RSS

Aussie Emu Updates

21 Aug

Greetings my friends, I have been quiet on WordPress lately, taking time out to travel and enjoy the world.

I love the fun in travelling, every moment is a new experience, the feel of the wind flowing through the car as we cross some of the great Australian roads.

Open spaces with native trees, red earth soil and the occasional kangaroo and Emu crossing the roads in front of us.

We do a number of trips every few months now, from the cold mountain high countries to the oceans of South Australia.

Our next trip in a few weeks is off to Coober Pedy in South Australia, this town is renowned for the best Opals in the world, being an opal mining town, the houses are primarily built underground due to the heat of the desert, when you drive into the town it seems like something out of an alien movie, nothing but a landscape of TV aerials covering the landscape.

After some opal mining we are heading up to Ayers Rock, the centre of Australia, Ayers rock is normally known as Uluru in Aboriginal language, it is the biggest rock in Australia and hold great spiritual meaning and power for the Aboriginals.

So much for the first part of my blog, now I will change the subject completely, now I want to talk about Garlic. Yes the humble Garlic boys and girls.

I enjoy cooking and garlic plays a major part in all my dishes, it has great medicinal qualities, havent seen a dentist or a vampire in years since using it.

The problem with garlic is getting the skin off it, painstakingly peeling each clove and dicing it up.

Well I dont normally post other peoples culinary hints but in this case I make it an exception.

This video showed me how to skin garlic in virtually 20 seconds, I call it defrocking the garlic.

This method does actually work and is quite amazing, give it a try and it will save you much time if your a garlic lover.

Aussie Emu signing off

Stay well and keep smiling

 
52 Comments

Posted by on August 21, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

52 responses to “Aussie Emu Updates

  1. Sue Dreamwalker

    October 2, 2014 at 1:43 pm

    Ok Emu. you have my full attention for half an hour.. as I work my way back up through your posts.. I see I commented on this one 🙂 so onward and forward! 🙂

     
    • The Emu

      October 4, 2014 at 1:30 pm

      Good evening Sue, thanks for all your great comments and followings of my posts.
      It feels great to know that the small amount of my followers actually do appreciate my Aussie storys and points of interest.
      Cheers girl
      Emu aka Ian

       
      • Sue Dreamwalker

        October 4, 2014 at 1:32 pm

        Always enjoy your stories, travels, jokes and your poems Ian…. 🙂 Enjoy your evening.. 🙂 Sue

         
  2. Sue Dreamwalker

    September 3, 2014 at 2:43 pm

    Brilliant tip Emu.. and will look forward to seeing those tv Ariel’s in the opal mining town.. Love reading about your walk-abouts! 🙂

     
    • The Emu

      September 4, 2014 at 1:09 pm

      Hi Sue, nice to see you over here in Emu site, think we were just chatting over in the other site.
      Am thinking of closing down one site but they are both completely different, damned if I know what to do.
      Combine them both but then its like a merging of split personalities.
      Your guidance greatfully accepted.
      Emu

       
      • Sue Dreamwalker

        September 5, 2014 at 6:48 pm

        No do not close one Emu…. I love them both.. Funny as I was thinking of opening one just for my poems.. LOL.. but as I am always in catch up mode, think I would NEVER catch up lol.. But if two are really too much you could always open up a special Page on the one you were keeping to add either poems or your adventures etc.. and then direct your followers to the page in the post with a link.. Like I have with recipes and videos etc.. But I find people rarely explore pages, unless you’ve linked them to a post..
        Taking a break now and again is what I seem to be doing more and more.. as one time I was glued to the PC.. Now I know if people really enjoy reading what I write they will come and visit.. I have 500+ followers only around 30 are regular visitors.. So I try to visit back those who visit me.. And catch up with their posts.. Its hard some times as we try to please everyone and not ourselves.. So I am learning to please me more these days.. and feeling ok with that..
        Big Hugs.. Sue xox

         
        • The Emu

          September 8, 2014 at 4:30 am

          Thanks for the advice Sue.
          I make a point of answering all visitors who comment and visiting their blogs.
          I find that sometimes its a good idea to step back from the WordPress,and just see whats happening.
          This way I get a feel for the writers and some idea of the flow of their site.
          It doesnt worry me now if I dont get too many comments, once it did and I would try to write more
          but this is not a good idea I think,
          I take it now as the mood suits me.
          Cheers Sue.
          Ian

           
  3. giselzitrone

    September 2, 2014 at 9:20 am

    Danke lieber Emu liebe Grüße und einen glücklichen schönen Tag Gruß und Freundschaft Gislinde

