RSS

A Great Australian Artist—-Prowsie

20 Mar

I want to tell you a story about a friend of mine, his name is John Prowse, but he is commonly known as Prowsie. Prowsie and I have been friends for over twenty years now, and have mutual interests and backgrounds in common. John and I are both Vietnam Veterans, John served with 7 RAR, Royal Australian Regiment, where he was a forward scout. I served with AATTV, Australian Army Training Team as a Medical advisor. John is not a tall guy, which may explain his selection as forward scout, short guy with greying laid back 60s balding hair, little older than me, still thinks he’s bopping along with Jukeboxes. Great personality and loves drinking Jim Beam whiskey and addicted to poker machines. We both meet up each fortnight for a drink and chat at our local club, we do talk on many subjects, including Vietnam experience, but mainly about our hobbies post Vietnam. John is an Australian well known artist, and I, a mere poet of the pen, we were recently discussing our war years and how we saw ourselves in hindsight. We agreed on two points, one was John would have made a great War artist, and I, a War journalist. At the end of the day here in Mildura, our home town, John is an acclaimed artist, some of his works have been forwarded overseas and sold, his first Australian exhibition is to be held here later this year, and are predicted to reach high prices on the international stage. His forte is portraits, which I admire, but he refuses to listen to my advice, that his expertise on canvas lies in exposing the landscapes and beautiful world of nature, but then again, who am I to criticize Leonardo Da Vinci. I would like to thank John for giving me the privilege of being part of his art exhibition this year, John painted a portrait of me and deemed it worthy of inclusion in his gallery. Below is a selection of my old army mates work, the final painting is his interpretation of myself. Well done John

Myself Vietnam 1970John Prowse Vietnam 1970s

 
22 Comments

Posted by on March 20, 2015 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , ,

22 responses to “A Great Australian Artist—-Prowsie

  1. Sue Dreamwalker

    April 5, 2015 at 1:01 pm

    WOW! what beautiful Art Ian… Your friend John has real talent.. And He has captured you just right in my opinion.. I am so impressed with all his work… His talent is good on both portrait and landscape.. I guess he feels more comfortable with portraits… Like I always feel more comfortable painting animals.. 🙂

    Brilliant work.. and do let us know how his art exhibition went too.. 🙂 Amazing work.. Thank you for sharing.
    Sue

     
    • The Emu

      April 6, 2015 at 2:44 am

      He is good Sue, and a good Vietnam Veteran friend, he is frequently noted in our papers here for his paintings, and I get frequently mentioned through my various articles and stories I get published. We have a beer together each fortnight to catch up, looking back on our Vietnam time we reckon he should have been a war artist, and me a war correspondent.
      Cheers
      Ian

       
  2. natswans

    March 24, 2015 at 5:48 pm

    Oh my goodness what beautiful work , that is a self portrait I guess ? I like the one of you also, I think I agree Emu . Lovely simply lovely.
    Best Wishes
    Sheila 🙂

     
    • The Emu

      March 25, 2015 at 1:42 am

      Thank you for commenting Sheila, my friend is quite a good artist, but I wish he hadn’t made my nose look so long.
      I think I look like one of those American Condors, well he thinks its worthy to be included in his exhibition.
      Regards.
      Ian

       
      • natswans

        March 28, 2015 at 10:48 am

        Rightly so great Artist 🙂

         
        • The Emu

          March 28, 2015 at 10:56 am

          Thanks Sheila, he certainly is good with the brush.
          Hoping your enjoying a beautiful weekend my friend.
          Kind regards.
          Ian

           
  3. suchled

    March 22, 2015 at 8:11 am

    The old tractor and the old cream separator. These are great. The last one is a good painting but he could have chosen a better subject matter – like and old river red gum or a study of the long bar at the working men’s club.

     
    • The Emu

      March 22, 2015 at 8:59 am

      He is reluctant to steer away from portraits, I have advised him his landscapes and still life are great.
      The longest bar at the Workys disappeared well over twenty or thirty years ago, Pokies and TAB replaced it, a bloody shame.
      Used to be six deep during picking season,and more so when the six oclock swill was in vogue.

       
      • suchled

        March 22, 2015 at 9:07 am

        I remember six o’clock. The Mitre Tavern in Bank Place off Collins street in Melbourne.

         
        • The Emu

          March 22, 2015 at 9:11 am

          Not a place I recall in my army days but recall a few places around that area, I remember a great Hattery just down from Flinders station under the bridge area, there was also a pub around there called the early opener, believe it opened at six in the morning for shiftworkers knocking off from somewhere.

           
          • suchled

            March 22, 2015 at 9:18 am

            For wharfies. It was in Flinders street right down near Spencer St.

             
          • The Emu

            March 22, 2015 at 9:32 am

            That’s the one, when I saw it last there was a wire cage around the till.

             
          • suchled

            March 22, 2015 at 9:34 am

            Yep.

             
  4. auntyuta

    March 20, 2015 at 7:31 pm

    Thanks for this post, Ian. I Love it, and I love Prowsie’s paintings! Great work!
    Have a wonderful weekend!
    Cheerio, Uta

     
    • The Emu

      March 21, 2015 at 4:00 am

      Thanks Uta, yes Prowsie is a good painter and army mate, just wish he would move away from painting portraits, then again, he’s the artist.
      I have a few of his landscapes and they are exceptional.
      Wishing you and Peter a great weekend.
      Regards.
      Ian

       
  5. gpcox

    March 20, 2015 at 6:37 pm

    Absolutely amazing – he even captured you perfectly!! From now on, when I see a Jim Beam bottle, I’ll be thinking of you two.

     
    • The Emu

      March 21, 2015 at 3:58 am

      Thanks gp, think he could have shortened my hooter a little though.
      Cheers
      Ian

       
  6. prenin

    March 20, 2015 at 12:58 pm

    God he’s good!!! 🙂

    God Bless my friend!!! 🙂

    Prenin.

     
    • The Emu

      March 20, 2015 at 1:03 pm

      Thanks mate, but he drinks Jim Beam like its going out of style while he’s painting, no different to me writing while drinking gallons of piss

       
  7. einfachtilda

    March 20, 2015 at 12:28 pm

    Wundervolle Bilder ❤ Mathilda

     
    • The Emu

      March 20, 2015 at 12:33 pm

      Thank you Mathilda, my thanks for visiting and commenting.
      Kind regards from Australia.
      Ian

       

Leave a Reply

 
Prenin's little page

Just another WordPress.com site

Dreamwalker's Sanctuary

A Sanctuary for Enlightenment and Peace through Poetry and Inspirational Thoughts as we go through Life

Blog Kunterbund von G.B.

http://zitroneblog.wordpress.com

Welcome to Sheila's Space

Just another WordPress.com site

wonkywizard

philosophising on meaning of life via poetry and prose

Pacific Paratrooper

This WordPress.com site is Pacific War era information

witlessdatingafterfifty

Relationships reveal our hearts.

Dreamwalker's Garden

Growing Your Own Produce and Remedies

