RSS

Sands through the Hourglass

09 Sep

Yesterday marked another event in my sojourn through this ever changing life, like sands through the Hourglass another year trickled by into my 65th year.

I had a busy itinerary, so prepared for an interesting and productive day. First on the agenda was a visit to my acupuncturist who is also my Physiotherapist, in her offices I undergo the titillating enjoyment of needles inserted down my spinal area.

Twenty years in the Army has left me with compressed fractures of the spine, namely the discs, these occasionally cause severe muscle spasms down my back, I still have full mobility, but have to be aware of every movement I make, the acupuncture does relieve the symptoms, without it I end up on pain killers which can be addictive.

After a brief interlude in my exciting birthday agenda, the next port of call was to my local GP, this was a lengthy consultation dealing with a couple of matters.

First one was an inspection of my arm and hand, due to the fact of having a spiral fracture in the hand, necessitating four weeks wearing a back slab caster.

The story behind the fractured hand began about four weeks ago, a beautiful sunny Saturday morning when I decided to pay a visit to an old friend, he being a GP also but retired, he used to be my Doctor when he was practising, now this friend is an avid table tennis player, so subsequently a friendly game was in progress, needless to say my agility is not as it used to be, the ball went one way, the bat another, and I ended up on my back trying to use my hand for support, hence the back slab and pain killers.

A visit to his nurse ensued with the back slab being tightened and readjusted.

Not wanting to waste time, we decided to deal with the next problem in my litany of health problems, this being an irrigation of both ears, a problem I have had for many years diagnosed as high tone deafness, another legacy of my Army days in Vietnam.

Task accomplished, and one more visit to the Doctor for a referral to the hand physiotherapist, apart from all that I am fit.

Arrived home by late morning for the next appointment, a home visit from the in home care providers, this was to see if I needed any help on the home front in regards to my back and hand, apart from organizing further appointments, all was in order.

By this time of the day it was coming on to late afternoon, with one stop for Ana to buy me a birthday present, a lovely bottle of Mercedes Benz after shave, definitely only a couple of drops required I found out, it actually made me smell like Pepe Le Pew, who had been rolling around on an after shave factory floor for a few weeks, thanks Ana, I will only use it for special occasions and Mass on Sundays.

Finally to top off my birthday celebrations was a visit from my beautiful two grand children, Cameron aged three and Maddison aged two, both bringing a lovely birthday cake, after blowing out the candles, Maddison had to have it done a few times, we enjoyed the cake.

It’s an indescribable feeling having two beautiful grand children sitting on your knee, both at the talking stage, and both singing happy birthday and telling you all their story’s

So that concluded my Birthday, after they had gone I sat back with a quiet beer and contemplated the upsides and downsides of growing old, I came to the conclusion there is no downside, with old age I have made new friends throughout the medical and Para medical profession, friends I wouldn’t have met in my younger days, just a fact of life, nowadays I sometimes think I could qualify as a GP with the knowledge I have learnt.

And the other upside of aging is the gift of two beautiful grandchildren, little children who give you the pleasure of sharing their life.

Cheers for now and take care, off to have my Chiropodist appointment tomorrow, one always has something to do when they age gracefully.

 

Emu

 
40 Comments

Posted by on September 9, 2015 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: ,

40 responses to “Sands through the Hourglass

  1. reocochran

    October 30, 2015 at 9:10 am

    Reading this post again and laughing at the cologne Ana gave you. So glad you know who Pepe let Pew is! Ha ha! Wearing it to church may ” punish” your neighbors in PEWS! 🙂 🙂 ♡

     
    • The Emu

      October 30, 2015 at 9:16 am

      Bloody stuff stinks to high Heaven, might go back to a Garlic clove a day, at least that keeps people at arms length.
      Best wishes Robin.
      Like your joke about Pews, good idea.

