RSS
Image

A Castle of Ice

07 Nov

My Daughter Built Her Castle out of Ice

My Granddaughter was sitting on my knee, busily drawing in her colouring in book.
What are you drawing Beckie I asked, in a quiet voice?
I am drawing a castle and Mummy is the Queen of the castle she replied.
I looked across to the hospital bed; yes my Daughter was a Queen.
I didn’t see the hollow eyes, the shrunken cheeks, or the many sores that covered her face.
I saw a beautiful baby girl that once I held in my arms, a little girl so full of innocence.
Three years later, I held my Grand Daughters hand as we stood beside the Graveside.
Granddad Beckie asked is Mummy still a Queen, and does she have a castle.
Yes Beckie I replied, as I looked into the eyes of an innocent young child.
Your Mummy will always be a Queen, and now she has a castle in Gods Heaven.
We walked away from the graveside, I held my Granddaughters hand.
Why did Mummy have to die Granddad Beckie asked?
I knelt down on one knee, and took her little hands in mine.
Your Mummy chose her time to go Beckie, your Mummy was a Queen and built her castle in her dreams.
Your Mummy built her castle, but Mummy’s castle was built of Ice.
Is Mummy still a Queen Granddad?
Yes Beckie, she is and always will be.
We walked away hand in hand, I let the tears fall.
My Queen, my beautiful Daughter, had built her castle out of Ice.

11bebe43584ce4ee668c00ec8e3ee2c4.jpg

I wrote this story a few years back, as a form of highlighting the drug Ice that was becoming a scourge on our beautiful city.
Written originally with the idea of being made into a Television commercial.

 
40 Comments

Posted by on November 7, 2016 in Uncategorized

 

40 responses to “A Castle of Ice

  1. cat

    December 5, 2016 at 6:55 pm

    Just stopping by to say Hi, friend Ian and wishin U a very awesome Australian summer … Love, always and no matter what, cat.

     
    • aussieian2011

      December 7, 2016 at 11:54 am

      Hi Cat, thanks for the visit, our Summer will be hot this year, already into the 30s and another month will be in the 40s, no chance of a White Christmas where I live.
      Keep smiling Girl
      Cheers.

       
  2. Renee Espriu

    December 1, 2016 at 5:44 am

    So very touching. I, too, am familiar with the ravages drugs can do to people and it saddens me that it continues. I have two family members whose lives have been affected and they no longer feel they can change the way things are. Thank You!

     
    • aussieian2011

      December 1, 2016 at 1:40 pm

      Hi Renee, thanks for the visit and reading, This post was originally posted in our local newspapers at a time when the drug ICE was impacting badly on the community, it still is, sorry to hear your family has been touched by this evil, I wish I could offer some advice, but it seems that the only ones who can resolve the problem are those affected, in the end all we can do is offer support, but it is heartbreaking to be touched by this disease.
      You have my Best wishes and Prayers Renee.

       
  3. Michiko

    November 14, 2016 at 6:12 am

    A beautiful of poighant story with grandpa with his granddaughter. Ian!
    I will be back to more time You has a nice time.
    we had rain almost another one. I don’t my golf.for long time.
    Beat wishes.
    Michiko

     
    • aussieian2011

      November 19, 2016 at 10:37 am

      I am so pleased you enjoyed my story Michiko.
      I think the rain may be gone for a while now and you can once again, enjoy the sunshine and golf.
      Best wishes and hope you get a hole in one.

       
  4. reocochran

    November 14, 2016 at 12:07 am

    This was such a beautiful and poignant story to fit the grandpa with his granddaughter, Ian. Thank God, your precious granddaughter still has her Mommy. When I started this, I was do afraid it were going to be true.
    Happy days to you and yours! ❤

     
    • aussieian2011

      November 19, 2016 at 10:39 am

      Thank you for reading and commenting Robin, yes it was a made up story for the newspapers, I had to add the bit at the end as it does sound a little personal.
      My kindest regards Dear Friend.

