RSS

Mike Furber—A Mate

18 Feb

Welcome To Aussie Emus World

This is a story I wrote many years ago which a few of my long time followers might recall, I would like to re-post it again as the story belongs in our music history and as such must be remembered. I have taken the liberty of adding the Wikipedia story on Mike, some aspects I disagree from first hand experience. Take time to view this old video taken of Mike performing back in England in the days of the emerging new era of pop songs, the Beatles days and others.

This is a story of a mate I once had, back in the days of long ago now.I first met Mike Furber when I was posted as a Medical instructor at the School of Army Health Healesville upon my return from Vietnam in 1970. Mike came to the school around late 72 early 73.This is his story.

Mike was born…

View original post 805 more words

 
17 Comments

Posted by on February 18, 2017 in Uncategorized

 

17 responses to “Mike Furber—A Mate

  1. Michiko

    February 27, 2017 at 6:18 am

    Hi Ian
    I will be more thing of you This blog was it would take about to trip to your ways.I know it and after a time acceptance seems normal I choose to my old way.
    I still remember for you with long times.
    Michiko

     
    • aussieian2011

      March 2, 2017 at 8:37 am

      Thank you Michiko, what a beautiful comment you have left me.
      You are a lovely friend that I have had for many years now.
      I wish you much happiness Dear Michiko.
      Kind regards and Best wishes.
      Ian

       
  2. reocochran

    February 25, 2017 at 5:15 pm

    I left a reply on your original post when I finished reading it! Sad story about a charismatic singer who had some struggles and you are such a good friend to remember and honor his life, Ian.

     
    • aussieian2011

      February 25, 2017 at 10:19 pm

      Thank you Robin, I appreciate your kind sentiments.
      Wishing you a beautiful weekend.

       
  3. Michiko

    February 21, 2017 at 5:00 am

    Hi Ian!
    Your music history and liberty the wikipedia story on Mike, also when Mike furber you was pusted medical instructor at school at Army Health healesville . When your retirn from Vitnam in 1970.
    will so much old thing are lovely to know Ian.
    I hope you are in stayed home.
    Have a nice day!
    Michiko

     
    • aussieian2011

      February 23, 2017 at 9:57 pm

      Good morning Michiko, thank you for reading my story on Mike and our days at Healesville, it really is a beautiful place to live, I was there for about six years, I came back from Vietnam in 1971, maybe I will visit again one day. It was sad for Mike, he was a very talented boy.
      I hope you are enjoying good health Michiko.
      Kind regards and best wishes.
      Ian

       
  4. giselzitrone

    February 20, 2017 at 11:04 am

    Lieber gruß und alles liebe Gislinde

     
    • aussieian2011

      February 23, 2017 at 9:29 pm

      Guten Morgen Lieber Gislinde
      Beste Grüße und freundliche Grüße, in der Hoffnung, dass es dir gut geht und gute Gesundheit genießt.

       
  5. prenin

    February 19, 2017 at 8:03 pm

    What a way to go!!! 😥

    I know how far you have to be driven to take your own life, so I can relate, but what a waste of God-given talent!!! 😦

    Rest Easy Mike…

    Prenin.

     
    • aussieian2011

      February 23, 2017 at 9:30 pm

      Thanks for those kind sentiments Prenin, there are many unseen casualties of war mate.
      Cheers.

       
  6. GP Cox

    February 18, 2017 at 11:58 am

    It must be quite disturbing to lose a friend to suicide, especially one who seemed so fearful of death. We will probably never know what went on in his mind in those final moments. I remember reading this through when you first posted it, but read it again to honor the friend you lost at such a young age.

     
    • The Emu

      February 18, 2017 at 12:06 pm

      Thanks gp, I do see you read it before, I posted it again as a few memory’s came back to me, wanted to add a bit extra but forgot, then tried to edit it to insert the missing bit, but for some reason no material shows up to edit.
      Thanks for reading again mate.

       
  7. The Emu

    February 18, 2017 at 10:52 am

    G’day Stan, feel free to share it mate. Best wishes on your visit to our home base mate, down the track I do hope to make a return visit, few things I need to see again, mainly Hoa Long, Long Son Island and Ahn Ngai.
    Make sure you have got your Paludrine.
    Cheers.

     
  8. Stan Middleton

    February 18, 2017 at 9:20 am

    Hi Ian

    Very sad story! Thanks for sharing with me!

    Do you mind if I share it on my Facebook page? I have quite a few Vietnam entertainer friends on Facebook that would well remember Mike!

    A group of us (70 Vets, partners family etc) are off to Vietnam on Friday for a 50 year reunion in Vung Tau followed by a tour of Vietnam & Angkor Watt! Many will just do the reunion and a few days whilst others will continue! I have organised everything so am exhausted! However am excited at the same time as I love going back to Vietnam!

    Regards

    Stan

     
    • aussieian2011

      February 23, 2017 at 9:35 pm

      Hi Stan, sorry for the late response, haven’t been in the best of health lately, feel free to share it mate, got a few comments from people who must have seen the story on Google.
      I have a mate in Face Book by the name of Alistair MCoy, he goes back to Nam regularly and has been following in my footsteps, Hoa Long, Ang Ngai and Long Son Island, can’t believe their is a highway to Long Son Island, I had to use a ferry in my day.
      Best wishes Stan.

       

Leave a Reply

 
Prenin's little page

Just another WordPress.com site

Dreamwalker's Sanctuary

A Sanctuary for Enlightenment and Peace through Poetry and Inspirational Thoughts as we go through Life

Blog Kunterbund von G.B.

http://zitroneblog.wordpress.com

Welcome to Sheila's Space

Just another WordPress.com site

Colline's Blog

A potpourri of thoughts and experiences

wonkywizard

philosophising on meaning of life

Pacific Paratrooper

This WordPress.com site is Pacific War era information

witlessdatingafterfifty

Relationships reveal our hearts.

Dreamwalker's Garden

Growing Your Own Produce and Remedies

