RSS

Anzac Day 2014

26 Apr

 photo 577353_10150970051224152_672029151_13075301_1394390668_n_zps1d128253.jpgThe Anzac Day tradition

What is Anzac Day?

ANZAC Day – 25 April – is probably Australia’s most important national occasion. It marks the anniversary of the first major military action fought by Australian and New Zealand forces during the First World War.

What does ANZAC stand for?AANZAC stands for Australian and New Zealand Army Corps. The soldiers in those forces quickly became known as Anzacs, and the pride they took in that name endures to this day.

Why is this day special to Australians?

When war broke out in 1914, Australia had been a federal commonwealth for only 13 years. The new national government was eager to establish its reputation among the nations of the world. In 1915 Australian and New Zealand soldiers formed part of the allied expedition that set out to capture the Gallipoli peninsula in order to open the Dardanelles to the allied navies. The ultimate objective was to capture Constantinople (now Istanbul in Turkey), the capital of the Ottoman Empire, an ally of Germany.

The Australian and New Zealand forces landed on Gallipoli on 25 April, meeting fierce resistance from the Ottoman Turkish defenders. What had been planned as a bold stroke to knock Turkey out of the war quickly became a stalemate, and the campaign dragged on for eight months. At the end of 1915 the allied forces were evacuated, after both sides had suffered heavy casualties and endured great hardships. Over 8,000 Australian soldiers had been killed. News of the landing on Gallipoli had made a profound impact on Australians at home, and 25 April soon became the day on which Australians remembered the sacrifice of those who had died in the war.

Although the Gallipoli campaign failed in its military objectives, the Australian and New Zealand actions during the campaign left us all a powerful legacy. The creation of what became known as the “Anzac legend” became an important part of the identity of both nations, shaping the ways they viewed both their past and their future.

 photo 10151883_482257875240549_8253336828813919884_n_zps21078b20.jpg

My Grandson Jack, sign bearer leading the AATTV contingent ( Australian Army Training Team ) in Adelaide South Australia 2014

 photo 10257942_10154096287450074_5469746559850611196_n_zpsf9d99cee.jpg

My Grandson Cameron, at the 2014 Memorial ceremony Mildura Victoria

 photo 10250303_10154096287795074_3783190250587666612_n_zpsbc0c7c02.jpg

My Grandaughter Maddison, at the 2014 Memorial ceremony Mildura Victoria

 photo 10245435_10154096287635074_7597375930894524823_n_zps3c3ac40e.jpg

My Grandson Cameron, at the 2014 Memorial ceremony Mildura Victoria

 
32 Comments

Posted by on April 26, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

32 responses to “Anzac Day 2014

  1. kcg1974

    June 3, 2014 at 2:50 pm

    Such a proud, “Grandpa,” and an adorable grandson to be sure. A big hug to him from me. Love the blessed children. So lucky you both are to have one another!

     
    • The Emu

      June 23, 2014 at 9:49 am

      Thank you for your beautiful comment Kim, I admit I am very proud of my grandchildren, especially the two who live nearby, little Cameron and his sister Maddison, it saddens me that I cannot build up a rapport with my other four grandchildren, as they live interstate and we rarely see them.
      But the two I have around me here really give me much joy.
      Regards
      Emu aka Ian

       
  2. Sue Dreamwalker

    May 12, 2014 at 12:32 pm

    Brilliant Post Ian, Let us never forget, Your tribute I see is being carried on in your family tradition .. Loved seeing your Grandchildren again Ian.. My how they have grown.. Beautiful they are… And you must be so proud of Jack too 🙂 ..
    Lovely post Ian.. xox Sue

     
    • The Emu

      May 17, 2014 at 12:40 pm

      Good evening Sue, yes I am proud of all my grandchildren
      Just saddens me that I dont get to see four of them as regular as my two here where I live.
      Hard to build a bond when visits and distances are a barrier.
      Ana has asked me to refer a book to you that she thinks you may enjoy
      Its called Stroke of Insight by Jill Bolte Taylor, Ph.D.
      I wont try to give you a rundown on it, but feel sure if you google it that it will give a good overview
      Regards
      Ian

       
      • Sue Dreamwalker

        May 19, 2014 at 9:15 am

        Thank you Ian,.. Yes I am lucky in that my only Grandchild lives so close.. and I get to have her once a week and then visit regular.. .

