RSS

Chilean Adventure 2016

19 Feb

I left Sydney airport on the 20th December, a direct flight to Chile South America. This was my second trip to Chile, my first was in 2009 where I lived for three and a half months, during that time I married my wife Ana. My first trip did not allow for much travelling or sightseeing; however this second trip was planned in detail, to allow us to travel from the north of Chile to the Patagonia region way south of Chile.

The flight was of twelve hour duration, and again when I arrived, I found I had arrived before I left Australia due to the time difference, rather confusing as the same was reversed on my return.

Santiago was to be the home base for our adventures; I invite you to travel with me up to the beautiful old harbour city of Valparaiso. Valparaiso is a port city on Chile’s coast. It is known for its steep funiculars and colourful cliff top homes; here we explore the flamboyant colourful back streets and alleys that Valparaiso is renowned for.

We leave Valparaiso for Santiago to begin the highlights of journey, from Santiago we board a Sky airlines plane for the Southern Chile city of Chacabuco, and arrive at the small airport called Balmaceda; from here it is a two hour fifteen minute bus drive to our destination of Puerto Aysen. Our accommodation was at the Hotel Loberias Del Sur.

Our adventure begins the next day, join me in hiking ( slowly ) through the Queulat national park where we hike to the top and witness the phenomenal Hanging Glacier, imagine the horrendous roaring of the ice being pushed over the tip to tumble into the raging ravine below. We leave the Hanging Glacier and by Catamaran and Zodiac boat, we venture to the San Rafael lagoon and witness the huge Continental ice shelf, get up close by Zodiac boat and touch the 120 million year old ice. Later on back on board the Catamaran, enjoy a whiskey with some of the 120 million year old ice, smoother than an Angels kiss.

We leave the Continental Ice shelf and journey on to the spectacular Marble Chapels; these were only discovered less than twenty five years ago, due to earthquake activity these marble caves were thrust to the surface from the ice age period. Here we boat through the caves and see the wonders from the Ice age, the majestic formations and rock patterns.

Therein ends the highlights of our Chilean adventure, but before I post any further I will share with you, some panoramic pictures of our Home base, Santiago. These pictures were taken from the Costanera Tower, the highest building in Latin America.

The Costanera Tower is sixty two floors high; it takes two minutes to reach the top. Upon entering the elevator, the guide advises us that the only difference we will feel is a popping of the ears. I looked at the floor indicator and saw we were passing each floor at a rate of one floor every two seconds, the ears did pop and we stepped out onto viewing floor, 360 degrees of the sprawling metropolis of Santiago with the Mountain ranges of the Cordillera Del Los Andes as a backdrop. I was told that the sight is more spectacular at night and in Winter, this being because the Andes are covered in snow and with the night lights of the city, are truly spectacular.

I look forward to sharing my posts with you.

I hope everyone is in the best of Health, and the New Year is full of Love and Happiness

Cheers

Emu aka Ian

 

 

 
37 Comments

Posted by on February 19, 2016 in Uncategorized

 

37 responses to “Chilean Adventure 2016

  1. natswans

    March 6, 2016 at 2:11 pm

    Hi Ian great to hear you had a fab time, looks truly amazing. A 12 hour flight yikes! Popping of ears I take an hour plane flight to my home town, and I can’ t hear a thing. Love the shots oh it’s very exciting , and lovely you are sharing your adventures with us.

     
    • The Emu

      March 7, 2016 at 7:57 am

      Thank you so much for following my adventures and taking the time to comment Sheila.
      I am planning further adventures next year, I need time out to recuperate after the last one, we really filled a lot in, in six weeks.
      Cheers.

       
  2. Monica

    February 29, 2016 at 3:59 am

    Fabulous photos of a twice-in-a-lifetime trip!

     
    • The Emu

      March 5, 2016 at 2:15 am

      Thanks Monica, I don’t think my adventures are over yet, planning for another trip next year to the Atacama Desert up North and the Tierra del Fuego down South, trying to keep active till the body says no more.
      Kind regards.
      Emu.

