RSS

Coober Pedy Car Cam

26 Oct

The outback South Australian adventure now over and the stories posted, it was time to settle down and work out the photography of the trip.

We had invested in an on board video camera to record the trip, and any interesting aspects that may appear as we were driving, it was all trial and error as we progressed.

The camera we purchased was not that expensive, and quite good clarity and colour, the film had originally an eight hour turn around , that was to short for us so we invested in a memory card that could hold two days recording.

To download the film to a computer or notepad, you need to have to have a small attachment, which we have, but I neglected to include in the travelling equipment and left it at home.

This necessitated us shopping around for one at Port Pirie on the way back.

We were fortunate that our hosts at the Desert View underground motel had one we could borrow.

We had also invested in a tablet for downloading into via a USB. This was because not all motels or accommodation outback have computer facilities.

The next part of processing the film into a suitable form for Word press, was a headache, I tried everything from changing its properties to Photo bucket to Face book, finally tried google.

The only way was to upload to You tube but I needed an account, so I proceeded to open an account but was advised that I already had an account and was right to go, somewhere in my distant antique days I must have opened an account, what for I don’t know as I never used it.

So I selected a video clip to upload, its actually the cam recording of our driving into Coober Pedy and arriving at our underground accommodation, the Desert View motel.

To download the clip to You tube took over eighty minutes, so I have to work on an easier faster method, and also work my videos into the sequence of the journey.

I would appreciate any and all comments on my first efforts, either constructive or destructive.

At least the video clip will give you a short visual of the outback town of Coober Pedy and our accommodation.

Regards

Emu

 
17 Comments

Posted by on October 26, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: ,

17 responses to “Coober Pedy Car Cam

  1. gpcox

    October 27, 2014 at 11:05 am

    A great first-hand view of where you were – neat idea, Ian!

     
    • The Emu

      October 27, 2014 at 12:45 pm

      Thanks gpcox, still got a few wrinkles to iron out of the idea and streamline it.
      Cheers
      Ian

       
  2. giselzitrone

    October 27, 2014 at 9:19 am

    Wie schön ein schöner Beitrag und Video ich wünsche dir eine glückliche schöne neue Woche lieber Gruß und Freundschaft.Gislinde

     
    • The Emu

      October 27, 2014 at 12:52 pm

      Thank you for your lovely visit and kind comment Gislinde.
      It is my pleasure that you enjoyed my post.
      Best wishes
      Ian

       
  3. cat

    October 27, 2014 at 2:45 am

    OMG, you drivin on da wrong side of da road, Ian …. 🙂 … Love, cat.

     
    • The Emu

      October 27, 2014 at 4:44 am

      Cat Cat Cat, if I had driven on the same side of the road as in your country,
      that dirty big truck coming at me would have squashed me flatter than a pancake.
      We drivers have an agreement here, they stick to their side and I stick to mine.
      Anyway dont you realise that it is now law in all countries, that they all must
      learn from Australians, as of next year, all countries must drive on the left.
      Emu

       
      • cat

        October 27, 2014 at 5:36 am

        🙂 🙂 🙂

         
  4. CJ Wheadon

    October 27, 2014 at 12:50 am

    Howdy Emu, just watched the car cam video, enjoyed same and recalled good times past which shall be re-visited in the future, my favourite way to view the things I like the most in the world is firstly with a good attitude, visually wise it’s across the bonnet of a vehicle with a bull bar I can see sitting slightly proud and above the bonnet, provides good depth perception and a “sighter”, can also be used as a perch to sit on and have a beer at sunset when big desert ants about, fitted with a couple of blazing white hot spotties for the occasional night drives it becomes the ultimate accessory and allows one to become almost nocturnal.

    The quieter life and serenity of the outback was bought back to me sitting over here on my tropical island home, though I am heading off to work I have had a mini road trip and feel the better for it. Thanks for sharing, enjoy your day as you did your trip. Col.

     
    • The Emu

      October 27, 2014 at 5:35 am

      Good afternoon Sir Col, lovely to hear from you and knowing you are still on your tropical island living it up.
      Soon it will be an occasion for you to celebrate, Christmas, sorry bit of a sick joke.
      I am at my best looking across the bonnet and heavy duty bull bars, a couple of spotlighs sitting a little lower.
      Like you say, sitting on the roo bar at sunset, a beer in the hand and nothing for miles around but the evening breeze.
      I love night driving in the outback, next trip I want to go from Oodnadatta, Tennant creek, Katherine and right through the Territory, too bloody old to be sitting around wasting away.
      Maybe down the track Col we could swap places for a while, need a bit of a break, tropical island, palm trees coconut and rum and a few lovely girls to help.
      Keep smiling mate
      Cheers
      Ian

       
  5. prenin

    October 26, 2014 at 8:29 pm

    Looks like the desert has its own charm! 🙂

    God Bless! 🙂

    Prenin.

     
    • The Emu

      October 27, 2014 at 5:17 am

      Definitely has Prenin, and the old miners and Aboriginals all are part of the great outback lands.
      Their lives are intertwined, they both have a respect for the lands.
      Cheers
      Ian

       
  6. Sue Dreamwalker

    October 26, 2014 at 5:35 pm

    Sounds like you had quite a job uploading but your efforts Ian were well worth it.. The little video is very clear.. And love those white fluffy clouds in your sky.. We have forgotten what REAL clouds look Like.. 🙂 Thank you for sharing… I enjoyed your arrival my friend 🙂 Hugs Sue

     
    • The Emu

      October 27, 2014 at 5:11 am

      Hi Sue, yes it is a long process for a few minutes video, I just found that I can link the clips together to make it longer, but not sure if its a good idea just yet, as a lot of inbetween shots are quite boring, like 4 hours on the same stretch of road, I will post a few more and please give me some feedback as to viewers opinion.
      Cheers
      Ian

       
  7. Clowie

    October 26, 2014 at 2:26 pm

    It’s smooth and clear, I look forward to seeing more.

    I was a bit worried when you were driving straight at those trees at the end, ha ha!!

     
    • The Emu

      October 27, 2014 at 5:00 am

      Thanks Clowie, I think it turned out pretty clear, apart from the dirty windscreen.
      The trees were safe, I parked between them quite nicely.
      Cheers
      Ian

       
  8. Colline

    October 26, 2014 at 1:09 pm

    Watching the video was like being right there in the car with you. Eighty minutes is a long time to upload this video though.

     
    • The Emu

      October 27, 2014 at 4:58 am

      I admit Colline the car video is quite clear, but as you say, download time is too long.
      I have to investigate a quicker solution.
      Cheers
      Ian

       

Leave a Reply

 
Peppermint

Wicked Commentary

Prenin's little page

Just another WordPress.com site

Dreamwalker's Sanctuary

A Sanctuary for Enlightenment and Peace through Poetry and Inspirational Thoughts as we go through Life

Blog Kunterbund von G.B.

http://zitroneblog.wordpress.com

Welcome to Sheila's Space

Just another WordPress.com site

wonkywizard

philosophising on meaning of life via poetry and prose

Pacific Paratrooper

This WordPress.com site is Pacific War era information

witlessdatingafterfifty

Relationships reveal our hearts.

Dreamwalker's Garden

Growing Your Own Produce and Remedies

