RSS

Memories of Chile

06 Jun

Having returned in February from our adventures in Chile, and completed a brief series on our various escapades that have been posted, I have now been going through the photographs of our memorable experiences in South America. In all it appears that over 7000 photographs were taken, from the North of Chile to the Patagonian region down South, including the major cities of Santiago and Valparaiso. Each photograph is a story within itself. I have randomly selected some for your perusal. The photographs are of varying subjects that appealed to my eyes, I think if you double click on the picture they enlarge. They are mainly street scenes that are part of everyday Chile, one photograph depicts Dolls hanging outside a building, a rather macabre looking building and I have no idea its meaning or intention, another shows a gentleman sleeping between two cars, respect is afforded to these people, other photographs were taken on the spur of the moment, such as the four dogs watching TV in a shop window, and another of a Dog behind a security window, that one I labelled, I Was Framed, as he does look forlorn and in prison. Looking back on my photographs it reminded me as to how diverse and beautiful Chile is, colourful images in my camera lens every time, that really illustrate the vibrancy and life of this South American country.

Cheers

Emu aka Ian

http://aussieian2010.wordpress.com/

https://aussieemu.wordpress.com/

 
28 Comments

Posted by on June 6, 2016 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , ,

28 responses to “Memories of Chile

  1. auntyuta

    October 10, 2016 at 9:06 pm

    Great memories, Ian.
    Marta, the instructor of our slow movement exercise class, is from Chile. I just sent her the YouTube link to this wonderful Chilean music. ‘Gracias a la vida’ is beautiful! 🙂

     
    • aussieian2011

      October 12, 2016 at 9:21 am

      Hi Uta, ask your instructor does she know the Cueca, and does she know if it is taught in Australia ?
      It’s pronounced kway ka.

       
      • auntyuta

        October 12, 2016 at 8:38 pm

        Hi Ian, Marta replied already. Here it is:

        “HI UtA !
        thanks for sending the video about the
        Chilean National dance LA CUECA
        answering your question, yes I know the dance,
        I think there are some Chilean dance groups … in Sydney”

         
        • auntyuta

          October 12, 2016 at 8:51 pm

          CUERCA CHILENA
          I lookied this up on YouTube

           
          • aussieian2011

            October 18, 2016 at 12:10 pm

            Thanks Uta, it brings back memories of seeing it done in person, unfortunately I have not mastered the dance, maybe one day, you might enjoy this video clip.

             
          • auntyuta

            October 18, 2016 at 9:21 pm

            I just watched this video and enjoyed it very much, Thanks for that Ian. It made my day! 🙂

             
          • aussieian2011

            October 18, 2016 at 9:28 pm

            My pleasure Uta, have a great day
            Cheers.

             
  2. Eddie Two Hawks

    June 30, 2016 at 8:07 pm

    Nothing like travel to spark all kinds of activity. Great photos/ with wonderful story line
    Thanks Ian

     
    • aussieian2011

      June 30, 2016 at 11:58 pm

      Thanks Eddie, travel certainly is invigorating to both the mind and body.
      Cheers.

       
  3. giselzitrone

    June 20, 2016 at 9:35 am

    Wünsche dir einen schönen Montag so tolle Fotos es gibt so viel zu sehen,und ein schöner Beitrag ich wünsche dir eine gute neue Woche liebe Grüße und Umarmung Gislinde

     
  4. reocochran

    June 19, 2016 at 3:10 pm

    I really enjoyed the contrast and diversity in this collection of fascinating photographs! Emu, you have a real eye when it comes to capturing scenery, people, icons (Elizabeth Taylor) and the disparity between the impoverished and the ones who have money. I like churches and street scenes. Thanks for sharing and your lovely comment about the Grand Architect of the Sky and all on earth, too. Hugs, Robin xo

     
    • aussieian2011

      June 26, 2016 at 10:32 am

      Thank you Robin for that lovely comment, my eye perceives but thankfully my automatic camera does the work, you would be surprised how many of my rushed pictures have to be deleted.
      Perseverance is my motto Robin.
      Thanks for the lovely visit and comment, sorry for the late reply, my com has been down for four days, all well now.
      Cheers.

       
      • reocochran

        June 26, 2016 at 1:09 pm

        The pictures of the old fashioned bricked streets with lamps on the street, plus street scenes with people reminded me of how when we were young my parents showed us the world through fantastic National Geographic magazine.
        I like the sing Lionel Ritchie sings about, “Dancing in the Streets,” do you,? Have a wonderful day, Ana and Ian ❤

         
        • aussieian2011

          June 26, 2016 at 2:00 pm

          You have really captured my view of the scenes Robin, I too love the cobblestones, old gas lights, people in gay colours, going back again next year for more exciting adventures.
          Cheers.