       
  3. Sue Dreamwalker

    February 28, 2016 at 1:16 pm

    Ian I am going to love walking around Chile with you and Ana.. 🙂 and Love the graphic at the top.. Stunning views you have shown us ..Those mountains in the back ground.. bringing the vastness of the view into perspective..
    Thank you for sharing Ian.. 🙂

     
  4. Eddie Two Hawks

    February 27, 2016 at 1:15 pm

    what a fabulous adventure! great story and photos Ian. but the long plane flight?? wow

     
    • The Emu

      February 28, 2016 at 5:01 am

      A damn long flight Eddie, weird, two hours short going over but two hours added coming back, lost a day going and added a day coming back, bloody confused mate, even the Jet lag got confused.
      Cheers and best wishes mate.
      Ian aka Emu

       
  5. Bullright

    February 22, 2016 at 4:07 pm

    Excellent information. Was not aware of the number of islands and amount of coastline.

     
    • The Emu

      February 24, 2016 at 5:49 am

      Greetings my friend, thank you for taking the time to visit and comment, Chile is a narrow country with a long coastline, I was not aware how many islands there were down south in the Patagonia region, that area is really post Ice age scenery, hope you enjoy my forthcoming posts.
      I look forward to following your very interesting site.
      I can also be found on my alternative site,
      http://aussieian2010.wordpress.com/
      Emu aka Ian

       
  6. giselzitrone

    February 21, 2016 at 1:14 pm

    Tolle Bilder ich wünsche dir einen schönen Sonntag Grüße und Umarmung Gislinde

     
    • The Emu

      February 22, 2016 at 8:21 am

      Dank Gislinde, froh, mochte man meinen Bildern, Montag hier so wünscht Ihnen eine schöne Woche.
      Mit freundlichen Grüßen und den besten Wünschen.

       
  7. auntyuta

    February 20, 2016 at 7:45 am

    Good to see you and Ana are back home safely, Ian. Looking forward to your posts about Chile.
    Thanks for sharing your pictures from the highest building of Latin America.

     
    • The Emu

      February 21, 2016 at 2:26 am

      Hi Uta and Peter, lovely to hear from you and hope you both are well and enjoying the New Year.
      It is good to be home but still trying to get the body back into rhythm, we certainly covered a lot of territory in Chile over our time there, I am sure you will enjoy the fantastic pictures we captured, particularly the Glaciers and Ice Shelf.
      Kind regards and best wishes to you both.
      Cheers.

       
      • auntyuta

        February 21, 2016 at 7:02 am

        Thank you Ian. The New Year has brought already a lot of changes into our lives. These are changes we are quite happy with. We have a big trip to be looking forward to. We will be gone during the month of June. Best wishes to you and Ana. We know it takes time to get back into a normal rhythm.

        t

         
        • The Emu

          February 21, 2016 at 7:44 am

          Good to hear your New Year has bought good changes to you and Peter, look forward to hearing about your big trip and seeing some great pictures.
          I am sure you will have your ever ready camera handy to record some memorable moments.
          I still have many pics to post on our trip to the Royal Edinburgh Military Tattoo, somehow we arrived home from Chile and then boarded a plane to Melbourne, jet lag is all over the place.
          Cheers.

           
  8. george parsons

    February 19, 2016 at 4:51 pm

    G’day Emu,

    What a wonderful adventure you are experiencing, thanks mate for sharing.

    Keep the up-dates coming Emu, I love reading about your adventures 👍 . Keep safe old mate and may 2016 be kind to you,

    George

    Sent from my iPad

    >

     
    • The Emu

      February 19, 2016 at 11:01 pm

      Greetings George, great to hear from you old mate, hope your travelling well and enjoying life.
      I think I am getting a bit too old to be climbing Glaciers at my age, only way I kept going was remembering how we climbed the Cathedral down in Healesville. Looking forward to meeting up sometime George, was down in Melbourne for the Edinburgh Military Tattoo recently, impressive but I did expect more.
      Cheers Mate.

       
  9. Mél@nie

    February 19, 2016 at 4:37 pm

    hola, que tal Juan! 🙂 como estas? muy bien, I hope… my very best y hasta luego! 🙂

     
    • The Emu

      February 19, 2016 at 11:04 pm

      Hola mi amiga, thanks for the lovely comment, its good to be home and I look forward to catching up on my friends posts.
      To my shame I have to admit I still have not learnt Spanish, I rely on my wife as interpreter.
      Kindest regards and best wishes.
      Ian

       
      • Mél@nie

        February 22, 2016 at 7:59 am

        it’s never too late to learn the language of your darlin’ wife… at least some of it, just to get around a bit… 🙂 have a great week & c u asap, Juan! 🙂

         
        • The Emu

          February 22, 2016 at 8:19 am

          I agree Melanie, if I was to live in Chile for an extended time, I would certainly learn the language quicker, being in Australia my wife speaks English and it’s only a few times I learn a few words, I did know the basics when I was over there but very frustrating in the family circle to join in conversations.
          Kind regards and best wishes.

