RSS

Valparaiso Harbour

11 Mar

I have been trying to relate our Chilean experiences in Chronological order; however enthusiasm in writing our adventures, sometimes some aspects are overlooked, and only realized on reflection. Before I take you to the Patagonian region of Southern Chile, with your indulgence I would like to go back to Valparaiso, and share with you, a memorable moment touring the Valparaiso Harbour.

We had seen the Harbour from the high hills that looked down over the Commercial hub, and out over the bay, this time we were to see the city from the Harbour, back up into the hills. We arrived at the pier early morning, and found it a hive of colourful activity, there were Ships and Boats of all sizes, Cruise boats, Fishing vessels, Cargo vessels and general sea craft of all descriptions. We boarded a small boat with about fifteen other passengers, The Tour guide could also speak English, which he did so often throughout the hour tour, for my benefit. Leaving the Pier, the first Ship that we passed was a massive Cargo Ship anchored in the Bay, its decks were stacked high with Shipping containers, it was either preparing to dock for unloading, or preparing for departure, the sheer size of the containers was massive, stacked one on top of the other, I think I counted about eight high, that’s not including what was in the hold. The next Ships to come into view were the Ships of the Chilean Navy, two were docked and one was standing off the shore, very impressive Vessels and bedecked in various forms of Armament, Chile does have a great Navy Fleet and Valparaiso is its home port, Valparaiso is also the home of the Naval training ship, the Esmeralda. Way out in the Bay we could look back and see Valparaiso in a different perspective, right up from the Commercial district, the hills were visible in all directions, houses on top of houses as far as the eye could see, all different styles of Architecture, and the varying colours lit up the vista like a giant mosaic jigsaw puzzle. What was amazing was the amount of High Rise buildings constructed along the Shoreline, huge buildings with some over twenty stories high, I was assured that with new technology, they were constructed in a manner that conforms with Earthquake expectations, however I must admit, in the back of my mind, I felt that maybe Mother Nature can be very violent at times, and her Temper can override man’s achievements.  Heading back into port, we found a magnificent colony of Sea Wolves, all relaxing in the shade of some form of abandoned Port, or Maritime structure, an impressive sight and Beautiful Sea Animal, they are known as Sea Wolves in Chile, and more commonly known as Sea Lions in other Countries. The final few pictures I share with you, are a close up of a very solitary Sea Wolf, alone She relaxed on an isolated piece of Maritime construction, how did I know it was a She Wolf?, as we got up close in the boat, I took out my camera, She raised herself up and started brushing her hair, and putting her make up on, She posed for the picture in a Regal manner, Her Skin was glistening like black leather, her body showed scars of many successful underwater wars, a truly magnificent  Sea Animal, and a beautiful memorable moment that I was fortunate to capture. Enjoy my pictures and I look forward to taking you down to the Patagonian region of Southern Chile, where we visit the Hanging Glacier at Quelat National Park, then to Lake General Carrera where we tour the Ice age Marble Caves, we finish my series with a visit to one of the Worlds last Continental Shelfs at San Rafael Lagune.

Cheers

Aussie Emu

 
26 Comments

Posted by on March 11, 2016 in Uncategorized

 

26 responses to “Valparaiso Harbour

  1. natswans

    April 3, 2016 at 11:09 am

    The photo’s are amazing high rises near the sea mmm.
    The Wolf Seal is beautiful , I love your descripton of her brushing her hair. I would have loved to have been that close to these lovely Seals.

    What a great adventure loving it.
    Sheila

     
    • The Emu

      April 4, 2016 at 10:48 am

      Hi Sheila, thanks for the lovely comment, that Sea Wolf was so close I felt like giving her a hug, if Sea Wolves can smile I am sure she did.
      Kind regards and Best wishes.

       
  2. reocochran

    March 18, 2016 at 11:04 pm

    The water reflecting boats, ships and buildings was mesmerizing. I fell that dizzying effect that water movement sometimes makes one seasick. I lived the vibrant colors and your sharing the trip with us. Thanks so much! 🙂

     
    • The Emu

      March 19, 2016 at 7:41 am

      Glad you are liking my Chilean adventures Robin , quite an experience which I will add to further next year, with the Atacama Desert and other great places.
      Cheers.

       
  3. Sue Dreamwalker

    March 16, 2016 at 3:03 pm

    Haha.. Loved the ‘She Wolf’ brushing her hair and posing 🙂 I bet those maritime vessels were very interesting too close up Ian.. Thank you for sharing and how lovely that your guide for the hour also spoke English for your benefit.. Wonderful 🙂

     
    • The Emu

      March 17, 2016 at 8:27 am

      Those Maritime Vessels were monstrous Sue, hard to imagine them floating across the World carrying that size cargo.
      I loved that She Wolf, She was so elegant and Regal, I felt like reaching out to her, like a playful puppy.