     
    • The Emu

      September 2, 2014 at 12:47 pm

      Thank you Gislinde, may you have lots of love and happiness.
      Hoping you are feeling better.
      Emu

       
  4. sudiste1359

    August 31, 2014 at 6:09 am

    hi, the picture of the 1st wish’s birthday from “ella” on wp, it’s me some years ago,

     
    • The Emu

      September 2, 2014 at 8:48 am

      You are still as beautiful as ever I would think Sudiste.
      Laughing eyes and Dancing smile.
      Emu

       
  5. sudiste1359

    August 29, 2014 at 9:28 am

    I’ve sent the link of garlic on fb,

     
    • The Emu

      September 2, 2014 at 8:49 am

      Thank you Sudiste, Ana downloaded it.
      Regards
      Emu

       
  6. giselzitrone

    August 25, 2014 at 1:12 pm

    Danke lieber Emu wünsche dir eine gute neue Woche geht wieder gut mit der Gesundheit hoffe bei dir ist auch alles O.K. lieber Gruß Gislinde

     
    • The Emu

      September 2, 2014 at 9:12 am

      Hallo Gislinde, danke für deine schönen Besuch und Wünsche.
      In der Hoffnung, Sie bei guter Gesundheit und sind glücklich.
      Dienstagabend hier, wir sind auf den Weg zu Outback Australien zu besuchen nächste Woche, und einige interessante Bilder zu teilen.
      Meine herzlichsten Grüße.
      Emu aka Ian

       
  7. Monica

    August 24, 2014 at 11:28 pm

    Uluru – what a gorgeous word! Aboriginal language must sound like music. And then your dive into garlic. Yum. Happy travels, Ian!

     
    • The Emu

      September 2, 2014 at 9:08 am

      Hi Monica, yes Uluru is a lovely Aboriginal name, it actually refers to the land that Ayers rock is situated on.
      We are heading off to visit that site and others on our travels next week.
      We are looking forward to quite an experience on this adventure, Ana has never been into the Australian Outback, apart from watching the movie Crocodile Dundee.
      Regards
      Emu

       
  8. Mélanie

    August 24, 2014 at 8:29 am

    @”I enjoy cooking and garlic plays a major part in all my dishes, it has great medicinal qualities, havent seen a dentist or a vampire in years since using it.” – same here, Sir! 🙂 btw, spekain’ of vamipres, I was born in Romania, nicknamed “Dracula land”! 🙂
    * * *
    my very best and have a yummy week, young man! cheers, Mélanie

     
    • The Emu

      August 24, 2014 at 10:51 am

      Cat, another friend of mine here on wordpress is also from around the Romanian area I think
      I call her the Roma gypsy girl.
      Quite a history from the Romanian area, is that where Transylvania is with its eerie dark brooding castles, hehe.
      Regards
      Emu

       
      • Mélanie

        August 25, 2014 at 12:28 pm

        I did notice “Cat”… 🙂 I was born in Romania, but I’ve lived longer in France, my homeland… in Europe, we never use “Roma gypsy gal/boy” and Roma(Rome) is just the Italian capital… 🙂 Transylvania is the Western region of Romania, completely different from the other 2, as it used to belong to the Austrian-Hungarian Empire until 1918(Versaille Treaty after WW1…)
        * * *
        my very best and have a positive week! cheers, Mélanie

         
        • The Emu

          September 2, 2014 at 8:53 am

          Greetings Melanie, sorry for the delay in acknowledging your comment.
          Thanks for that enlightening brief on Romania, I believe it is a beautiful country.
          I think it also played a part in the second world war in some regards.
          Regards
          Emu

           
  9. lscotthoughts

    August 23, 2014 at 3:25 am

    Enjoy your traveling and Coober Pedy sounds fascinating with the houses underground. I’ve never been to Australia, but it remains on my bucket list waiting patiently to be checked off. 🙂 Great video, too! Have fun and we’ll see you when you return! 🙂

     
    • The Emu

      August 23, 2014 at 9:08 am

      Greetings my friend, hoping you are well and enjoying a beautiful weekend.
      Thanks for the visit and comment, hope you do make it to Australia one day, you wont be disappointed.
      We are heading off to Coober Pedy and Ayers rock in Alice Springs in a couple of weeks.
      Really looking forward to this adventure.
      Kindest regards
      Emu aka Ian

       
  10. giselzitrone

    August 22, 2014 at 12:49 pm

    Schöner Text und Video ich wünsche dir ein gutes und schönes wee-kend Lieber Gruß von mir Gislinde

     
    • The Emu

      August 23, 2014 at 9:38 am

      Dank Gislinde und ein schönes Wochenende, Sie auch.
      Kann es voller Liebe und Glück
      Emu aka Ian

       
  11. gpcox

    August 22, 2014 at 11:44 am

    Good going, Ian. Getting out there and touring your country is the best! Be careful around opal country – tunnels and all.