           
  5. Sue Dreamwalker

    June 9, 2016 at 11:52 am

    Ian waat a wonderful collection of photo’s you have brought us.. I love the ones of the animals too, and especially that little dog in the window.. ;-)… Sad isn’t it that even though there is all this progression around the world we still within all of our countries have the homeless who are sleeping on our streets.. My hearts go out to many who find themselves in this situation.. One which is even harder to escape from.
    I hope you will be sharing more of your 7000 images.. I know how easy it is to click away.. I took over 300 in Scotland 🙂 Some of the indoor variety I will be sharing soon.
    Sending you and Ana much love..
    Sue xx

     
    • aussieian2011

      June 10, 2016 at 9:10 am

      Hi Sue, thanks for the visit and comments, I think I took over 50 photos of that little dog, there were three of them behind the window, it was a sewing shop and the dogs were kept as guard dogs and would bark at the passerby’s, there was one with the three dogs heads in the window, it was beautiful, unfortunately didn’t come out on long lens.I was going to show the beggar downside of Chile but thanks to Ana, decided not, some of the scenes are heartbreaking, one particular case was a quadruple amputee, his carers place him in the streets as begging, begging is rife over there due to no Government support for the unemployed. The Chilean people frown on photographing that side of their country, as much as they do on taking pictures of the packs of dogs that roam the streets. Rabies is alive in Chile.
      I hope you enjoy my future photographs Sue.
      Best wishes for a great weekend.

       
      • Sue Dreamwalker

        June 11, 2016 at 8:58 am

        Yes it is very sad that so many have such hard lives with little support and how others take advantage over those with disabilaties. I look forward to more photo’s.. xxx

         
        • The Emu

          June 11, 2016 at 9:02 am

          Thanks Sue.
          Cheers.

           
      • Michiko

        June 15, 2016 at 6:44 am

        Ian! If lock is a raindrop I’d send you a shower I hope is a minute I’d send you an hour if happiness is a leaf I’d give you a tree an if you need a friend know you’ll always have me
        No one would be interested,so I with not bother posting!
        Have a nice weekend.
        michiko

         
        • aussieian2011

          June 17, 2016 at 9:25 am

          What a lovely saying Michiko, I love it and will treasure those beautiful words.
          You are a Beautiful friend and I truly thank you for your friendship.
          Enjoy a great weekend Michiko.

           
  6. peppermintfarm

    June 7, 2016 at 1:51 pm

    Very interesting and good pictures. My nephew serves at the American embassy in Santiago.

     
    • aussieian2011

      June 8, 2016 at 12:44 pm

      Appreciate you taking the time to visit and comment, pleased you liked my selection of pictures.
      Having had dealings with the Australian Embassy in Chile, I can appreciate your nephew having a very interesting job at the American embassy, I presume he is conversant in Spanish, something I am not.
      Kind regards and best wishes.

       
  7. derrickjknight

    June 7, 2016 at 10:30 am

    A fascinating random selection, Ian. The rest should keep you going for a few years 🙂

     
    • aussieian2011

      June 8, 2016 at 12:41 pm

      Thanks Derrick, there are so many that it certainly will overlap my next trip back next year.
      Cheers.

       
  8. GP Cox

    June 6, 2016 at 6:22 pm

    It is a very diverse place, I have to give it that. Your photography is great.

     
    • aussieian2011

      June 8, 2016 at 12:40 pm

      Thanks gp, I now call it my second home.
      Cheers.

       
  9. prenin

    June 6, 2016 at 4:51 pm

    Good camera work Ian! 🙂

    Yes, some very good shots and the last has my stomach rumbling at the thought of fresh baked goodies!!! 😛

    Thanks as always for sharing your adventures! 🙂

    God Bless!

    Prenin.

     
    • aussieian2011

      June 8, 2016 at 12:45 pm

      Thanks Prenin, my camera work is pure luck running on auto.
      Cheers.

       

Leave a Reply

 
Prenin's little page

Just another WordPress.com site

Dreamwalker's Sanctuary

A Sanctuary for Enlightenment and Peace through Poetry and Inspirational Thoughts as we go through Life

Blog Kunterbund von G.B.

http://zitroneblog.wordpress.com

Welcome to Sheila's Space

Just another WordPress.com site

Colline's Blog

A potpourri of thoughts and experiences

wonkywizard

philosophising on meaning of life

Pacific Paratrooper

This WordPress.com site is Pacific War era information

witlessdatingafterfifty

Relationships reveal our hearts.

Dreamwalker's Garden

Growing Your Own Produce and Remedies

