RSS

A Glimpse into the Past

19 May

This morning promised to be a bright sunny day, wanting to escape the computer for a while, I decided to take a stroll through one of our city’s landmarks, namely an old homestead.

The Old Mildura Homestead stands as one of Mildura’s most significant links to the past, with its unique position in the district’s history and folklore, located on the banks of the Murray River, the homestead in my pictures has been recreated from the original built in 1847. Browsing around the homestead it was great to see remnants from the past, the Shearing sheds, the old stables with their horse drawn carts, the watering trough, and the old mangle that many a pioneer mother used to turn. An old pedal piano that had found its way into the shearing sheds, finally the old outback timber Dunny that complemented all bush homes in the 1800’s

According to local legend the people who inhabited this region prior to the arrival of Europeans called this place Mildura, mil meaning water and dura meaning rock.

Enjoy my pictures of a look into my city’s pioneering past.

Click on the pictures to enlarge

Cheers

Emu

 

 
42 Comments

Posted by on May 19, 2015 in Uncategorized

 

Tags:

42 responses to “A Glimpse into the Past

  1. GP Cox

    June 8, 2015 at 5:56 pm

    off topic – here’s another site for you to check out after you’ve had your coffee…. If you would prefer I quite bringing you these links, please say so – I find it helps.

    http://patrickbieneman.com/2012/02/16/the-vietnam-army-helicopter-pilot/

     
    • The Emu

      June 14, 2015 at 5:01 am

      Thanks for that link gp, I enjoy looking up the links and seeing different versions of different events and times.
      I have great respect for the Chopper pilots, I recall a night insertion and we were flying in a line of choppers.
      The only light visible was a red one on top of each chopper, it looked like a line of tracer bullets, those chopper blades were inches apart between each chopper, those pilots were, every one of them, heroes.
      I recall hot insertions under fire and hot extractions under fire.
      Thanks for the link mate.

       
      • GP Cox

        June 14, 2015 at 10:11 am

        No problem. Thanks for sharing that story, they deserve to be remembered.

         
        • The Emu

          June 17, 2015 at 5:38 am

          After your story gp, one feels reluctant to identify a hero, when all said and done in the face of adversity, all allied nations and inhabitants are heroes, whether in or out of uniform, civilian workers, wives, mothers, daughter, all who contributed in their own way.
          Getting carried away there mate, but you will understand what I am trying to convey.
          Cheers.

           
  2. cindy knoke

    June 5, 2015 at 8:29 pm

    Oh I love old historical homesteads. They get my imagination going. Great photos too! Thanks for posting~

     
    • The Emu

      June 6, 2015 at 2:14 pm

      Hi Cindy, glad you appreciated my old Homestead pictures, I love them, like you they tell a story, I have so much imagination with them, old days, settler woman and washing machines, old pianos that would have played in ancient days, probably played songs from the war years , like we’ll meet again, Knees up Mother Brown, White Cliffs of Dover, Auld Lang Syne. All from back in the days when life was beautiful.
      Now you got me teary eyed and nostalgic Cindy.
      Kindest regards
      Ian aka Emu

       
  3. Michiko

    May 30, 2015 at 5:06 am

    Hi Ian!
    I havig a my golfing for few years this years has more another special moments an excellent good day was my golfing.I know the better I feel the less likely for my dody. also my brain meeds time to warm up…
    Have a good day!
    Michiko

     
    • The Emu

      May 30, 2015 at 11:52 am

      Hi Michiko, it is lovely to know you are doing well, you must have some beautiful memory’s of playing golf.
      My Dad loved golf but I never got to like it.My Dad told me to never give up golf until you get a hole in one.
      Maybe Michiko you still have to get that hole in one, hehe.
      Kindest regards Dearest Friend.

       
  4. Michiko

    May 30, 2015 at 12:59 am

    You had all Mildura’s of your pictures I think beautiful to me..Theses day to us to me more lovely thing to me!
    Michiko

     
    • The Emu

      May 30, 2015 at 1:49 am

      Good morning Michiko, so lovely to hear from you, hoping you are well Dear friend,
      glad you enjoyed my Mildura pictures, I love the old pictures.
      Hope the weather is not too cold for you, soon it will be the start of Summer again,
      and you can enjoy golf again.
      Wishing you much Love and Happiness Michiko.
      Kind regards.
      Ian

