RSS

Art

09 Mar

Art is not my forte, I am not a connoisseur of art but over the years and my travels, I have developed my own appreciation of art, and respect for those who bring nature and the world to life.

Over the years I have collected a number of paintings from various artists, which are proudly displayed on my walls.

I have three beautiful paintings from my Chilean Aunty, that were given to us back in 2004, Aunty Theresa, or in Spanish, Tia Theresa is a great South American artist, and comes from a long line of South American artists. Many of their family artwork hangs in the Museums in Santiago Chile.

I have a number of paintings from my good friend John Prowse here in Mildura, John and I have a relationship, through being both Vietnam Veterans. John has been recognised as an artist in his own right, in that later this year he will be hosting his own exhibition of his works.

So the subject of art brings me to the point of my post today, I keep an eye out for art that is outstanding and tells a story, abstract art has no appeal to me, sorry Picasso et ilk.

Last year on our travels to Coober Pedy outback South Australia, we visited the Umoona underground museum; therein we found a gallery of art.

One piece of art immediately attracted my eye, at first sight it appears to be two birds standing in water, I took a closer look, and with Ana we saw the story behind the painting.

The painting was done by the Australian artist, Helen Jenkins, whose works are known throughout Australia, and internationally renowned.

We purchased the painting and a couple of other works of hers, from the underground museum.

I would like to share with you, this beautiful painting, Helen paints with a true appreciation of the rawness of Australia.

I have divided the pictures into four parts, the first picture is the original painting, the other three are depicting the segments of the original.

This is the original painting by Helen Jenkins

This is the original painting but I have zoomed in to show you the Aboriginal warrior to the left of the birds. 

This zoomed in focus shows the top half of Helen’s painting, close inspection will show three Aboriginal warriors on the ridge behind.

This final segment of Helen’s painting depicts an owl and what appears to be, a blue wren.

Overall Helen’s painting is telling a story, a story of Aboriginal bygone days, the days the Aboriginals call the Dream time.

The warrior is part of a hunting party, his stealth can be appreciated by his closeness to the birds he has around him, he is stalking food around a billabong, or as some call it, a backwater or water hole.

Overall a picture that tells a great story, and beautifully painted by a great artist.

Cheers

Emu

 
23 Comments

Posted by on March 9, 2015 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , ,

23 responses to “Art

  1. Sue Dreamwalker

    April 5, 2015 at 1:15 pm

    Well seems like I am all caught up again my friend.. So loved my hour with you this afternoon.. And enjoyed viewing your photo’s of Chile, and old poems which My memory at times forgets… So it was like reading afresh…

    Just want to wish you and Ana.. a Wonderful Easter.. Your Sunday now will have gone.. But enjoy your week.. And thank you for catching up on Dreamwalker’s.. I so appreciate your visits Ian..
    Take care my good friend..

    Sue 🙂

     
    • The Emu

      April 6, 2015 at 2:22 am

      Thank you for taking the time to catch up on all my re-blogs Sue, not having too much to write about or the imagination for new works at the moment, I thought some re-blogs for the benefit of my new followers, I have about 43 sites I follow, but just checked and appear to have about 140 followers, they don’t comment or like but at least they are out there.
      Kind regards.
      Ian and Emu

       
      • Sue Dreamwalker

        April 6, 2015 at 8:19 pm

        I follow around 250 on and off Ian.. those who just press like and never comment I press like. and comment when something really grabs me. I have now 600+ but about only 30 are regular commentors.. But I hope those are reading, or they would have discontinue following by now 🙂 .. If Your poems reach the heart of just one Ian.. You will have made someone happy.. Like wise with my posts.. I no longer worry. And not like some who collect followers by following others so you will follow them.. I used to repay all new followers.. But I do respond to all who take the time to leave me a comment.. and check out their blogs.. 🙂 etc…. 🙂 Have a brill week..
        Sue

         
  2. natswans

    March 9, 2015 at 4:45 pm

    Wonderful painting and thank you for drawing us in. It is indeed a wonderful gift the lady has so rewarding . oh Anna is not well I do hope she is healing well Emu.
    Enjoyed these works of art.
    Sheila

    Best Wishes

     
    • The Emu

      March 10, 2015 at 4:38 am

      Hi Sheila, glad you appreciated my post on artwork, the artist is certainly renowned.
      I think appreciating art is not what you see, but what you dont see.
      Thank you for your kind thoughts for Ana, she has a few problems at the moment which we are working through.
      Kind regards and best wishes.
      Ian

       
  3. Monica

    March 9, 2015 at 3:23 pm

    Such a stunning painting, Ian, and I love that you have zoomed in to let us see it up close. It’s so great to find gems like this in unexpected places. We were once in a small town near Paris and wandered into a church museum. In the basement, we found what was labeled as “Sir Lancelot’s grave”.