     
    • The Emu

      August 23, 2014 at 9:21 am

      Greeting gp, thanks for the visit and comment.
      We are looking forward to our trip in a couple of weeks.
      Will certainly be bringing back a few samples.
      Its great driving through that country, sparse, dry and dusty roads.
      You are quite right about the mines and tunnels up that way.
      A few unsolved murders and disappearances are known around that area.
      Tunnel rats are people who go down others mines at night, they end up with an outback solution.
      Cheers
      Emu aka Ian

       
      • gpcox

        August 23, 2014 at 9:35 am

        I knew a tunnel rat, USMC Sgt Vietnam by the name of Walter Morgan Bryant – best bud anyone could ever have.

         
        • The Emu

          August 23, 2014 at 9:42 am

          We had Tunnel Rats in Vietnam, worst damn job any soldier could have.
          Tunnels designed for the small stature of the Vietnamese,
          Recommend reading or googling Tunnels of Cu Chi, but think you might already know this piece of history.
          Your Walter Morgan Bryant is to be commended for his work, a rather onerous job and lonely job for a soldier.
          Regards
          Emu aka Ian

           
  12. sudiste1359

    August 22, 2014 at 9:17 am

    Hello Ian, Page of very special garlic over here, very nice taste with salad
    http://fr.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ail_fum%C3%A9_d'Arleux

     
    • The Emu

      August 23, 2014 at 10:02 am

      Thanks Sudiste, glad you enjoyed my garlic article, we love it and use it in all cooking.
      Sorry I couldnt read your link, however I passed it on to Ana as she is an expert in changing the languages on pages.
      Cheers
      Emu aka Ian

       
  13. suzjones

    August 21, 2014 at 10:36 pm

    Wow! What a quick and easy way to do things. I must admit that I buy my garlic already minced and in a bottle because it is easier.

     
    • The Emu

      August 23, 2014 at 9:04 am

      Hi Sue, thanks for the visit and comment.
      Glad you enjoyed my garlic tip, it really does work and was great fun doing it too.
      I was that excited I ran out of all the cloves in the house doing it.
      It has a very strong taste when we blended it, great for all cooking, even scrambled eggs.
      Hope you are well my friend and enjoying a beautiful weekend.
      Regards
      Emu aka Ian

       
  14. natswans

    August 21, 2014 at 5:40 pm

    Sounds exciting Ian you have a great time and that’s what it’s all about. Looking forward to your adventures Enjoy.
    garlic I cook with quite a lot to …Thanks for that. 🙂
    Take Care Sheila

     
    • The Emu

      August 23, 2014 at 9:16 am

      Good evening Sheila, hoping your well and enjoying a beautiful weekend.
      Thanks for the visit and comment, we are looking forward to our excursion in a couple of weeks.
      I love the travelling, always new sights and experiences.
      Glad you liked my garlic tip, it actually does work fast, now garlic is going into all our cooking.
      Kindest regards
      Emu aka Ian

       
  15. cat

    August 21, 2014 at 5:17 pm

    I’m a garlic lover myself … love the video … once you have them peeled like that … don’t dice them , but squish then flat with a big knife and … off into the pan coated with oil … I use grape seed oil … and … I swear everybody is thinking, you are done that meal already … smells sooo good … Love, cat.

     
    • The Emu

      August 23, 2014 at 9:36 am

      Good evening Cat, hope your doing well girl, glad you enjoyed my garlic tip.
      Was fun doing them all at the same time, I agree to squish them with a knife.
      Like your idea of grape seed oil, will give it a try.
      Big garlicy hugs to you Cat.
      Cheers
      Emu aka Ian

       
      • Mélanie

        August 24, 2014 at 8:32 am

        I’ve used grape seed oil for about a decade… here, in “old Europe”(LOL!) is considered to be THE healthiest one and I do belive it… 🙂 P.S. I use olive oil and pure lemon juice for all my salads…

         
        • The Emu

          August 24, 2014 at 10:47 am

          Hi Melanie, another friend on wordpress advised me about using grape seed oil too.
          Will certainly be checking it out for use in our cooking and salads here.
          We have a lote of oil here but its primarily olive oil.
          Cheers
          Emu