       
  5. Sue Dreamwalker

    May 29, 2015 at 11:45 am

    It’s always great to walk into the past.. I bet these buildings could tell a tale or three 🙂 I can almost feel the busyness of the place, the dust, the sound of horses in an out of the barn.. The old piano being played while everyone was having a ‘knees up’ and that old washer woman stood by the mangle as the little boy stood turning the handle 🙂
    Nostalgia.. Great share .. Many thanks Ian for taking me along with you on your stroll.. 🙂
    Enjoy your weekend my friend ..
    Sue

     
    • The Emu

      May 30, 2015 at 1:56 am

      Hi Sue, after reading your great descriptive comment, I had the beginnings of a book forming in my mind.
      I even came up with a title and concept, The Life and Times of Sarah Flanagan, an early immigrant to Australia from the Emerald Isle, marries a station owner, a convict settler whose grandfather came out from England, himself a convict who was transferred from one of the Hulks off the Thames.
      A story of hardship and survival, through droughts, floods, bush fires and Aboriginal wars.
      See what your comment has done to my imagination Sue, hehe.
      Kind regards
      Ian and Emu

       
      • Sue Dreamwalker

        May 30, 2015 at 9:27 am

        Brilliant Ian… You should set the Book in motion!… Did you get the series from BBC2… ‘Banished’?… its a new series of convicts sent to Australia… Brutal and raunchy ,,, but an eye opener to what those poor first settlers went through in the prison camps when they first landed and were guarded by soldiers…

         
        • The Emu

          May 30, 2015 at 11:42 am

          Hi Sue, glad you enjoyed my idea, must admit the idea is actually based on my family history, Mums name was Flanagan, from county Cork, and Dads was Felton from England, apparently jewelers, their great grandparents did settle on a station called Nangeela, bit of convict deportation in Dads side. Maybe it would make a bit of interesting reading.
          Thanks for taking an interest Sue.
          Cheers.

           
          • Sue Dreamwalker

            May 30, 2015 at 1:40 pm

            You should do what I did with Summerland of Lost Dreams Ian… and write a few chapters.. Although those chapters I wrote are still archived 🙂 I never did get to finish the story.. Maybe now I have retired on a cold winter I will complete it.. 🙂

             
          • The Emu

            May 30, 2015 at 1:50 pm

            Hi Sue, got a few chapters written on another book, its called The Cleansing, and is based in 2035, it’s a political view of the Islamic world in
            the future, highly political and dangerously reminiscent of events, in the Second World War German era.
            A subject I never thought I would write about, but my book unfolds each day in the news as though I am being plagiarized in advance.
            Don’t leave your writings in archive Sue, one thing I have learnt from you is that your words are intended for others ears, not the dusty corners of an archive.
            Now one last question, I was told to get a ghost writer, how do I get a ghost writer Sue.
            Cheers.

             
          • Sue Dreamwalker

            May 30, 2015 at 1:59 pm

            Thank you for the compliment first of all Ian on my abilities to write.. Your book about the future sounds very interesting… And have you not thought we are often given insights into our future?? and so it does not surprise me that your chapters are coming to life in 2015..
            The world in 20 yrs time, I do not as yet wish to envisage.. I shall be 81 if I am lucky 🙂 and like my dear elderly Aunt who passed away in Jan of this year, despaired at the state the world had become with violence and ill treatment of others..

            As for a Ghost writer, I know they exist.. I think even a blogging friend said she was one, but for the life of me can’t remember which one 🙂 .. Now you could Google Ghost writer..
            They are Freelance writers who help sort out the chapters, prove-read etc I Think!!! … But some of these Book publishing on line websites should have some information about them I am sure..

            What do I know.. I only speak to real Ghosts!!! Hahaha.. 🙂 ❤

             
          • The Emu

            May 31, 2015 at 12:33 am

            I will be older than you in twenty years time Sue, it is easy to succumb to despair when we look at how the world is evolving.
            Maybe my insights are based on lessons from the past, with learnt wisdom I think one can learn to predict certain events which may unfold in the future.
            Thanks for the points on Ghost writers Sue, I will investigate further, your lucky to have a live in Ghost writer Sue, hehe.
            Cheers.

             
          • Sue Dreamwalker

            May 31, 2015 at 12:29 pm

            Yes aren’t I just 🙂 hehe.. ❤

             
          • The Emu

            May 31, 2015 at 1:05 pm

            For some reason you just reminded me of that great movie Beetle Juice, hehe.

