RSS

Bon Voyage

14 Dec

Wishing all my Friends on Word press and Face book a very Merry Christmas and a Great New Year.

I thank all those faithful Friends who have followed me over the years on my two Internet sites, Aussie Ian and Aussie Emu, also my Face book site.

http://aussieian2010.wordpress.com/

https://aussieemu.wordpress.com/

I appreciate your visits and comments on my posts. Your thoughts do inspire a writer to continue sharing the various vagaries of Life’s sojourn. Your Friendship is highly valued, and I have enjoyed following your adventures through your eyes and into your world.

I will be absent from the internet until late February, I am leaving next Sunday to join my wife Ana in Chile, Ana is already over there. This is my second visit and is going to be quite an adventure to add to my previous visit.

My last adventure, apart from my marriage to Ana in Valparaiso, north of Santiago, included much introduction to the beautiful country of Chile, it’s beautiful Cathedrals, monuments, streets and diverse culture.

This adventure includes seeing the New Year in, overlooking the beautiful Valparaiso bay with its 30 minutes fireworks, that light up the ancient Harbour.

Following on from that is a trip to the extreme south of Chile, so south it’s in the direction of the Antarctica. Here we will spend time exploring the great San Rafael lake which is home to 19 massive glaciers, exploring these waters is quite breathtaking, there is an ice Cathedral, massive breaking icebergs, numerous ice caves and much more. I have attached a short overview of both Valparaiso and Lake Rafael for interest.

Finally I close with a beautiful song from the lovely Chilean island of Rapa Nui, the song titled; Rapa Nui My Love captures the culture and vibrancy of the Chilean people.

Once again, a very Merry Christmas and a beaut New Year.

Kind Regards

Aussie Ian aka Aussie Emu aka Lizard.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Valparaiso Chile South America

You can use many words to describe Valparaíso, but the truth is that this city escapes definition. But let’s start with the basic facts: Valparaíso is Chile’s largest port and one of its oldest, dating back to 1536.

Though some claim that there are 42, no one knows exactly how many hills circle the bay of Valparaíso. Whatever the number, there are many of them, and each is filled with multicolored houses perched at crazy angles connected by a gigantic labyrinth of streets, long staircases and lookout points. Between these hills and the sea lies a downtown area filled with beautiful architecture, narrow streets and even trolleybuses.

Since it was declared a UNESCO World Heritage Site in 2002, the city’s landscape has welcomed new hotels, restaurants and bookstores. But the port’s traditional culture remains, and the history of “Pancho,” as local residents affectionately call their city, is visible in every corner, particularly in the port neighborhood. You can’t leave Valparaiso without taking a ride on its outdoor elevators or touring the bay in one of the hundreds of small passenger boats that wait at the piers.

The city’s cultural calendar includes the urban festival Carnavales Culturales and its famous New Year’s celebration, which features crowds of hundreds of thousands of people ringing in the New Year around the bay and an incredible 30-minute long fireworks display

Lake Rafael Chile South America

With 1.742.000 hectares (3,832,400 acres), this park is the largest in Aysén and it includes the entire Northern Patagonian Ice Fields (Campos de Hielo Norte), where countless rivers and lakes are born.  The tallest peak in the Southern Andes, Mount San Valentín (4,058 m or 13,310 ft), is located in the park.

The ice field extends over this mountain and the surrounding hills, giving birth to 19 glaciers. San Rafael Glacier is one of the most impressive, hence why it gives its name to the park. One of the most spectacular sights is the blocks of ice breaking off the glaciers and falling into the lake with a thunderous roar.

 
42 Comments

Posted by on December 14, 2015 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , ,

42 responses to “Bon Voyage

  1. Renee Espriu

    February 9, 2016 at 11:46 pm

    I had wondered where you had gone. You have been so faithful to visit my site when I have had such health issues I would have not seemed possible. You are so fortunate to go back to Chile and I know you will have many more wonderful posts when you arrive home.Safe travels to you always. 🙂

     
    • The Emu

      February 18, 2016 at 3:04 am

      Hi Renee, so sorry for the delay in replying to your beautiful comment, I do hope you are well Dear friend, and your new year is being kind to you.
      I arrived home from Chile over a week ago but left again to attend the Edinburgh Military Tattoo, I will be posting again next week and will share with you some fascinating scenes from the Patagonia region of South Chile, Glaciers, Icebergs and remarkable Marble caves.
      I look forward to catching up on what has been happening in your world.
      My best wishes and lots of love to you.
      Ian aka Emu.

       
  2. Monica

    January 17, 2016 at 5:08 am

    Hope you are having a wonderful time, dear Ian!

