RSS

Santiago Alive

06 Mar

We bid farewell to the beautiful city of Valparaiso, and boarded the bus back to Santiago, a trip of about an hour and a half. Leaving Valparaiso, we climb the hills that boarder the Great Cordillera del los Andes, the highway to Santiago takes us through a number of Toll booths, as well as a number of magnificently constructed Tunnels, Tunnels that are illuminated and have air vents throughout, they are monitored via camera continuously. Arriving back in Santiago we relaxed and prepared for the next phase of our Adventure down to the South of Chile and the magnificent country known as the Patagonia region, here was the Hanging Glacier, which I wanted to climb, and also to visit the last Continental Ice shelf close up.

Santiago gave us time to prepare the final details for our tour of the Patagonia region; we did find time to once again; explore the Majestic Metropolis of Santiago, its colourful streets, street vendors adding their diverse array of wares on every footpath. Entertainers that appear throughout downtown Santiago, and its Malls and streets, entertaining with world class exhibitions. I introduce you to some of these excellent Artists that perform throughout the Great city. The first of these talented Artists is the one I have called, The Angel of Santiago.

The Angel of Santiago is a Statue, as are many of the Living Artists that dot the streets of downtown Santiago, she animates after a donation is left in a box at the base of her pedestal, which I noted was a donation to the Chilean Artists Society. I watched her for a long time, I was enthralled, there was a large crowd surrounding the Angel, I can’t say she was lifelike, because she was a living person, I can’t find a word opposite to lifelike so I accepted the word Statue, she was a statue that came to life. She was completely covered in Gold, She had Golden wings, her clothing was Golden, and overall she reminded me of a painting from the days of Michaelangelo. I watched her routine, someone from the crowd would place a donation into her box at the base of the pedestal, in slow animation motion, she would appear to come to life, She would extend her arm, and if you were close enough, she would gently caress your face, then slowly move her hand to a small box cradled in her left arm, withdraw a small piece of paper and offer it to you, as you accepted and walked away, she would raise her arm , in what I can only describe as a symbolic gesture or blessing of love, her gaze never wavered from you until the next donation was made. With prompting from my wife for a photographic picture, it was my turn, I approached the statue and placed my donation in the bog, she began to move her head, I felt an overwhelming feeling of Spirituality, a lump came into my mouth, this cannot be real I thought, I was witnessing something unbelievable. She looked directly into my eyes, I have to admit, I was in some form of reverential awe, she extended her arm in a motion of love, then moved her arm to the small box, all in slow motion, extracted a card and held it out to me, I accepted and stepped back, her hand was raised in a form of a love blessing, her gaze remained on me back in the crowd, until the next donation was made. I watched her for a long time after, the feeling of witnessing something so beautiful, so unbelievable was uncanny, My Angel did come to life, so that memory is recorded in my sojourn in life, as The Angel of Santiago.

My second statue, is one I have called The Senator, he is garbed in the robes, that remind me of the Roman Senators, he holds his poise in a typical Senator stance, the only difference was my Senator was wearing sunglasses, they did not detract from his overall performance, after placing the contribution in his collection box, he animated, he would extend his arm with hand open, in a gesture of friendship, if he could see you wished a photo with him, in slow motion, he would raise his arm across your shoulder.

There are many such talented Artists throughout Chile, varying age groups and varying talents, from the street pavement artists to the Musical artists.

The Chinchineros are a troupe of entertainers that frequent the streets of Santiago, they can be found performing individually, or in groups, their art is in the ability to play the drum, on their back, at the same time as playing the Cymbals and the Tambourine whilst doing a dance routine.

The next entertainment you will find on Chilean streets, is their National dance, the Quechua, this is a flamboyant dance with intricate movements, which I admire greatly but have no possibility of learning, their costumes are traditional, as is the music.

Enjoy my pictorial contribution to the flamboyant and beautiful South American country of Chile, and its great array of Artisic talent.

Cheers

Emu aka Ian

 
22 Comments

Posted by on March 6, 2016 in Uncategorized

 

22 responses to “Santiago Alive

  1. reocochran

    March 18, 2016 at 11:10 pm

    I am adding I enjoyed the flamenco style dancing and the folk band with drums on backs. 🙂

     
    • The Emu

      March 19, 2016 at 7:46 am

      You would love to see the Chinchineros in action Robin, they are excellent and draw huge crowds in the streets.
      You can google Chinchineros and see some great performances.
      Cheers.

