RSS

I’ve Seen The Monsoon Rains

06 Dec

I wrote these words based on my time as a 21 year old soldier in South Vietnam, over 45 years ago. The words are my own, and reflect on thoughts and events at that time. I had originally written it as a song but maybe the worlds not ready to wake up to the reality of the after effects on war, not only on soldiers but every Human Being. I titled this the Monsoon Rains based on the daily downpour I experienced in Vietnam, and also as an analogy to the bombing rains that devastated this beautiful country.

Cheers

Aussie Emu aka Aussie Ian

I’ve seen the Monsoon Rains

Back in Vietnam

Again last night

They never told me

It was a lifelong fight

I’ve seen the anguish

I’ve seen the pain

Heard wars cries

And dream wars screams

I’ve seen the Monsoon Rains

Little girl running bare

A chandelier of Napalm

That has no care

Little boy in a soldiers shirt

Covered in blood

Covered in dirt

Held closely

In my arms

No more morphine

No more Harm

Back in Vietnam

Again last night

They never told me

It was a lifelong fight

I’ve seen the anguish

I’ve seen the pain

Hear wars cries

And dream wars screams

I’ve seen the monsoon rains

Flares that light up the night

Tracers showing where to fight

Screams that echo through the night

There’s no more today

There’s no more tomorrow

Voices echoing in my head

No time for doubt

No time to borrow

For there’s no more room

For this wars sorrow

Back in Vietnam

Again last night

They never told me

It was a lifelong fight

I’ve seen the anguish

I’ve seen the pain

Hear wars cries

And dream wars screams

I’ve seen the Monsoon Rains

Paris Peace Talks

Rainbows in the sky

Political speeches

Political lies

Still a little girl runs

From dropping bombs

And hides away

From threatening guns

Still a little boy in a soldier’s shirt

Lies in the blood

Lies in the dirt

I’ve seen the monsoon rains

Back in Vietnam

Again last night

They never told me

It was a lifelong fight

I’ve seen the anguish

I’ve seen the pain

Hear wars cries

And dream wars screams

I’ve seen the Monsoon Rains

Years have come

And years have passed

Nothing’s changed

It’s still like last

Same old death

Same old sorrow

Nothing learnt

No tomorrow

Tears still fall

Like falling rain

Back in Vietnam

Again last night

They never told me

It was a lifelong fight

I’ve seen the anguish

I’ve seen the pain

Hear wars cries

And dream wars screams

I’ve seen the Monsoon Rains

Yes, I still see

The monsoon rains

 

 

 
39 Comments

Posted by on December 6, 2015 in Uncategorized

 

39 responses to “I’ve Seen The Monsoon Rains

  1. Sue Dreamwalker

    December 13, 2015 at 12:20 pm

    Yes your words dear Ian, so poignant, the anguish you saw and felt no one should have to go through.. But war it seems is in man’s genes.. I wish the rains could wash all the anguish and heart ache away..
    There are no Victors in War, only casualties in mind body and spirit..

    Love to you my friend.. and like dancingpalmtrees says.. I salute you xxx

     
    • The Emu

      December 13, 2015 at 9:56 pm

      Thanks Sue, there is always a legacy of war, same with negative emotions, they leave behind bad vibrations that do echo around the world.
      Best wishes.

       
      • Sue Dreamwalker

        December 14, 2015 at 2:17 pm

        Yes those vibrations have to be balanced, and energy is energy, it can only be transmuted not destroyed so we have to try to alter that which is dark into light.. to balance..

         
  2. reocochran

    December 13, 2015 at 2:38 am

    I am sorry you went through such a wickedly hard war. This one warped my cousin Johnny. I wrote a post about it under Vietnam tag. Anyway, Peace be with you, sweet dreams of Ana and adorable granddaughter, too. Merry Christmas to all there. Hugs, Robin

     
    • The Emu

      December 13, 2015 at 4:28 am

      Thanks for the great visit and comments Robin, you are a kind, caring and loving person
      I thank you.
      Kind regards.

       
  3. Laura P. Schulman, MD, MA

    December 12, 2015 at 5:10 pm

    This hit me in the gut….hope you get some sleep tonight….without dreams, I mean…

     
    • The Emu

      December 13, 2015 at 2:12 am

      Thank you Laura, alas a legacy of War that all Service personnel carry.
      Kind regards.
      Aussie Emu aka Aussie Ian

      http://aussieian2010.wordpress.com/
      https://aussieemu.wordpress.com/

       
      • Laura P. Schulman, MD, MA

        December 13, 2015 at 10:24 pm

        Yeah….I’m a VN era chick, daughter of a WWII combat veteran…he fought all night, every night, in Alsace-Lorraine. And no PTSD diagnosis, no sir. In his day it was “shell shock,” and the stigma was terrible. It meant you “couldn’t hack it,” so unless you just completely came unglued you didn’t talk about it, lived in denial….I’m very sorry that you got stuck in that war. Any war, yes. I guess previous wars (except Korea, for some reason) were gussied up with guts and glory. Viet Nam, not so, at least in America.

