RSS

Vietnam Nostalgia

06 Sep

Greetings my friends.

Many years ago back in 1971 I was serving with the Australian Army Training Team in South Vietnam.

I found myself based on a small island off the coast of South Vietnam, called Lon Son Island.

My role there was as a Medical Advisor, and also a part of a team that became renowned for its role

in Australian Military history, for its role as the most highly decorated Australian Unit to have served in Vietnam.

Now the purpose of my post I would like to explain.

Sometime in the year of 1971, I found myself stranded in Nui Dat, Nui Dat was the base of all Australians in Vietnam, my little home town at that time of the war, was a little island called Lon Son, my home was actually an old French fort.

Somewhere in the mists of time, I got stranded at Nui Dat with no means to get back home to my little island off the coast.

With Australian ingenuity I decided to thumb a ride, much like a hitchhiker, I stood at the end of the tarmac, full pack, webbing and all accessories, shoulder holster, Armalite rifle and other paraphanalia of war.

Planes were taking off non stop , Choppers were taking off non stop, in actual fact history shows that out off Vietnam, a plane was landing and taking off every three minutes.

I watched as the planes departed, all on combat missions, all I wanted was a simple taxi lift back to my little island.

Out of the sky swooped the smallest helicopter I had ever seen, it was like a blown up ballon, it was a Bell Huey Chopper.

The pilot loaded me on board, a big American guy who had control of the Skies.

He asked me where I was goings and said no worries, it was on his way home.

A bubble helicopter with a great American Skypilot, was an experience.

He landed me back on Lon Son Island and assured me of any future help.

To this day that great man doesnt know how he helped me out, to this day this great man doesnt know the future my life would have on Lon Son Island.

He helped me when I needed it.

I would like to track down this great American chopper pilot and thank him for his assistance during this time.

Unfortunatley I have no way of tracking him down.

My good friend on WordPress, Gp suggested this blog.

The only way of finding my American friend is through the identification on his Chopper.

I attach some pictures of that time and the Chopper number plate, who knows, maybe somebody can fit the jig saw together.

Thank Gp

Aussie Emu

 photo IMG160_zps64f4f22d.jpg

 photo IMG7_zpse027f4cb.jpg

 
27 Comments

Posted by on September 6, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

27 responses to “Vietnam Nostalgia

  1. reocochran

    September 26, 2015 at 6:30 am

    I hope to hear someday about a connection to your experience and am so glad it was an American who helped you get back to your Island, Ian. This is sometimes the place to find loose ends and answers, too. Good luck in your search. Hugs, Robin

     
    • The Emu

      September 26, 2015 at 7:18 am

      Hi Robin, hope your weekend is going well, Saturday afternoon here.
      I was hoping to get some links to my past from a few friends on here, who post in the same vein.
      Miracles do happen, but 45 years is a long time, maybe it could happen.
      Cheers.

       
  2. suchled

    September 11, 2015 at 9:16 am

    I surely hope you find him.

     
    • The Emu

      September 11, 2015 at 9:33 am

      Don’t think I will be able to locate him Jim, have tried many American groups, but it’s virtually impossible.
      At least I still have the memory of a great guy.
      Cheers.

       
  3. Sue Dreamwalker

    October 2, 2014 at 1:47 pm

    I hope you can track him down too.. I would most welcome Google + it for you Emu.. but your share button only does WP and FB… if you do add google plus to your share list.. give me a shout and I will happily repost it on my google page and send it via email to others who may pass it along.. You never know the ripples may reveal your hero.. 🙂

     
    • The Emu

      October 4, 2014 at 1:34 pm

      I decided to let old memorys remain old memorys Sue, my friend on wordpress gpcox tried to track him down for me also.
      But after our recent visit to Coober Pedy I found that some memorys are best left to the past, particularly great memorys, as times change and what you recall bears no resemblance to how it was many years ago.
      Regards
      Emu aka Ian

       
      • Sue Dreamwalker

        October 4, 2014 at 1:43 pm

        That is so true Ian…. Keep in tact the memory you have .. But thank you for sharing.. 🙂

         
        • The Emu

          September 11, 2015 at 9:37 am

          Thanks Sue, hoping you are well and in good spirits, you have been quiet on Word press lately, do hope you are well.
          Also hope you weren’t offended on my recent comments regarding overseas activities, that subject can cause anguish.
          I was debating the same subject with Uta on my site, but had to stop, too much negative vibes involved.
          Cheers.

           
          • Sue Dreamwalker

            September 11, 2015 at 1:38 pm

            Bless you Ian.. No, in no way was I offended.. I have been away from being online for a while Ian.. I needed a blog break and just have deliberately not switched on the PC for about a week.. I needed to get some other things which were on the back-burner done, and just chill in the last of the Summer Sun.. So its been a productive week.. and I will share it with you all later.. 🙂 I hope, as I catch up with my lovely back log of comments.. 🙂 I am afraig my email list is over 1,000 and I can not even attempt at catch ups so will start a clean slate.. 🙂 I so hope you are healing well and that Ana is fine also ..
            Here’s to Love and Laughter 🙂

             
          • The Emu

            September 11, 2015 at 1:48 pm

            Wow, that is amazing Sue, over 1000 emails backed up is incredible, I panic out at 50.
            Good to know you have been having time out on other productive projects, maybe that’s what I need to do is get some time out to refresh the body and mind.
            Plaster comes off the arm next week, thank goodness, I keep thinking of how people with no arms cope, it stops me and makes me appreciate what I can do.
            We are both fine here Sue and send you much love.
            Cheers.