       
  5. Mél@nie

    November 13, 2016 at 11:12 am

    impressive and emotional, Ian… to me, your blog-posts seem to be written with the ‘feather’ of your heart-corazon… ❤ merci! thanx! gracias!

     
    • The Emu

      November 13, 2016 at 11:18 am

      Thank you Melanie, somewhere deep down my writings sometimes seem to come from another lifetime, which I believe in.

       
      • Mél@nie

        November 13, 2016 at 12:58 pm

        you’re welcome, Sir… 🙂
        * * *
        off-topic, with your permission, here’a a poem by Thomas Lovell Beddoes:

        Thoughts…

        Sweet are the thoughts that haunt the poet’s brain
        Like rainbow-fringed clouds, through which some star
        Peeps in bright glory on a shepherd swain;
        They sweep along and trance him; sweeter far
        Than incense trailing up an out-stretched chain
        From rocking censer; sweeter too they are
        Than the thin mist which rises in the gale
        From out the slender cowslip’s bee-scarred breast.
        Their delicate pinions buoy up a tale
        Like brittle wings, which curtain in the vest
        Of cobweb-limbed ephemera, that sail
        In gauzy mantle of dun twilight dressed,
        Borne on the wind’s soft sighings, when the spring
        Listens all evening to its whispering.
        * * *
        I’ve known his works for quite awhile, as our family name is Bedos(meaning ‘deacon’ in the dialect of our region Midi-Pyrénées!), and during the 5 years spent in the US, my students (and other folks!) used to call me Mrs Beddoes or Bedows, as they couldn’t pronounce it ‘à la française’… 🙂

         
        • aussieian2011

          November 19, 2016 at 10:54 am

          Thank you for sharing that beautiful poetry Melanie, it was a real pleasure to read poetic words from a time when poetry had expression, when words were bought to life and painted pictures of exquisiteness and simplistic beauty.
          Your name could quite easily be an aberration of Beddoes, my family name of Flanigan has many variations that all point to the same background in genealogy.
          Thank you again for sharing Melanie.
          Kindest regards.

           
  6. Sue Dreamwalker

    November 10, 2016 at 10:32 pm

    This was an excellent write Ian.. and for a moment my heart was in my mouth until I read the ending..
    Yes Drugs are everywhere… In our towns and cities too ts evident every day.. If you ever get the chance to watch a new film that is just out in the cinema here in the UK go and watch it..
    Its called A Street Cat named Bob we watched this week… about a cat who had nine lives who chose to save the life of one drug addict.

    And your great script would have made a great add Ian.. xx Hugs Sue x

     
    • The Emu

      November 13, 2016 at 9:09 am

      Hi Sue, thanks for reading, yes it was a good idea to add that little extra at the finish, I think a few people may have thought it was Personal.
      Your movie sounds like a great viewing, I will certainly keep an eye out for it, as it should be in our cinemas in the near future.
      Cheers.

       
      • Sue Dreamwalker

        November 13, 2016 at 6:11 pm

        Do watch it if you can.. Enjoy your week my friend

         
        • aussieian2011

          November 19, 2016 at 10:40 am

          Ana my secretary and wife is keeping an eye out for that movie Sue.
          Cheers.

           
          • Sue Dreamwalker

            November 21, 2016 at 11:50 am

            🙂 good 🙂 its a good one. 🙂

             
  7. derrickjknight

    November 8, 2016 at 5:10 pm

    I was so relieved when I read that it was fiction – with an excellent theme at that

     
    • The Emu

      November 13, 2016 at 9:12 am

      Thanks for reading Derrick, I think a few readers may have thought it was Personal also, till the ending.
      Kind regards and Best wishes.

       
  8. GP Cox

    November 8, 2016 at 12:38 pm

    You never cease to amaze me, Ian. This amazingly brought tears to my eyes.