             
          • Sue Dreamwalker

            May 31, 2015 at 1:13 pm

            LOL… haha… so long as I look like Geena Davis 🙂 and not Michael Keaton as Beetlejuice LOL.. 🙂

             
          • The Emu

            May 31, 2015 at 1:18 pm

            All’s good Sue, you were the receptionist or the young girl singing Day oh.

             
          • Sue Dreamwalker

            May 31, 2015 at 1:20 pm

            That’s OK then 🙂 haha….. LOL… Loved that song… 😀

             
  6. giselzitrone

    May 28, 2015 at 10:56 am

    Schöne Fotos lieber Gruß und einen schönen Tag Gislinde

     
    • The Emu

      May 29, 2015 at 3:01 am

      Greetings Dear Gislinde, I appreciate your visits and comments.
      I do hope you are in good health and send you much love.
      Kind regards.
      Ian

       
  7. lscotthoughts

    May 22, 2015 at 10:52 pm

    Wonderful photos, Ian, and an interesting walk down history lane, too…have a great weekend!

     
    • The Emu

      May 23, 2015 at 3:25 am

      Glad you enjoyed my pictures from the past Lauren, I do like the nostalgic aura they give.
      Kind regards.
      Ian

       
  8. reocochran

    May 22, 2015 at 3:51 am

    The worn wood and the surroundings have their stories to tell. Amazing photos, Emu!

     
    • The Emu

      May 22, 2015 at 5:24 am

      I love the smell of old world charm Robin, they tell story’s of times when life was not under pressure, when family’s, really held together, and the world seemed to have simplicity and peace.
      Wishing you much serenity Robin.

       
      • reocochran

        May 30, 2015 at 4:35 pm

        I appreciate your kind words and wishing me to have serenity, dear Emu. Thanks and sending same wishes back to you. Older wood and tools fascinate me, along with family stories and traditions. Smiles, Robin

         
        • The Emu

          May 31, 2015 at 12:18 am

          I love anything that shows our past history, makes me think of simpler times and old world values.
          The photographs preserve those magical days in time.
          Kind regards.

           
  9. Monica

    May 20, 2015 at 4:15 pm

    beautiful piano, too

     
    • The Emu

      May 21, 2015 at 1:22 am

      For some reason old pianos have a nostalgic look about them.
      They make me think of family moments, in years gone bye.
      Regards.

       
      • Monica

        May 21, 2015 at 7:57 pm

        I agree, Ian. Pianos are such beautiful things.

         
  10. davidprosser

    May 19, 2015 at 2:23 pm

    Great shots Ian.
    Hugs

     
    • The Emu

      May 20, 2015 at 6:36 am

      Thanks David, appreciate your time in visiting and commenting.
      Cheers.

       
  11. prenin

    May 19, 2015 at 12:30 pm

    Lovely shots Ian! 🙂

    I remember my grandmother had a cast iron mangle – we were never allowed to touch it for fear of crushed fingers!!! 🙂

    The place looks like it was recently abandoned and the owners would soon be back to claim it! 🙂

    God Bless my friend for this blast from the past!!! 🙂

    Prenin.

     
    • The Emu

      May 19, 2015 at 12:57 pm

      Thanks Prenin, I love the old fashioned pieces of history, I remember a mangle too but not that big.
      The one in the pic is cast iron and looks bloody heavy, the old pioneer mothers were a strong breed I think.
      Cheers.

       
  12. GP Cox

    May 19, 2015 at 10:19 am

    I thrive on seeing all these old relics and rustic buildings!! Great morning stroll, Ian!

     
    • The Emu

      May 19, 2015 at 10:20 am

      I love the old stuff gp, reckon I was born in the wrong century.
      Cheers.

       
      • GP Cox

        May 19, 2015 at 10:23 am

        That has always been in the back of my mind for me as well!

         
        • The Emu

          May 19, 2015 at 10:41 am

          I think I might have been reincarnated from the Edwardian European times.
          Nice to think of better times when life had meaning and values.

           

Leave a Reply

 
Peppermint

Wicked Commentary

Prenin's little page

Just another WordPress.com site

Dreamwalker's Sanctuary

A Sanctuary for Enlightenment and Peace through Poetry and Inspirational Thoughts as we go through Life

Blog Kunterbund von G.B.

http://zitroneblog.wordpress.com

Welcome to Sheila's Space

Just another WordPress.com site

wonkywizard

philosophising on meaning of life via poetry and prose

Pacific Paratrooper

This WordPress.com site is Pacific War era information

witlessdatingafterfifty

Relationships reveal our hearts.

Dreamwalker's Garden

Growing Your Own Produce and Remedies