        Finally we’re seeing a shift here in the way people treat VN vets who are still walking and talking, at least. A friend who wears VN Vet ball caps, decals on his car, etc, gets “thank you for serving our country” all the time and I mean constantly, which is very validating for him because for the longest time he felt as if he had thrown away his youth in the jungle, and for nothing but abuse when he returned.

        In America vets were so badly treated (are still) by the Veterans Administration that there is a whole subset who are homeless, mentally and physically ill, and no outreach, no honor…they die on the sidewalk, under bridges…it’s a tragedy, a disgrace.

        Not one red cent should be spent on foreign aid until every last person who served their country is housed, comfortable, fed, healed, supported in whatever ways s/he needs…And let us apply this to all of the humans who got a raw deal, and then we can start on the animals.

        The only thing I know about Australia is the damn good saddles, and their history. I miss my Aussie saddle. I lent it to someone along with my horse, and got neither of them back. Now I can’t afford to replace them, unless I start paying the lottery and actually win!

        Nice to meet you.

         
        • The Emu

          December 15, 2015 at 1:54 am

          Thank you for that great insight into your world and thoughts, I agree wholeheartedly in regards to PTSD and Shell Shock, the terminology has evolved but the diagnosis remains the same, sad to realize that many faced the firing squad in the First War due to being labelled Cowards, when in fact it was a complete break down.
          My readings over the years since Vietnam seem to indicate the American Vets got a raw deal off the Government, same here in Australia to a certain degree. Servicemen and Woman are lauded in uniform, but ignored out of uniform or on the streets.
          I hope I am wrong and reading the American media the wrong way, but it seems your President has no respect for his Service personnel, I see many American military leaders being sacked or completely ignored. Once I was proud to think of America as an Ally of Australia, sadly America appears to be selling it’s people out to a foreign Ideology. Sorry Laura, not intending to insult your country but just trying to interpret what is going on around the world on the political stage.
          I wish you a Beautiful Christmas and a great New Year.

           
  4. dancingpalmtrees

    December 7, 2015 at 3:08 pm

    Heartfelt and touching. As a peacetime Veteran I salute you. I’m an American Army Veteran. 1977-1981.
    Yes war devastates all involved. No winners.
    Thanks for your service.

     
    • The Emu

      December 8, 2015 at 10:45 am

      Thank you for your beautiful visit and comment.
      I am proud to know you also served in the American Army.
      Your service is no less diminished as a Peacetime Veteran, but is to be commended.
      It is very hard to be in the Services these days, the changing political scenes place a heavy burden on those who serve, either at home or overseas.
      I am proud to know you.
      I am leaving for Chile South America for a few months on the 20th December, so will take this time to wish you a Beautiful Christmas, and a Happy and Prosperous New Year.
      Kind regards
      Aussie Emu aka Aussie Ian
      http://aussieian2010.wordpress.com/
      https://aussieemu.wordpress.com/

       
  5. giselzitrone

    December 7, 2015 at 10:32 am

    Schöner Text wünsche dir eine gute neue Woche liebe Grüße Gislinde

     
    • The Emu

      December 8, 2015 at 10:39 am

      Thank you Dear Gislinde, I appreciate your beautiful visit.
      I hope you are well and in good health.
      I am leaving for Chile South America on the 20th December and coming back in February.
      I send you best wishes for a beautiful Christmas, and a wonderful New Year.
      Kind regards.

       
  6. davidprosser

    December 7, 2015 at 9:54 am

    Great poem Ian. Reminds me that one of the songs on the blog was Eve of Destruction by Barry Maguire. The film alongside the song has the famous picture of the young girl running with napalm all over. Lots of other not very pleasant things too.
    Keep well. Hugs

     
    • The Emu

      December 8, 2015 at 10:28 am

      Agree with you there David, the words and scenario are very much along those lines.
      I can certainly relate to that song, it was a hit and played all the time when I was in Vietnam.
      Kind regards and best wishes.

       
  7. worzelodd

    December 6, 2015 at 5:46 pm

    Emu, my spirit bird, great use of Pantuom- Peace be your journey

     
  8. GP Cox

    December 6, 2015 at 11:56 am

    These words are as meaningful today, Ian. Brilliantly worded.

     
    • The Emu

      December 6, 2015 at 12:16 pm

      Thanks gp, maybe one day someone can turn my words into a song, a song that may carry meaning to those who don’t understand war.
      Cheers.