     
    • aussieian2011

      November 8, 2016 at 12:54 pm

      Thanks gp, words that were written a few years back for a local newspaper when the scourge of the Drug Ice raised its ugly head in our community.
      Cheers mate.

       
      • GP Cox

        November 8, 2016 at 1:07 pm

        That, I hear, is really dangerous stuff!!

         
        • aussieian2011

          November 8, 2016 at 1:52 pm

          Very dangerous mate, my son works at the local hospital, one of his jobs is to hold them down when they come in, they have extraordinary strength and are like zombies.

           
          • GP Cox

            November 8, 2016 at 7:21 pm

            Such a shame. Tell your son to watch his back!

             
          • The Emu

            November 13, 2016 at 9:11 am

            Hi gp, yes I think my son has developed eyes in the back of his head, he is aware of his surroundings at all times, reminds me of one of the side effects from my Vietnam days, hyper vigilant.
            Cheers.

             
        • The Emu

          November 13, 2016 at 9:13 am

          Definitely gp, something that is pure evil and mind altering.
          Cheers.

           
    • The Emu

      November 13, 2016 at 9:14 am

      Thanks gp, glad you enjoyed the story albeit a little tear or two.
      Cheers.

       
  9. natswans

    November 8, 2016 at 10:37 am

    Oh what a beautiful story Ian and so so sad. The picture is wonderful I just love these.

    Best Wishes and good health.
    Sheila

     
    • aussieian2011

      November 8, 2016 at 11:21 am

      Thank you for your lovely visit and comment Sheila.
      Kind regards.

       
  10. davidprosser

    November 8, 2016 at 6:43 am

    Sad and very moving Ian.
    Hugs

     
    • aussieian2011

      November 8, 2016 at 12:58 pm

      Thanks David, your visit and reading are much appreciated.
      Somewhere I seem to have been missing your posts, Sherlock Holmes time I think.
      Cheers.

       
    • The Emu

      November 13, 2016 at 9:15 am

      Thanks David, appreciate your reading and commenting.
      Kind regards and Best wishes.

       
  11. wonkywizard

    November 8, 2016 at 1:16 am

    Sad, moving narrative; feeling frozen and melt in the ice castle with your grand daughter and daughter.

     
    • aussieian2011

      November 8, 2016 at 1:29 am

      Thanks for reading and commenting Wonkywizard.

       
  12. Peppermint

    November 7, 2016 at 9:45 pm

    Oh, my, what a sad but beautiful story Ian. I cried too at the untimely death of your daughter. I’m glad your story got published in some newspapers but it deserves more.

     
    • aussieian2011

      November 8, 2016 at 1:31 am

      Hi PM. it was a made up story to highlight the Drug Ice that was becoming a major problem in our city, I was hoping to make a Television commercial out of it.
      Cheers.

       
  13. Eddie Two Hawks

    November 7, 2016 at 2:47 pm

    Bless you and your daughter Ian. Love sooths the rough edges with sweet memories and song. hugs my friend

     
  14. Colline

    November 7, 2016 at 12:20 pm

    A beautifully sad story Ian. It brought tears to my eyes.

     
    • The Emu

      November 7, 2016 at 12:22 pm

      Thank you for reading Colline, I did get the story published in a few newspapers, maybe someone somewhere will heed the words.

       

Leave a Reply

 
Prenin's little page

Just another WordPress.com site

Dreamwalker's Sanctuary

A Sanctuary for Enlightenment and Peace through Poetry and Inspirational Thoughts as we go through Life

Blog Kunterbund von G.B.

http://zitroneblog.wordpress.com

Welcome to Sheila's Space

Just another WordPress.com site

Colline's Blog

A potpourri of thoughts and experiences

wonkywizard

philosophising on meaning of life

Pacific Paratrooper

This WordPress.com site is Pacific War era information

witlessdatingafterfifty

Relationships reveal our hearts.

Dreamwalker's Garden

Growing Your Own Produce and Remedies