       
  2. natswans

    October 21, 2015 at 12:15 pm

    Oh gosh it has been a while since I made you a visit. Your lovely photo it made me smile , they are simply gorgeous. What a day you had …the cake sound great and those Grandchildren to enjoy it with. Made me agree with you , doctor appointments . Dentist last week for me and that was an hour appt. Sorry to hear about your hand and your back, sounds pretty painful.
    Take Care
    Best of Health and glad you enjoyed your day.
    Sheila

     
    • The Emu

      October 22, 2015 at 9:12 am

      Hi Sheila, thanks for calling by, it’s hard for me keeping up with friends posts these days, but lovely to know they are still out there in the world of internet, my Grandchildren are beautiful Sheila, I adore being around them and hearing them try to talk, they bring tears to this old man’s eyes.
      Best wishes to you Dear Friend.
      Aussie Emu aka Aussie Ian
      http://aussieian2010.wordpress.com/
      https://aussieemu.wordpress.com/

       
  3. Mél@nie

    September 12, 2015 at 3:59 pm

    hapy belated b’day, “Virgo” Ian! better later than not at all… 😉 wish you my very best: health, serenity, joy and love – the rest will always follow… long life with your beloved Ana and friendly thoughts, cheers! 🙂

     
    • The Emu

      September 13, 2015 at 2:19 am

      Thanks Melanie for the Birthday wishes, I think I was destined to live a long life, considering the chances I have taken in life, and some situations that weren’t exactly holding promises for the future.
      Hope your enjoying a beaut weekend, hot and sunny here today with temperatures in the 30’s.
      Kind regards.

       
  4. reocochran

    September 10, 2015 at 10:44 am

    Beautiful grandies and sorry about your daily pain. Compressed disks sound horrible, Ian. Sending you healing prayers and hope for a change, dare it be a miracle? xo ♡

     
    • The Emu

      September 10, 2015 at 10:59 am

      Thanks Robin, the Grand children are beautiful, love how they let me share in their world of talking and imagination.
      Arm slowly coming good.
      All the best Robin.

       
      • reocochran

        October 30, 2015 at 9:11 am

        Glad your arm is coming along and pain fading. . . xo ♡ Robin

         
        • The Emu

          October 30, 2015 at 9:14 am

          Still got a few probs Robin, but just put it down to old age now.
          Cheers Girl.

           
  5. Sue Mac

    September 9, 2015 at 10:06 pm

    Im glad you had a good time with your greandkids, they are growing up quick ian, i had beer /wine for you last night Happy Birthday my friend and may you have many more

     
    • The Emu

      September 10, 2015 at 1:58 am

      Thanks Sue, yes overall it was a good birthday, don’t think I will see 65 again, bloody miracle I made it this far.
      The Grandkids are great to be around, it’s fun when they let you into their world of talking and imagination.
      Give our regards to the old Digger.
      Cheers.

       
  6. Monica

    September 9, 2015 at 3:16 pm

    Wow, what a birthday! Doctor visits on the day – oh, boy! Lovely grandchildren, Ian

     
    • The Emu

      September 10, 2015 at 2:01 am

      Hi Monica, it was a very full day, filled with medical people and appointments, but the high lights were the Grand kids.
      It’s great when they let you share their world of talking and imagination.
      All the best for a great Thursday.
      Kind regards.

       
  7. Colline

    September 9, 2015 at 11:23 am

    What a blessing your grandchildren are – and a delighful ending to a very busy birthday. Happy belated birthday to you Ian. May your 65th year be a blessed one.

     
    • The Emu

      September 10, 2015 at 2:07 am

      Hi Colline, thanks for the birthday greeting, it was a busy day, mostly with medical appointments, but the high light was time with my Grand children, it’s beautiful when they talk and share their world of imagination and fun.
      Best wishes for a great Thursday.
      Cheers.

       
  8. Eddie Two Hawks

    September 9, 2015 at 10:24 am

    Happy Birthday dear friend. Isn’t wonderful having the grand kids there to help you celebrate your life

     
    • The Emu

      September 9, 2015 at 10:47 am

      Thank you Eddie for your birthday wish, yes the Grand children were the highlight of my day.
      They are the brightest light in my life at the moment, it’s beautiful to share their world with them.
      Kind regards.

       
  9. GP Cox

    September 9, 2015 at 9:41 am

    Happy Birthday! We’ll have to start calling you the Olde Emu… I can say that being as it turns out I’m 3 weeks older than you.) and also like you, I’m held together with spit, polish and duct tape!! Wish I had 2 adorable grandchildren like yours!!

     
    • The Emu

      September 9, 2015 at 9:54 am

      G’day gp, thanks for the birthday wish, not much distance between our ages mate, both done the long mile, just tradition and training holding me together these days, the Grand kids certainly are the bright light in my life these days. Cheers.

       
  10. einfachtilda

    September 9, 2015 at 6:48 am

    🙂 🙂 ❤

     
    • The Emu

      September 9, 2015 at 7:15 am

      Thank you my Dear friend Einfachtilda
      Love to you and many blessings.