        Thank Ana for the title of the book I am off now to Google it.. 🙂 xxx Hugs and enjoy your week my friend
        Sue

         
        • The Emu

          May 23, 2014 at 10:31 am

          Greetings Sue, lovely to hear from you, we have been travelling again, hunting up some new stories for my emu site.
          Havent seen my grandson or grandaughter for a week now and feeling lonely for them, Cameron talks to me on the phone in his language, and its beautiful the way he tells me everything, not that I understand but I do feel the love and joy in his voice with speaking to grandad.
          Cheers
          Ian aka Emu

           
          • Sue Dreamwalker

            May 23, 2014 at 10:34 am

            Its great isn’t it.. Even though we went through those baby years with our own children Ian.. Grandchildren are somehow that little bit different and very special 🙂 You paint a wonderful picture of Granddad’s Talk Time 🙂

             
          • The Emu

            May 23, 2014 at 11:13 am

            Thanks Sue, a lovely comment, Cameron and I talk a long time even in the garden, his smiles and laughter in his eyes tells me he understands what I am saying, its beautiful when we talk differently but the same language through eyes laughter and love.
            Ian

             
  3. Mélanie

    May 1, 2014 at 2:26 pm

    thanx, Ian for your deeply emotional post… my veyr best and respectful regards, Mélanie

     
    • The Emu

      May 2, 2014 at 1:12 am

      Thanks for a beautiful comment Melanie.
      Next year is the 100th anniversary of this historic wartime event.
      It is a major part of Australia’s history.
      Kind regards
      Emu aka Ian

       
  4. natswans

    April 28, 2014 at 3:36 pm

    Oh that’s wonderful Ian and so good for your Grand children to be there with you. Cameron has a cheeky look about him in a lovely kind of way.
    Thanks for sharing
    Sheila

     
    • The Emu

      May 1, 2014 at 10:39 am

      Hi Sheila, thanks for the lovely comment.
      You are quite correct with Camerons cheeky look about him.
      He is definitely a little cheeky guy in a beautiful endearing way.
      Girls are going to love him when he is older.
      Wishing you much happiness my friend.
      Ian

       
  5. anniejanae

    April 28, 2014 at 3:46 am

    Great generation seen so much history, long live the freedom hard fought for. Great pics of day out with the grands too!

     
    • The Emu

      May 1, 2014 at 10:43 am

      Thank you for the lovely comment.
      Hope you are in good health my friend, and life is treating you kindly.
      Wishing you much love and happiness.
      Ian

       
  6. auntyuta

    April 27, 2014 at 1:00 pm

    Good evening, Ian. Thanks for this post with all the beautiful pictures. You look great, but so do all your grandchildren.
    Cheers, Auntyuta

     
    • The Emu

      May 1, 2014 at 10:46 am

      Hi Auntyuta, thanks for the comment on my Anzac day with my grandchildren.
      A bit of a tradition now here in my family, the attend the parade and service with me.
      Hope all is well with you both, I am , as usual , behind in catching up on posts,
      but do get there eventually.
      Cheers
      Ian

       
  7. gpcox

    April 27, 2014 at 11:07 am

    A beautiful family at a memorable ceremony, Ian. It’s wonderful you could be there. Congrats to Jack for being the flag bearer!

     
    • The Emu

      April 27, 2014 at 1:21 pm

      Thanks for that great comment recognising my family and I on a memorable day.
      Anzac day here in Australia commemorates all conflicts, a few old Korean blokes still marching.
      As for my magic post, I took the hint from you about the clue being obvious, many beers and much swearing later
      I solved the trick, quite ingenious, was too busy looking for what was not there, instead of what was there.
      Cheers
      Ian aka Emu

       
      • gpcox

        April 27, 2014 at 6:41 pm

        Ah-ha! Then you should delete my previous answer to you.