             
          • Sue Dreamwalker

            September 11, 2015 at 1:57 pm

            Good to know you will soon be out of plaster.. 🙂 yes I had 1,028 to be precise.. I have now whittled it to just over 780 🙂 Deleting my comment posts and multiples of posts who post more than one a day.. I have to sort those to come in weekly 🙂 Great you are both well.. Love and Hugs to you both xx

             
          • The Emu

            September 11, 2015 at 2:04 pm

            Thanks for that tip Sue about deleting multiple posts in a week, some people feel the need and security in friendship to post often.
            Goodnight Sue and best wishes for the weekend.

             
          • Sue Dreamwalker

            September 11, 2015 at 2:08 pm

            🙂 you too

             
  4. When in New Places

    September 12, 2014 at 4:33 am

    I really hope you find him Ian! That would be an amazing reunion!
    Those photos are incredible – I’ve said it before to you but I just can’t imagine what it would have been like during that time.
    I hope you have a positive update about this soon!
    ~ Andrea ❤

     
    • The Emu

      September 22, 2014 at 12:05 pm

      Hi Andrea, thanks for dropping by, I think my chances of finding that pilot are rapidly fading.
      Maybe some things are best left in the past, and just the memorys held onto.
      It was certainly a very interesting part of my life back in 70/71, I do have some great memories
      albeit intermingled with not so nice moments.
      My kindest regards.
      Emu aka Ian

       
  5. lscotthoughts

    September 8, 2014 at 2:24 am

    I hope you do find the missing puzzle piece, Ian…

     
    • The Emu

      September 8, 2014 at 3:31 am

      Thank you my friend, I think it may be a hopeless task.
      The only thing I have to go on is the Helicopter Number.
      Hoping you are well and sending my kindest regards.
      Emu

       
      • lscotthoughts

        September 8, 2014 at 3:34 am

        Well, all you can do is try and be content in knowing that you did, even if the outcome isn’t what you had hoped for (but, stay hopeful; you never know)…best wishes for a good week ahead!

         
        • The Emu

          September 8, 2014 at 5:18 am

          Thank you for your kind thoughtful comments.
          Sometimes some incidents in War are best left in memories.
          Maybe this is one case.
          Kindest regards and wishes for a beautiful week my friend.
          Ian

           
  6. reocochran

    September 7, 2014 at 8:02 pm

    This is an awesome story and so nice!

     
    • The Emu

      September 8, 2014 at 3:29 am

      Thank you for your visit and comment, I am glad you enjoyed my story.
      I look forward to following your adventures on your interesting site.
      You are welcome to visit my other site called Aussie Ian.
      Regards
      Aussie Emu aka Aussie Ian
      http://aussieian2010.wordpress.com/

       
  7. gpcox

    September 7, 2014 at 11:30 am

    Somehow my Follow link got disconnected – I’ve been looking all over for you! I’ve reclicked it as you can see…
    I’ve got an email into Bell Huey after I located on their site the C/N # 40183 for the copter made in 1968 and given the number 16869, Bell OH – 58A Kiowa
    you might want to look into this site – you know what you’re looking for better than I. I copied the photo of the young pilot and I’ll continue to look – what did you call him besides ‘Mate?”
    check here –

    http://www.vhfcn.org

    The Vietnam Helicopter Flight Crew Network

     
    • The Emu

      September 8, 2014 at 4:25 am

      Thanks for your efforts on my behalf gp.
      I am still going through the link you gave me.
      The guy in the picture is not actually the pilot, it is me.
      Cheers
      Ian

       
  8. gpcox

    September 7, 2014 at 10:11 am

    I should have come to this site first this morning, shouldn’t I? Do you have a name, nickname, unit #? I’ll try to get started from the info here. Best of luck, Ian!!!

     
    • The Emu

      September 8, 2014 at 3:55 am

      Good afternoon gp, still searching through the link you gave me.
      Unfortunately in the circumstances at the time, there was no chance for creating a friendship
      so hence no name, nickname or unit, even if there was, after all this time it would be hard for me to recall
      the full details of that brief meeting.
      Regards
      Ian

       
  9. prenin

    September 6, 2014 at 12:32 pm

    Hope you find him dude! 🙂

    God Bless!

    Prenin.

     
    • The Emu

      September 8, 2014 at 3:56 am

      I think it maybe a hopeless case Prenin
      All I have to go in is the Choppers registration number and a timeframe.
      Regards
      Ian

       

Leave a Reply

 
einfachtilda

Viele Bilder, wenig Worte!!

Peppermint

Wicked Commentary

Prenin's little page

Just another WordPress.com site

Dreamwalker's Sanctuary

A Sanctuary for Enlightenment and Peace through Poetry and Inspirational Thoughts as we go through Life

Blog Kunterbund von G.B.

http://zitroneblog.wordpress.com

Welcome to Sheila's Space

Just another WordPress.com site

wonkywizard

philosophising on meaning of life via poetry and prose

Pacific Paratrooper

This WordPress.com site is Pacific War era information

witlessdatingafterfifty

Relationships reveal our hearts.

Dreamwalker's Garden

Growing Your Own Produce and Remedies