     
    • The Emu

      February 8, 2016 at 8:02 am

      Hi Monica, many thanks for your lovely comment, have just returned from Chile and looking forward to catching up on my friends, especially those who comment on my posts and have become very Dear friends to me.
      I hope you had a beautiful Christmas and start to your new year.
      I have many interesting photographic posts coming up covering my time in Chile, Glaciers, Icebergs and many more colourful posts.
      I hope you are in good health and all is well with you.
      Kind regards Monica
      Ian and Emu

       
      • Monica

        February 12, 2016 at 12:46 am

        I am looking forward to your posts and photos, Ian.

         
        • The Emu

          February 18, 2016 at 3:04 am

          Hi Monica, so sorry for the delay in replying to your beautiful comment, I do hope you are well Dear friend, and your new year is being kind to you.
          I arrived home from Chile over a week ago but left again to attend the Edinburgh Military Tattoo, I will be posting again next week and will share with you some fascinating scenes from the Patagonia region of South Chile, Glaciers, Icebergs and remarkable Marble caves.
          I look forward to catching up on what has been happening in your world.
          My best wishes and lots of love to you.
          Ian aka Emu.

           
  3. Eric Klingenberg

    January 2, 2016 at 10:04 am

    Have a great time see you in February.

     
    • The Emu

      February 8, 2016 at 8:07 am

      Hi Eric,Thanks for taking the time to visit and comment, I am pleased you enjoyed that post.
      I have just returned from Chile and look forward to posting many beautiful blogs.
      I hope your Christmas was beautiful and your New Year is full of Happiness and Love.
      Kind regards.
      Ian aka Emu

       
      • Eric Klingenberg

        February 8, 2016 at 12:18 pm

        Thanks Ian it was good. I look forward to seeing the pictures

         
  4. Sue Dreamwalker

    December 24, 2015 at 12:18 pm

    Big smiles dear Ian… Enjoy your Christmas in Chile.. and a Happy New Year..

     
  5. giselzitrone

    December 19, 2015 at 1:09 pm


    Wünsche dir einen schönen 4 Advent lieber Gruß und Umarmung Gislinde

     
    • The Emu

      February 8, 2016 at 8:11 am

      Grüße Lieber Gislinde, Sie für Ihre schönen Besuch und Kommentar danke, ich hoffe, Ihr Weihnachten war schön und wünschen Ihnen viel Liebe und Glück im neuen Jahr.
      Ich bin gerade von Chile Südamerika und haben einige schöne Blogs zurück zu senden.
      Ich freue mich auf Ihre Nachrichten an aufholen.
      Mit freundlichen Grüßen.
      In einer Emu

       
  6. natswans

    December 16, 2015 at 12:19 pm

    Oh how wonderful Ian , sounds great! Safe trip and enjoy every precious moment. Look forward to your return and a beautiful picture of those Gaciers and Iceburgs.

    Best Wishes to you and yours

    Sheila Take Care

     
  7. jacksjottings

    December 16, 2015 at 10:59 am

    This was a most enjoyable post Ian. Thank you for all the entertaining links.
    I know you will have a mighty time. I can imagine your New Year will be fantastic.
    All the best from your Aussie mate Jack and Pauline. 🙂 .

     
    • The Emu

      December 16, 2015 at 11:23 am

      Thanks Jack, I leave on Sunday for South America, those Glaciers and Icebergs are going to be a far cry from the 42 degrees heat here in Mildura.
      Only carrying a camera but wish I had planned ahead for a video camera.
      Best wishes for a great Christmas mate for you and your family.
      Catch you around the traps in the New Year.
      Cheers.

       
  8. giselzitrone

    December 15, 2015 at 3:45 pm

    Einen schönen Nachmittag wünsche ich dir tolle Videos und Fotos von Wandern das ist schön liebe Grüße an dich und eine gute Woche eine Umarmung Gislinde

     
  9. Cryptic Garland

    December 15, 2015 at 10:05 am

    Hey man. That is fantastic. I hope you have a really great time. I’ll keep an eye on the weather in Mildura. (Today was bloody hot)

     
    • The Emu

      December 15, 2015 at 10:24 am

      Hi John, thanks for dropping by, 37 up here in Mildura today, looks like a warm Christmas here, am heading off on Sunday, Ana’s already in Chile and has booked my itinerary, must admit the Glaciers and Icebergs were quite a surprise, a far different cry from the weather back here.
      Will get some great pics I think, wish I had a Head cam or a good video recorder, should have planned for that long ago.
      Have a great Christmas mate, catch you around the traps on my return.
      Cheers.

