RSS

Prowse

13 Dec

I have mentioned before of my appreciation of Art and certain Artists in particular.

I would like to share this story of an Artist that I am proud to know personally, who is not only a Friend of mine, but a fellow Vietnam Veteran, from those years long ago when our lives were turned upside down.

John Prowse lives in the same beautiful city as I do here in Mildura, he has been painting for many years now, and I can safely say I have seen most of his work in some stage of production.

John, or as he is commonly known as Prowsie, recently had his first exhibition, an exhibition which I was not only proud to attend in support, but also because John had deemed a portrait of myself, worthy of inclusion in his exhibition.

John had taken this picture many months back, and I am proud to present to you this portrait with myself and Prowsie at the opening of his exhibition.

John is well known in the Artistic world, and many of his paintings grace the walls of overseas collectors.

A good mate and fellow Viet Vet, who I am proud to acknowledge as a great Artist.

Cheers

Aussie Emu aka Aussie Ian

http://aussieian2010.wordpress.com/

https://aussieemu.wordpress.com/

 
23 Comments

Posted by on December 13, 2015 in Uncategorized

 

Tags:

23 responses to “Prowse

  1. reocochran

    September 27, 2016 at 3:59 am

    little town
    Harness racing
    Sorry about typos! 🙂

     
  2. reocochran

    September 27, 2016 at 3:58 am

    I liked this portrait and it captures you fairly well. As others mentioned your nose is not this big but the angle has something to do with this. Beautiful!
    Ian, a couple from Australia came to my all town to watch the Triple Crown of harbess horse racing from Australia and they stayed a week! They were featured in our local paper, on the offhand chance I will share their name and location. Let me know on one of my own posts if you know them not how close to you do they live please. They appeared to be so pleasant! 🙂
    Trevor and Ree Patching of Bendigo, Victoria, Australia.
    Thanks for sharing your story if artist and portrait, Ian. xoxo

     
    • aussieian2011

      September 27, 2016 at 4:53 am

      Hi Robin, your Aussie friends live in the same state as me, Victoria, down South in Australia, Bendigo is about 4 hours away, and we go through it quite often to get to Melbourne, the Capital City in Victoria. Bendigo has a great history built on the Goldfields of the 1800,s.
      Glad you liked the picture, the artist is still trying to sell it to me.
      Cheers.

       
  3. GP Cox

    February 26, 2016 at 10:30 am

    [off topic – I’m sure you must have heard this story, but thought you might want to read this arrticle about a fellow soldier.
    https://www.warhistoryonline.com/featured/enemy-approaching-sat-beside-wounded-comrade-pulled-pin-two-grenadeswaited.html

     
    • The Emu

      February 26, 2016 at 11:07 am

      AATTV mate, Aust Army Training Team, my unit in SVN, Dasher Wheatley, one of the only Four Victoria cross winners in the Vietnam war. We have only one survivor at the moment, my mate Keith Payne, Dasher really did pay the ultimate sacrifice, he laid down his life for others after numerous efforts to help others escape.
      Cheers.

       
  4. natswans

    December 17, 2015 at 12:36 pm

    What a Fabulous painting Ian , I remember this guy you spoke of. He is indeed very talented , nice Hooter.
    Best Wishes

    Sheila

     
    • The Emu

      December 17, 2015 at 12:54 pm

      Thanks Sheila, not very impressed with his work, he has definitely exaggerated my Hooter by a few miles.
      Cheers.

       
  5. giselzitrone

    December 15, 2015 at 3:46 pm

    Super schön Gruß Gislinde

     
  6. Sue Dreamwalker

    December 13, 2015 at 12:10 pm

    WOW… what a wonderful captured likeness Ian.. and how talented is John in his artwork..
    Wonderful.. and I wish him well also with his exhibition..

    Sending some Hugs your way..
    Sue xxx

     
    • The Emu

      December 13, 2015 at 9:53 pm

      Thanks Sue, he certainly added a few inches onto my Hooter though.
      Cheers.

       
      • Sue Dreamwalker

        December 14, 2015 at 2:14 pm

        LOL.. you know Ian, I always say that about my own profile when I catch my reflection.. 🙂 Its great.. 🙂 as are you

         
  7. GP Cox

    December 13, 2015 at 11:03 am

    Prowse did a great job of capturing you in that portrait – as I know you. I’m glad to know you have a like fellow in town with which you can talk to.

     
    • The Emu

      December 13, 2015 at 9:51 pm

      Thanks gp, think he exaggerated my bloody Hooter a bit though, didn’t think it was that long.
      Cheers.

       
  8. George Parsons

    December 13, 2015 at 9:36 am

    Excellent painting Emu, the man certainly has talent

     
    • The Emu

      December 13, 2015 at 9:50 pm

      Thanks George, think he exaggerated my bloody Hooter a bit though.
      Cheers mate.

       
  9. Cryptic Garland

    December 13, 2015 at 8:16 am

    Great post Ian, and not a bad portrait either.

     
    • The Emu

      December 13, 2015 at 9:49 pm

      Thanks John, think he exaggerated my bloody Hooter a bit though.
      Cheers.

       
  10. derrickjknight

    December 13, 2015 at 8:03 am

    Great photo. Great portrait

     
    • The Emu

      December 13, 2015 at 9:48 pm

      Thanks Derrick, think he exaggerated my bloody Hooter a bit though, don’t think it’s a true reflection of my nose.
      Cheers.

       
  11. prenin

    December 13, 2015 at 8:00 am

    Bugger! Forgot the notify flag!!! LoL!!! 🙂

     
    • The Emu

      December 13, 2015 at 9:49 pm

      Thanks for the flag Prenin.

       
  12. prenin

    December 13, 2015 at 8:00 am

    Good painting! 🙂

    That is one heck of a nose!!! 😉

    God Bless! 🙂

    Prenin.

     
    • The Emu

      December 13, 2015 at 9:47 pm

      Agree Prenin, it looks like a bloody big Hooter in the painting, the only thing I don’t like as I think it’s slightly exaggerated.
      Cheers mate.

       

Leave a Reply

 
Peppermint

Wicked Commentary

Prenin's little page

Just another WordPress.com site

Dreamwalker's Sanctuary

A Sanctuary for Enlightenment and Peace through Poetry and Inspirational Thoughts as we go through Life

Blog Kunterbund von G.B.

http://zitroneblog.wordpress.com

Welcome to Sheila's Space

Just another WordPress.com site

wonkywizard

philosophising on meaning of life via poetry and prose

Pacific Paratrooper

This WordPress.com site is Pacific War era information

witlessdatingafterfifty

Relationships reveal our hearts.

Dreamwalker's Garden

Growing Your Own Produce and Remedies