           
  10. GP Cox

    February 19, 2016 at 12:16 pm

    Kind of reminds me of Brooklyn or the Bronx, New York in these aerial shots.

     
    • The Emu

      February 19, 2016 at 11:14 pm

      Greetings gp, good to be back and look forward to catching up on my friends posts.
      Yes those shots could be Brooklyn or the Bronx, some of those buildings are over twenty floors so you can imagine my view from 62 floors.
      Cheers gp
      Kind regards and best wishes.

       
  11. prenin

    February 19, 2016 at 11:47 am

    P.S: WordPress isn’t working properly and I’m not getting email notifications unless you ‘Like’ my pages and comments.

    Bloody wordepress… 😦

     
    • The Emu

      February 19, 2016 at 11:16 pm

      Greetings Prenin, had all my notifications turned off while I was away and have just reinstated them. Wouldn’t have been fair to come home to a great stack of emails and not being able to catch up, I see one of your posts appearing now so they will come in again.
      Cheers and best wishes mate.

       
  12. prenin

    February 19, 2016 at 11:46 am

    Welcome home! 🙂

    The pictures look great – those that downloaded properly!!! 🙂

    Glad to have you back my friend! 🙂

    God Bless!

    Prenin.

     
    • The Emu

      February 19, 2016 at 11:19 pm

      Yes I realized too late that downloading was going to be a problem, the size of the pictures are too large.
      Some of those buildings are over twenty stories high, so you can imagine my view from sixty two stories.
      Cheers.

       
      • prenin

        February 22, 2016 at 10:29 am

        No worries Ian – still amazing shots!!! 🙂

        Hope you have a great week my friend, it’s 6.6’C Here this morning with a bitterly cold breeze! 🙂

        God Bless!

        Prenin.

         
  13. sudiste1359

    February 19, 2016 at 9:19 am

    nice trip dear

     
    • The Emu

      February 19, 2016 at 11:26 pm

      Thanks Sudiste, it was certainly an adventure and I look forward to sharing some great pictures.
      I do hope you are well and enjoying the start of the New Year
      Best wishes and kind regards.
      Ian

       
  14. derrickjknight

    February 19, 2016 at 8:32 am

    Glad you are keeping in touch

     
    • The Emu

      February 19, 2016 at 11:29 pm

      Greetings Derrick, glad to be home and look forward to sharing some great pics of my adventure, also be good to catch up on what has been going on in my Word Press friends world.
      Best wishes and kind regards.
      Emu aka Ian

       
      • derrickjknight

        February 20, 2016 at 7:32 am

        Welcome home. You’ll see from another comment that I hadn’t realised you were back 🙂

         
        • The Emu

          February 21, 2016 at 2:14 am

          Hi Derrick, yep definitely back and still feeling the effects of six weeks non stop touring, the body is starting to feel the wear these days, back not the best but it got me to the top of the Hanging Glacier, hope you find them interesting when I catch up on my posts.
          Kind regards and best wishes Mate.

           
  15. davidprosser

    February 19, 2016 at 7:49 am

    Stunning photographs Ian.
    Hugs

     
    • The Emu

      February 19, 2016 at 11:31 pm

      Greetings David, good to be home and look forward to sharing some great pictures of my adventure, also be good to catch up on my WordPress Friends posts and see how everyone is doing.
      Some of the buildings in those pics are over twenty stories high, so you can imagine my view at sixty two stories.
      Best wishes and kind regards

       

Leave a Reply

 
Prenin's little page

Just another WordPress.com site

Dreamwalker's Sanctuary

A Sanctuary for Enlightenment and Peace through Poetry and Inspirational Thoughts as we go through Life

Blog Kunterbund von G.B.

http://zitroneblog.wordpress.com

Welcome to Sheila's Space

Just another WordPress.com site

Colline's Blog

A potpourri of thoughts and experiences

wonkywizard

philosophising on meaning of life

Pacific Paratrooper

This WordPress.com site is Pacific War era information

witlessdatingafterfifty

Relationships reveal our hearts.

Dreamwalker's Garden

Growing Your Own Produce and Remedies