     
    • The Emu

      March 10, 2015 at 4:35 am

      Hi Monica, what an amazing find, Sir Lancelot’s grave, was it a painting or an actual marked grave ?.
      I love discovering interesting pieces of history.
      Thank you for appreciating my artwork.
      Kind regards and best wishes.
      Ian

       
      • Monica

        March 15, 2015 at 7:16 pm

        It was a marked grave!

         
        • The Emu

          March 16, 2015 at 9:57 am

          What a discovery Monica, such ancient history.
          Wonder if it is the real resting place of Sir Lancelot.
          Regards.

           
          • Monica

            March 21, 2015 at 7:15 pm

            There was no sign outside indicating what might be within. I wonder how many places claim his bones.

             
          • The Emu

            March 22, 2015 at 7:13 am

            Think your right Monica, he may be resting in numerous places throughout Europe.
            Regards
            Ian

             
  4. RMW

    March 9, 2015 at 2:57 pm

    Gorgeous painting… I love any kind of water fowl…. do you know what kind of birds these are… I enjoyed the back story and the details. Thanks.

     
    • The Emu

      March 10, 2015 at 4:17 am

      Greetings my friend, glad you appreciated my intricate painting.
      I believe the birds are actually called Ibis.
      Kind regards and wishing you well.
      Ian

       
  5. einfachtilda

    March 9, 2015 at 11:47 am

    Wunderschöne Bilder ❤ Mathilda

     
    • The Emu

      March 10, 2015 at 4:18 am

      Thank you Mathilda, I appreciate your visit and comment.
      Kind regards and wishing you well.
      Ian

       
  6. prenin

    March 9, 2015 at 11:30 am

    Lovely painting Ian! 🙂

    Amazing what you miss just by looking at the two Herons!!! 🙂

    God Bless!

    Prenin.

     
    • The Emu

      March 10, 2015 at 4:28 am

      Hi Prenin, glad you appreciated my efforts in the art world.
      I think a good painting is not in what you see, but what you don’t see.
      These birds are called Ibis, much like Herons.
      Cheers.
      Ian

       
  7. Mélanie

    March 9, 2015 at 11:10 am

    very nice, Ian… I’m NOT “an art expert”(LOL!) either, I simply know what I like and what I dislike… 🙂 I totally agree with the French painter Nicolas Poussin:“Le but de l’art, c’est la délectation…” – “Arts’s main purpose is to be delightful…” 🙂
    https://myvirtualplayground.wordpress.com/2014/12/08/le-but-de-lart-cest-la-delectation-nicolas-poussin/

     
    • The Emu

      March 10, 2015 at 4:31 am

      Hi Melanie, yes I agree with Nicolas Poussin, art must be pleasing to the eye.
      I actually judge art on not what I see, but what I don’t see, that way I develop a feeling from what the artist is portraying.
      Kind regards and best wishes.
      Ian

       
  8. Sue Dreamwalker

    March 9, 2015 at 10:32 am

    Wow, Ian, the painting is outstanding and I can see why you wanted to gaze upon it every day.. If you had not zoomed in on all the minute details such as the 3 warriors I may have missed them I did see the Large face and the small bird above his head..and of course the owl.. But I was busy looking at the owl, on the main picture I then missed the small bird beneath..

    A breathtaking work of art, which makes me want to get my own paint brushes back out.. 🙂
    Have a Great week Ian.. and sending Love to Ana, and Hope she is healing well.. x Hugs Sue

     
    • The Emu

      March 9, 2015 at 11:07 am

      Get your paintbrushes out Sue, the beauty of this painting is in what you don’t see.
      It’s on our wall with special lighting, purely for the fact to bring the background up front, still people can only see two birds, not the whole picture, I love it, the three Aboriginal warriors are the actual integral part of the picture, they tell the story.
      Cheers.

       
  9. gpcox

    March 9, 2015 at 10:27 am

    So, all the interest in Aboriginal art, etc runs in the family, I should have known. You’re very lucky to even have your Aunt’s paintings! You’re an all-round artistic fella, Ian!

     
    • The Emu

      March 9, 2015 at 11:19 am

      Thanks gp,not so much artistic mate, got kicked out of school in form three by the Christian Brothers, because I was illiterate and wouldn’t amount to much because I couldn’t read or write, two year apprenticeship as a bootmaker, packager in a winery where I still live, decorated for PNG service and Vietnam.
      Apart from that, three marriages.
      Pretty boring life, hobbys collecting Vietnam Zippos and concentrating on a few beers now and then.
      Keep smiling mate.

       

Leave a Reply

 
Prenin's little page

Just another WordPress.com site

Dreamwalker's Sanctuary

A Sanctuary for Enlightenment and Peace through Poetry and Inspirational Thoughts as we go through Life

Blog Kunterbund von G.B.

http://zitroneblog.wordpress.com

Welcome to Sheila's Space

Just another WordPress.com site

Colline's Blog

A potpourri of thoughts and experiences

wonkywizard

philosophising on meaning of life

Pacific Paratrooper

This WordPress.com site is Pacific War era information

witlessdatingafterfifty

Relationships reveal our hearts.

Dreamwalker's Garden

Growing Your Own Produce and Remedies