         
  8. suzjones

    April 27, 2014 at 5:27 am

    What a delightful photo of you and Madison. I thought of you on Anzac Day and mentioned you in my post 🙂

     
    • The Emu

      May 2, 2014 at 11:45 am

      I am sorry for the late delay in responding Sue, I am late behind everything these days.
      Thank you for mentioning me in your post on Union, not many of my friends really know of my military background.
      Thanks also for commenting on my grandaughter Maddison, she is a little Princess and will be spoilt to the maximum.
      Hoping you are well and wishing you a beaut weekend my friend.
      Regards
      Ian

       
      • suzjones

        May 2, 2014 at 9:19 pm

        Thanks Ian. I am okay right now. And you are very welcome. 🙂

         
        • The Emu

          May 7, 2014 at 7:55 am

          Good to hear you are going okay Sue.
          Stay well and keep smiling.
          Ian

           
  9. Renee Espriu

    April 27, 2014 at 4:15 am

    Thank you for sharing and telling about this special holiday in your country. I always love to learn more about the things, if not for people like you, would otherwise not come to my attention. Those are some pretty sweet grandchildren you have, Ian. I adore my own and I can see you do likewise. I hope you and your family are well. Thank you for always stopping by my site, even though lately, I have not been able to attend to it as much as I would like. If you see this comment twice it is because I posted it by mistake on another of your posts. I am more tired than I thought as it is late here. 🙂

     
    • The Emu

      May 2, 2014 at 12:05 pm

      A pleasure to hear from you Renee, thanks for the lovely comments regarding my grandchildren.
      They certainly know how to manipulate their grandfather and tug at his heartstrings.
      I do hope you are keeping well, I must admit I am getting tired a lot more lately, maybe its the onset of winter,
      but I think old age is creeping up on my bones and tiring me out.
      Wishing you well Dear friend and a beautiful weekend.
      Regards
      Ian

       
  10. prenin

    April 27, 2014 at 1:29 am

    Thanks for this Ian.

    I knew Gallipoli was a disaster, but I didn’t know the details.

    God bless the honoured dead.

    Love the kids – looks like you have the touch!!! 🙂

    Have a great Sunday my friend!!! 🙂

    Prenin.

     
    • The Emu

      May 2, 2014 at 12:00 pm

      Hi Prenin, sorry for the delay in responding to your comment.
      The last two weeks seem to have been really occupied.
      Gallipoli was the greatest disaster and disgrace in Australia’s military history.
      We commemorate the day each year, and next year its the 100th anniversary.
      Dont think I have the touch with my grandchildren, more like that have the touch with me and know how to tug at my heartstrings.
      Have a beaut weekend mate.
      Regards
      Ian

       
  11. cat

    April 26, 2014 at 11:12 pm

    Handsome boys … smiles … thanks for this write up, Ian … Love, cat.

     
    • cat

      April 26, 2014 at 11:38 pm

      … by the way … Cameron has your eyes … smiles …

       
      • The Emu

        April 26, 2014 at 11:39 pm

        Yep definitely has his grandfathers lovers eyes, hehe
        Ian aka Emu

         
    • The Emu

      April 26, 2014 at 11:38 pm

      Good morning Cat, hope you are happy and all bushy tailed and bright eyed, morning here.
      Glad you enjoyed that posts with my grandsons and grandaughter, little Cameron never leaves my side.
      Have a great Sunday Cat, loved your last poem about the fireman.
      Cheers
      Ian

       

Leave a Reply

 
einfachtilda

Viele Bilder, wenig Worte!!

Peppermint

Wicked Commentary

Prenin's little page

Just another WordPress.com site

Dreamwalker's Sanctuary

A Sanctuary for Enlightenment and Peace through Poetry and Inspirational Thoughts as we go through Life

Blog Kunterbund von G.B.

http://zitroneblog.wordpress.com

Welcome to Sheila's Space

Just another WordPress.com site

wonkywizard

philosophising on meaning of life via poetry and prose

Pacific Paratrooper

This WordPress.com site is Pacific War era information

witlessdatingafterfifty

Relationships reveal our hearts.

Dreamwalker's Garden

Growing Your Own Produce and Remedies