       
      • GP Cox

        December 6, 2015 at 12:20 pm

        Song – Yes
        Completely understand – No

         
  9. auntyuta

    December 6, 2015 at 8:55 am

    So much anguish, so much pain. And you were only 21 years old!
    Thanks for sharing. The photo is very interesting too.

     
    • The Emu

      December 6, 2015 at 12:20 pm

      Thanks Uta, appreciate you reading my story in poetic form.
      Alas all soldiers carry a legacy of war.
      I was so young back when that picture was taken, it now hangs in the Australian War Museum.
      Kind regards.

       
  10. Cryptic Garland

    December 6, 2015 at 8:29 am

    Reblogged this on Cryptic Garland and commented:
    Aussie Ian served in Vietnam with an elite unit known as the Australian Army Training Team Vietnam. There were only about 1000 personel who served in total. This team was the most highly decorated Australian unit to serve in Vietnam and received about 100 decorations including 4 Victoria Crosses. It was in the Medical corps and as a member of AATTV often had to serve on his own with Sth Vietnamese. I’m sure he can tell you if I’ve left anything out or told a porkie.

     
    • The Emu

      December 6, 2015 at 12:23 pm

      You got it all right John, and thanks for the respect of my post in re blogging it.
      No Porkie pies there mate, sadly our numbers are decreasing rapidly, think we are down to a little over half of the members now.
      Cheers mate.

       
  11. prenin

    December 6, 2015 at 7:51 am

    Thanks Ian.

    Much food for thought. 😦

    Both my brothers have PTSD, not from war although they served full careers, but from our childhoods.

    I still have problems so I can relate! 😦

    God Bless my friend – it’s 12’C here with strong winds and lots of flooding North of us.

    Prenin.

     
    • The Emu

      December 6, 2015 at 12:27 pm

      PTSD is a debilitating affliction Prenin, no matter how you get it, it lasts for life, I take each day as it comes.
      42 here today and the same predicted for tomorrow, hot, bloody hot and very bloody hot.
      Cheers.

       
  12. Cryptic Garland

    December 6, 2015 at 7:40 am

    Do you mind if I reblog this?

     
    • The Emu

      December 6, 2015 at 7:42 am

      No I don’t mind mate.
      Hope your enjoying the weather down your way, bloody 42 here, gonna be a hot Summer I think.
      Cheers.

       
      • Cryptic Garland

        December 6, 2015 at 8:14 am

        Yep. I got 38 and that’s too hot for me.

         
        • The Emu

          December 6, 2015 at 12:25 pm

          Stay cool mate, I’m stocking up on water and Melbourne stubbies, I alternate between water and beer to balance the fluids out.
          Another 42 tomorrow.
          Cheers.

           
  13. derrickjknight

    December 6, 2015 at 7:33 am

    So apt today, Ian. I hope the experience doesn’t haunt you

     
    • The Emu

      December 6, 2015 at 7:48 am

      Thanks for the visit and comment Derrick, unfortunately I have PTSD based on my time over 45 years ago, hence the meaning in the poem.
      No winners in war mate.
      Best wishes and kind regards.

       
      • derrickjknight

        December 6, 2015 at 9:44 am

        Sorry to learn that, but not surprised.

         
        • The Emu

          December 6, 2015 at 12:18 pm

          Thanks Derrick, alas all soldiers carry a legacy of war.
          Cheers mate.

           
  14. george parsons

    December 6, 2015 at 7:17 am

    Brilliant Emu, well worth the read.

    Cheers mate,

    George

    Sent from my iPad

    >

     
    • The Emu

      December 6, 2015 at 7:47 am

      Thanks George, should have known you would have understood the meaning behind the words, not many of us left mate.
      42 bloody degrees he, need a few more beers mate, hope your travelling okay, would be great to catch up one day.
      Cheers.

       
  15. mihrank

    December 6, 2015 at 7:13 am

    impressive words with exceptional energy!

     
    • The Emu

      December 6, 2015 at 7:43 am

      Thanks Mihrank, appreciate your time in reading and commenting.
      Best wishes mate.
      Cheers.

       

Leave a Reply

 
einfachtilda

Viele Bilder, wenig Worte!!

Peppermint

Wicked Commentary

Prenin's little page

Just another WordPress.com site

Dreamwalker's Sanctuary

A Sanctuary for Enlightenment and Peace through Poetry and Inspirational Thoughts as we go through Life

Blog Kunterbund von G.B.

http://zitroneblog.wordpress.com

Welcome to Sheila's Space

Just another WordPress.com site

wonkywizard

philosophising on meaning of life via poetry and prose

Pacific Paratrooper

This WordPress.com site is Pacific War era information

witlessdatingafterfifty

Relationships reveal our hearts.

Dreamwalker's Garden

Growing Your Own Produce and Remedies

