂

    I’m amazed a frog can live in such hot conditions as you get, but it’s a charming little fellow!!! 🙂

    Happy New Year to you and Ana!!! 🙂

    God Bless my friend!!! 🙂

    Prenin.

     
    • The Emu

      December 31, 2013 at 6:58 am

      Good evening Prenin, New years eve here and damn hot, the little frog survived because the next door neighbour never cleaned his pool early this year, now its clean and the frogs departed.
      Hope your Christmas went well mate and we wish you a great happy and prosperous New year.
      This year you and I will both win the lotto.
      Cheers
      Emu

       
  27. cat

    December 30, 2013 at 10:25 pm

    Love to be there and harvest … greetings from winterland … Happy New Year, Ian and Ana … Love, cat.

     
    • The Emu

      December 31, 2013 at 8:49 am

      Hi Cat, always a pleasure when you visit, New years eve here now, and preparing to have a few beers, then see in the New year, no partys these days.
      Wishing you a great year my friend, may it bring you much happiness.
      Cheers
      Emu aka Ian

       
      • cat

        February 18, 2014 at 12:43 pm

        … while you having a few beers, I will be sneaking into you garden ans swile some of those tomatoes … omg, so good …

         

Leave a Reply

 
Prenin's little page

Just another WordPress.com site

Dreamwalker's Sanctuary

A Sanctuary for Enlightenment and Peace through Poetry and Inspirational Thoughts as we go through Life

Blog Kunterbund von G.B.

http://zitroneblog.wordpress.com

Welcome to Sheila's Space

Just another WordPress.com site

wonkywizard

philosophising on meaning of life via poetry and prose

Pacific Paratrooper

This WordPress.com site is Pacific War era information

witlessdatingafterfifty

Relationships reveal our hearts.

Dreamwalker's Garden

Growing Your Own Produce and Remedies