       
  4. giselzitrone

    March 13, 2016 at 8:32 am

    Schöne Fotos und guter Beitrag wünsche dir einen schönen Sonntag Grüße und Küsse Gislinde

     
    • The Emu

      March 13, 2016 at 10:44 am

      Thank you Dear Gislinde.
      Sincerest kind regards and best wishes to you.
      Cheers.

       
  5. bacardi gold

    March 13, 2016 at 3:44 am

    Amazing photos. Nice collection of memories! cheers!

     
    • The Emu

      March 13, 2016 at 10:43 am

      Thanks Bacardi Gold, glad you appreciated my pictures, they certainly are a once in a lifetime memory.
      Like your name, says a lot about the personality behind the name haha
      Cheers mate.

       
      • bacardi gold

        March 13, 2016 at 2:05 pm

        thanks a lot, The Emu…also your gravatar says a smiling blogger down south traveling around the glove, thanks for sharing your journey and your future trips… 🙂

         
        • The Emu

          March 15, 2016 at 6:54 am

          G’day mate, thanks for the visit, I see by your site you are quite a traveler also.
          Damned if I can find that misprint you pointed out, unless it’s in one of my posts, will check again.
          Cheers.

           
          • bacardi gold

            March 15, 2016 at 10:39 am

            Quite, just quite a traveler! hehe !:) I’m always visited by my hypertension so the travel is not as often as I like it to be. Maybe this year…:) not yet sure!

             
          • The Emu

            March 16, 2016 at 4:26 am

            Greetings Bacardi Gold, I find that travel keeps the old body going,
            I have so many plans to accomplish before the body says no more, travel while you can my friend, enjoy life before it’s behind you.
            Cheers.

             
          • bacardi gold

            March 16, 2016 at 5:54 am

            I’ll push myself…without forgetting my medicines…i agree with you, totally! Traveling makes you understand and discover yourself more! have a good day, The Emu! 🙂

             
          • The Emu

            March 16, 2016 at 6:06 am

            Excellent advice mate.
            Cheers.

             
          • bacardi gold

            March 16, 2016 at 6:23 am

            Thanks a lot…! 🙂

             
  6. derrickjknight

    March 12, 2016 at 9:55 am

    Excellent pictures. Ian

     
    • The Emu

      March 13, 2016 at 10:36 am

      Thanks Derrick, glad you appreciated my efforts.
      Cheers.

       
  7. GP Cox

    March 11, 2016 at 10:52 am

    You did a great job on the pictures, Ian. It sure sounds like you two had a terrific time and it shows!

     
    • The Emu

      March 11, 2016 at 11:11 am

      Thanks gp was an extraordinary experience, haven’t finished yet.
      Still going through my emails and see I have quite a bit of catching up to do.
      Cheers mate.

       
  8. davidprosser

    March 11, 2016 at 7:56 am

    Brilliant pictures Ian. They’ll carry some great memories.
    Hugs

     
    • The Emu

      March 11, 2016 at 11:13 am

      Thanks David, was an extraordinary experience, still got a few posts to do yet.
      Still catching up on email posts.
      Cheers mate and best wishes, big hug to you also.
      Cheers.

       
  9. Renee Espriu

    March 11, 2016 at 4:18 am

    Love the photos and the story. When people travel I feel I’ve nearly been there as it is something I will not do in my lifetime. Thanks for sharing!

     
    • The Emu

      March 11, 2016 at 11:40 am

      Thank you Renee for your kind comments, I like to think that with my adventures, I actually take my readers on the same adventure.
      Sometimes in life we do end up doing something we never envisaged, I never thought at my age, that I would accomplish two visits to Chile and all the little pieces in between.
      Life is short Renee, keep smiling and enjoy every moment.
      Cheers.

       

Leave a Reply

 
einfachtilda

Viele Bilder, wenig Worte!!

Peppermint

Wicked Commentary

Prenin's little page

Just another WordPress.com site

Dreamwalker's Sanctuary

A Sanctuary for Enlightenment and Peace through Poetry and Inspirational Thoughts as we go through Life

Blog Kunterbund von G.B.

http://zitroneblog.wordpress.com

Welcome to Sheila's Space

Just another WordPress.com site

wonkywizard

philosophising on meaning of life via poetry and prose

Pacific Paratrooper

This WordPress.com site is Pacific War era information

witlessdatingafterfifty

Relationships reveal our hearts.

Dreamwalker's Garden

Growing Your Own Produce and Remedies