           
  16. kcg1974

    August 21, 2014 at 3:50 pm

    Opal mining? I love the ‘mystery’ of opals. Did you have any luck? And, garlic…thank you for the tips. I use garlic in so much of my cooking that your post will help me tremendously! 🙂

     
    • The Emu

      August 23, 2014 at 8:49 am

      Good evening Kim, thanks for the visit and comment.
      We are looking forward to our trip in a couple of weeks.
      Opal mining is truly an intrigueing venture, it is full of mystery.
      Never know what you will find underground, and the beautiful colours.
      Will take many pics.
      Glad you liked my garlic tip, it really amazed me, I felt like knocking on all the neighbours doors, volunteering to do it for free, hehe
      Wishing you a great happy weekend Kim.
      Regards
      Emu aka Ian

       
  17. Colline

    August 21, 2014 at 2:52 pm

    Enjoy your travelling Ian. I would love to see some. Photos of your trip so that I can do a bit of virtual travelling 🙂

     
    • The Emu

      August 23, 2014 at 8:44 am

      Good evening Colline, thanks for the visit and comment.
      We are heading off in about two weeks time and really looking forward to it.
      Will certainly be bringing back some Opal samples and great pics.
      I love travelling the great Outback roads, always something new to see and experience.
      Wishing you well Colline.
      Regards
      Emu aka Ian

       
      • Colline

        August 23, 2014 at 12:21 pm

        I have never been Ian and would love to visit through your photos.

         
        • The Emu

          August 23, 2014 at 10:46 pm

          I will take some more pics to show you the diversity and beauty of our country.
          Ian

           
  18. Eddie Two Hawks

    August 21, 2014 at 1:11 pm

    Wonderful post Ian! Always great to hear from you. Eddie

     
    • The Emu

      August 23, 2014 at 8:19 am

      Thanks Eddie for the visit and comment.
      I am still working on the problem as to why I am not getting any email notifications of your posts
      I think its to do with my setting, wishing you well my friend and a great weekend.
      Regards
      Emu aka Ian

       
  19. auntyuta

    August 21, 2014 at 12:37 pm

    It’s great that you travel around like this, Aussie Emu. Well, the shaking of the garlic is worth a try, I guess. Peter and I, we use a lot of garlic. It seems that our dentist is not the poorer for it. He actually gets quite a bit of money from us. Maybe we did not use enough garlic when we were younger.
    We saw David Gulpilil today in CHARLIE’S COUNTRY. Have you seen it? It is a Film by Rolf de Heer: A representation of Aboriginal Australia today.
    Best wishes to Ana and you, dear Ian.
    Uta

     
    • The Emu

      August 23, 2014 at 8:35 am

      G’day Uta, glad you liked my garlic tip, it really works great so now garlic is going into everything.
      We are looking forward to our next trip in a couple of weeks, outback Australia to Coober Pedy and Alice Springs and Ayers Rock, I love travelling, so much to see and experience.
      We havent seen Charlies Country yet but sounds worthwhile.
      I think David Gulpili was in a bad way when De Heer got him back on track and making that film.
      Cheers
      Emu aka Ian

       
  20. prenin

    August 21, 2014 at 11:56 am

    Thanks for the tip Ian! 🙂

    I used to peel the buggers by hand – now all I need are some decent bowls!!! 🙂

    Enjoy the travelling my friend!!! 🙂

    God Bless you both!

    Prenin.

     
    • The Emu

      August 23, 2014 at 8:17 am

      G’day Prenin, hope all is well with you, havent been around the WordPress much lately, getting ready for the next trip.
      I need to catch up on all my friends blogs to see how their doing, hope your weather is to your liking, ours is starting to warm up now in preparation for Summer, yours must be starting to cool down now.
      Have a great weekend mate.
      Emu aka Ian

       
  21. einfachtilda

    August 21, 2014 at 11:44 am

    🙂 ☼ ♥

     

Leave a Reply

 
Prenin's little page

Just another WordPress.com site

Dreamwalker's Sanctuary

A Sanctuary for Enlightenment and Peace through Poetry and Inspirational Thoughts as we go through Life

Blog Kunterbund von G.B.

http://zitroneblog.wordpress.com

Welcome to Sheila's Space

Just another WordPress.com site

Colline's Blog

A potpourri of thoughts and experiences

wonkywizard

philosophising on meaning of life

Pacific Paratrooper

This WordPress.com site is Pacific War era information

witlessdatingafterfifty

Relationships reveal our hearts.

Dreamwalker's Garden

Growing Your Own Produce and Remedies