       
  10. Michiko

    December 15, 2015 at 9:41 am

    Hi Ian! It was to hear from you it wad going to Chile. Your way are supper Ian no matter what of life you live a beautiful that life is about you.
    Have a take care of your life!
    michiko

     
    • The Emu

      December 15, 2015 at 10:27 am

      Thank you Dear Michiko, no matter how old we get we must keep trying to enjoy life, I love to find adventures and see different things, I will see Icebergs and Glaciers which means a cold climate, and back here in Australia we will be having a hot Summer.
      I wish you a Beautiful Christmas Dear Friend.
      Kind regards.

       
  11. cat

    December 15, 2015 at 6:28 am

    Have fun, and be well, my friend, hmmm? … Love, cat.

     
    • The Emu

      December 15, 2015 at 6:36 am

      Look after yourself my Gypsy Rover.
      Love Emu

       
  12. dancingpalmtrees

    December 15, 2015 at 12:04 am

    Merry Christmas! Have fun and be safe! Enjoy your adventure!!

     
    • The Emu

      December 15, 2015 at 1:28 am

      Thank you very much for your kind greeting.
      Wishing you a great Christmas and a great New Year.
      I am sure I will enjoy my adventure to Chile South America.
      Kind regards.

       
  13. Dennis Zaetta

    December 14, 2015 at 11:03 pm

    Good to have met up with you Ian at Bill Crosbie’s place in our hometown of Merbein. Have a great trip to Chile .I will put that place on my bucket list. I will be on the south island of New Zealand again for the new year and will no doubt get in some fishing in the sounds of the fjiordland

     
    • The Emu

      December 15, 2015 at 1:32 am

      G’day Dennis, sorry I didn’t recognize you there, got you in my list now.
      I envy your fishing trip, sounds like it is the home of Trout fishing, reminds me of my old days in Tasmania.
      I expect to feel a different sort of temperature hanging around the Glaciers and Icebergs way down south of Chile.
      Bloody hot here mate and expect to have a hot Summer when it arrives.
      All the best mate.
      Catch you around the traps.
      Cheers.

       
  14. Laine Jensen

    December 14, 2015 at 6:18 pm

    Fantastic post! Have a wonderful time Ian. You will be missed 🙂

     
    • The Emu

      December 15, 2015 at 1:33 am

      Thank you Laine.
      Wishing you all the best for the Christmas and New Year.
      Cheers.

       
      • Laine Jensen

        December 15, 2015 at 4:37 am

        Cheers 🙂

         
  15. GP Cox

    December 14, 2015 at 11:11 am

    Ian, have a safe trip and a terrific Christmas and New Years – we’ll be here waiting!

     
    • The Emu

      December 15, 2015 at 1:34 am

      Thanks gp, best wishes to you mate.
      Cheers.

       
  16. prenin

    December 14, 2015 at 9:22 am

    Have fun my friend!!! 🙂

    God Bless and safe journey!!! 🙂

    Prenin.

     
    • The Emu

      December 14, 2015 at 9:30 am

      Thanks Prenin, all the best to you for a great Christmas mate.

       
  17. davidprosser

    December 14, 2015 at 8:36 am

    Have a Great Tine Ian
    Nadolig Llawen
    HUGS

     
    • The Emu

      December 14, 2015 at 9:31 am

      Thanks David, all the best to you and your family for a great Christmas season.

       
  18. wonkywizard

    December 14, 2015 at 8:24 am

    Merry Christmas & New Year to you and partner, enjoy your trip.

     
    • The Emu

      December 14, 2015 at 9:32 am

      Thanks My Friend, all the best to you and your family for a great Christmas season.
      Best wishes for the New Year.

       
  19. derrickjknight

    December 14, 2015 at 8:07 am

    Have a great trip Ian. See you in February

     
    • The Emu

      December 14, 2015 at 9:33 am

      Thanks Derrick, all the best to you and your family for a great Christmas mate.
      Best wishes for the New Year.
      Cheers.

       
  20. zdunno03

    December 14, 2015 at 5:38 am

    Have a good trip. I loved Chile when I was there but that was almost 20 years ago.

     
    • The Emu

      December 14, 2015 at 5:55 am

      Thanks mate, looks like I will see more this trip than back in 2009, love the Bohemian lifestyle and architecture.
      The trip to the Glaciers is going to be a fantastic experience for this old guy.
      Cheers.

       

Leave a Reply

 
Prenin's little page

Just another WordPress.com site

Dreamwalker's Sanctuary

A Sanctuary for Enlightenment and Peace through Poetry and Inspirational Thoughts as we go through Life

Blog Kunterbund von G.B.

http://zitroneblog.wordpress.com

Welcome to Sheila's Space

Just another WordPress.com site

Colline's Blog

A potpourri of thoughts and experiences

wonkywizard

philosophising on meaning of life

Pacific Paratrooper

This WordPress.com site is Pacific War era information

witlessdatingafterfifty

Relationships reveal our hearts.

Dreamwalker's Garden

Growing Your Own Produce and Remedies