       
  2. reocochran

    March 18, 2016 at 11:06 pm

    I love living stayed, almost like mimes but so slow in their movements and if you blink you may miss something!

     
    • reocochran

      March 18, 2016 at 11:09 pm

      Ian, sorry. I wrote “living statue’s” and somehow it changed on cell phone to “stayed.” Silly technology and silly me! 🙂

       
      • The Emu

        March 19, 2016 at 7:44 am

        I understood your error and had a bit of a laugh.
        Always happens to me when I have too many Beers too, hehe, only joking Robin.

         
    • The Emu

      March 19, 2016 at 7:42 am

      Agree Robin, they are marvelous to watch and you have to watch closely as you say.

       
  3. Renee Espriu

    March 11, 2016 at 4:21 am

    Love this and you are so fortunate to have been able to interact with them. They are both wonderful to see. Your photos awesome. Take care!

     
    • The Emu

      March 11, 2016 at 11:19 am

      Thank you Renee, I do so love live Art and I wasn’t disappointed in Chile.
      Thank you for taking the time to read and comment on my posts.
      Cheers.

       
  4. giselzitrone

    March 7, 2016 at 1:37 pm

    Was für schöne Fotos lieber Gruß von mir und einen schönen Montag wünsche dir eine gute Woche lieber Gruß und Umarmung Gislinde

     
    • The Emu

      March 11, 2016 at 12:05 pm

      Danke mein Freund Schöne Gislinde, sehr glücklich zu wissen, dass Sie meine Bilder geschätzt, in der Hoffnung Sie gut sind. Vielen Dank für Ihre schönen Besuch und Kommentar, ich liebe immer Ihre Besuche auf meinem Platz Gislinde.

       
  5. davidprosser

    March 7, 2016 at 8:11 am

    Great pictures Ian.
    Hugs

     
    • The Emu

      March 7, 2016 at 9:17 am

      Thanks David for your appreciative comment.
      Kind regards.
      Cheers.

       
  6. Sue Dreamwalker

    March 6, 2016 at 1:56 pm

    What magic you have brought to life here Ian.. Love these living statues, and the patience and stillness these people possess is unreal.. And I love it when they come to life after you have donated a kind offering .. 🙂 So nice to see an offering back.
    When I visited Barcelona there was a statue of Christ.. He came to life and offered me a small cross.. I still carry in my purse today 🙂

     
    • The Emu

      March 7, 2016 at 8:30 am

      Hi Sue, I was absolutely enthralled with that Angel, Ana had to drag me away from her, if she was not in the street, but in a Church, it would be easy to say you were witnessing a Miracle, you must have had the same emotion as I did with your statue of Christ Sue, it really is a Spiritual feeling.
      Cheers.

       
      • Sue Dreamwalker

        March 7, 2016 at 3:15 pm

        It is… and they did exude a sense of peace too in their silent statue of calm presence.

         
        • The Emu

          March 11, 2016 at 11:41 am

          Agree wholeheartedly Sue, I actually was in a reverential awe with the Angel.
          Wasa beautiful moment that will be treasured.
          Cheers.

           
  7. derrickjknight

    March 6, 2016 at 11:57 am

    Excellent pictures and descriptions, Ian

     
    • The Emu

      March 6, 2016 at 12:28 pm

      Thanks Derrick, visit and comment much appreciated.
      Cheers.

       
  8. GP Cox

    March 6, 2016 at 11:50 am

    Shaking hands with a live statue – cute Ian!

     
    • The Emu

      March 6, 2016 at 11:51 am

      Different mate, quite an experience, Cheers.

       
  9. einfachtilda

    March 6, 2016 at 11:27 am

    Klasse 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
Prenin's little page

Just another WordPress.com site

Dreamwalker's Sanctuary

A Sanctuary for Enlightenment and Peace through Poetry and Inspirational Thoughts as we go through Life

Blog Kunterbund von G.B.

http://zitroneblog.wordpress.com

Welcome to Sheila's Space

Just another WordPress.com site

Colline's Blog

A potpourri of thoughts and experiences

wonkywizard

philosophising on meaning of life

Pacific Paratrooper

This WordPress.com site is Pacific War era information

witlessdatingafterfifty

Relationships reveal our hearts.

Dreamwalker's Garden

Growing Your Own Produce and Remedies