       
  11. prenin

    September 9, 2015 at 6:40 am

    Happy birthday Ian! 🙂

    Hope you heal up soon and take more care! 🙂

    God Bless and huge hugs my friend!!! 🙂

    Prenin.

     
    • The Emu

      September 9, 2015 at 7:16 am

      Thanks Prenin, these birthdays are stating to roll around too regularly.
      Cheers.

       
  12. auntyuta

    September 9, 2015 at 5:20 am

    Beautiful grandchildren, Ian. Thanks for sharing the pictures. Take care of yourself. Some of your health problem may be due to age. However, it is a pain, that army life contributed to all this. It is great that you have a good relationship with all your health carers.
    Greetings to you and dear Ana.

     
    • The Emu

      September 9, 2015 at 5:57 am

      Hi Uta, thanks for the lovely comment, my grandchildren are really my treasures these days.
      Yes old age is the main cause of my ailments, but they have been exacerbated by army service, such is life, it was my choice to serve in the army for twenty years.
      Kindest regards to you and Peter.
      Cheers.

       
      • auntyuta

        September 9, 2015 at 7:16 am

        🙂 Thanks

         
        • The Emu

          September 9, 2015 at 7:18 am

          My pleasure Uta, hope you are both well, Summer is around the corner, our temperatures are starting to climb.
          Take care and be safe.
          Regards.

           
  13. suchled

    September 9, 2015 at 5:05 am

    Two beautiful ones and another one. Well done Grand pa.

     
    • The Emu

      September 9, 2015 at 5:12 am

      Thanks mate, they really do make growing old a pleasure.
      Still can’t seem to get emails from your posts, I have to go into Word press to find them.
      I couldn’t find a, Follow Me, widget on your site, usually you just enter your email in there and bobs your uncle.
      Cheers.

       
      • suchled

        September 9, 2015 at 5:25 am

        I have been told that the follow me pops up at the bottom on the right. I told my old sister and she found it eventually.

         
        • The Emu

          September 9, 2015 at 5:53 am

          I really have to figure this out, you are in Cryptic Garland in Aussie Ian, still not getting any emails from there, checked your site but no Follow me box, you are in Aussie Emu in comments but nothing else shows up, time I did some Sherlock work.
          Cheers.

           
          • suchled

            September 9, 2015 at 6:22 am

            If you go to the very last post on Cryptic Garland you should see a link to the new site which is “Cryptic Garland too” > Or try suchlednew.wordpress.com there is now a follow widget

             
          • The Emu

            September 10, 2015 at 2:11 am

            Think it’s sorted out now mate.

             
  14. davidprosser

    September 9, 2015 at 4:40 am

    A belated Happy Birthday Ian. You beat me to 65 by just 4 months. Sorry to hear about the hand and the back, I hope the acupuncture keeps the pain at bay.
    I agree there’s no gift quite like grandchildren. my second is due in December but I have great nephews and nieces to keep me on the hop too.
    Keep Well.
    Hugs

     
    • The Emu

      September 9, 2015 at 5:15 am

      Thanks David, congrats on your up coming new grand child, yes you are right, they are great gifts and beautiful to be part of their life, they really do make old age a pleasure.
      I beat you by four months mate but I can’t grow a Santa beard like you, must come with wisdom.
      Cheers.

       
      • davidprosser

        September 9, 2015 at 5:34 am

        Actually mate, I think that’s the wisdom seeping out through all the little pores in my chin. The older I get the less common sense I seem to have.
        Hugs

         
        • The Emu

          September 9, 2015 at 5:55 am

          Good to know I’m not the only one that’s full of learnt wisdom but lacking in common sense these days.
          Cheers

           

Leave a Reply

 
einfachtilda

Viele Bilder, wenig Worte!!

Peppermint

Wicked Commentary

Prenin's little page

Just another WordPress.com site

Dreamwalker's Sanctuary

A Sanctuary for Enlightenment and Peace through Poetry and Inspirational Thoughts as we go through Life

Blog Kunterbund von G.B.

http://zitroneblog.wordpress.com

Welcome to Sheila's Space

Just another WordPress.com site

wonkywizard

philosophising on meaning of life via poetry and prose

Pacific Paratrooper

This WordPress.com site is Pacific War era information

witlessdatingafterfifty

Relationships reveal our hearts.

Dreamwalker's Garden

Growing Your Own Produce and Remedies

